newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Kia Sorento Reviews See 2015

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Kia Sorento

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Kia Sorento!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.2/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.4/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.1/5
Reliability:
4.0/5

30 of 38 (78%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
1/5

3rd Time in the shop within 1st year! Brand New!

Reviewed by Kia Love is fading quickly!
November 30, 2014

Leased my 2014 Kia Sorento in December of 2013 - 1st issue was within days. The radio went out - had to have it replaced. Good news it was in and out of the shop within a couple days. Dealership gave me a loaner - so okay on we go. 2nd issue - overhead dome light went out last month - you would think they could just replace the lightbulb? NOPE they had to replace the entire housing unit for the overhead lights, part ordered, in shop for a couple hours - ok on we go. This time - my car would not start! Got to tell you, I am not feeling the love for my vehicle right now. It has been in the shop for a week now with little hope in sight - mechanics have no idea what is wrong with it and it is torn to bits - the glove box has been removed, wires are exposed from front to back and are hanging everywhere. The good news - its all covered, the bad news, not sure if this thing is ever going to be the same? When all is running and in working order to be honest I love this SUV, it handles great! The stabilization is incredible and saved not only my life but that of my children when we were side swiped going 75 MPH on the highway. It handles great in AWD mode with traction control. We have the model that has every bell and whistle just short of the heated steering wheel. My only complaint till this last issue was that I wish it got better gas mileage. Now as these problems continue to arise I am wondering if they perhaps released this model a bit early? Maybe they needed to take a little more time to work out the bugs cuz mine seems to have several! Its a bit disappointing.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

A/C bombed after 6 months! Worst performance

Reviewed by Not a fan of Kia
November 26, 2014

Upon a friend's recommendation, I purchased the KIA Sorento (2014) in late May 2014. I noticed some "irregularities" with the functioning of the A/C but didn't pay it too much attention - believing I was becoming menopausal. The A/C finally conked out in November. I was told the compressor went bad. I questioned the occurrence of this so early in the car's life to told "manufacturing defect": Needless to say, I was not impressed as I live in a tropical climate and didn't have the use of my car for 5 days as the car company's A/C technical was unavailable. The service from the dealership was very poor, and this also contributed to my poor rating of the car. The overall experience left me with significant "buyer's remorse". I will not be purchasing another. In fact, were it not for the fact that I would experience a considerable loss in selling the car, I would certainly do so.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Looking for SUV w/ High End Features for Low $$

Reviewed by Silver State Lover
August 19, 2014

The test drive immediately impressed us with good performance, and a feeling of high quality in construction and detail. This SUV handled and held the road solidly, it was loaded with features which were not options, Excellent rating on the AWD feature, which we may need for occasional snow and ice. Communication/ entertainment system had every option and feature anticipated. With Kia's warranty and reputation we were sold, and I was very impressed with the turning radius, which was more like a sedan. Very stable ride and excellent wheel base, comparable to bigger more expensive models. The 2014 we purchased in July '14 continues to impress.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
1/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Ac problem

Reviewed by Raad
August 17, 2014

first of all the has nice loock nice vew nice , but very bad AC system ( with in two moths compressor is out of order ???????????????????????????????????????

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

wonderful car

Reviewed by suv
August 11, 2014

Sales Rep (Bob Snow) and the finance Rep (Vic) were absolutely wonderful. My husband and I through 25 years of marriage have purchased many vehicles and the experience with Kia and these people we dealt with were absolutely wonderful. They helped us every step of the way to get what we wanted. Everything was explained in great detail. The best experience we have ever had. Thank you so much guys and we will never forget how we were treated absolutely great! Thank you, Wayne T. & Beverly J. Kurtz, Sr.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Buy!

Reviewed by Erika D.
July 27, 2014

My husband and I were searching for an SUV after having a sports car for many years. This transition seemed to be tough to grasp seeing as these styles of cars are very different. We found a 2011 KIA Sorento LX with 40,000 miles on it for a great price. We drove it and fell in love! This SUV has some get-up to it, with the bonus of LOTS of room so our dog can ride along. We love this car. It has completely changed our mind about KIAs. GREAT BUY!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

amazing vehicule for amazing price!

Reviewed by Mario
July 16, 2014

i absolutly love my kia sorento, previously i had purchased an Audi Q7 and today i can almost pay my monthly payments just with the gas i am saving! Amazingly equipped for the price and also very reliable, it hasnt been long i own but i love it... the salesman Michael Nini from Kia Lallier Laval is a very understandable salesman and not too pushy, even after sale we were still in contact, he even calls me on my birthday just to say happy birthday!!!!!! I was also well welcomed by ALL the team of Lallier, great service and fun ambiance all in a proffessional manner. 5/5 for the sorento 5/5 for Kia Lallier Laval 5/5 for Michael I definatly recommend this SUV to anyone looking to purchase a SUV

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2nd Kia

Reviewed by John C
July 13, 2014

I owned a 2009 Kia Optima that I loved driving. It was a very reliable car. I had been looking at Kia Sorento's and found one at Shawnee Mission Kia. It is a 2014 Sorento LX, white, AWD, 2.4 ,4 cylinder with 20,000 miles. All of my family loves it. You can't beat a 5 yr 60, 000 mi warranty. John Munz is a great salesman, not pushy and really seemed to care about our purchase and after the sale. Everyone I came in contact with at the dealership was polite, friendly and helpful. I gave my Sorento 5 stars and Shawnee Mission Kia 5 stars.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

great car

Reviewed by darkray
July 06, 2014

I brought the kia in march 2014 and it been very good overall. My sorento is a 2.2 diesel with 194 bhp and 311lbs of torque more than enough for everyday driving and I've done 2500 miles so far and average 41 mpg which is good for a new engine and should get near its official figures of 47.8 mpg after its first service. Its been very good when we needed the the 3rd row of seats, used many times. Its good in the straights but not good going round corners, but has a great ride. The seats are great for long journeys but could do with better lumber support and the sat nav has been very useful.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

Tow Car

Reviewed by Rover
May 09, 2014

Comfortable well equiped cabin, ride a little hard vehicle pleasing to the eye, loads of extras. inc rear self leveling suspension..great asset for towing. I didnt own the vehicle long enough to rate its reliability 3 months to be precise.I purchased it new in 2014 as a tow vehicle that had a max tow weight of 2500Kg .. My Swift caravan has a total tow weight of 1560Kg. We mostly visit CL sites which mainly offers fields & meadows to park your caravan. On soft grass the vehicle didnt like reversing the caravan, the engine bay started to emitt a horrible strong burning smell along with smoke from the clutch area. This happened 3 times in concession. After a dealer inspection & no faults found i got rid before new clutch needed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Kia Sorento SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.