newcars.com®

New 2016 Kia Optima Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Kia Optima

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Kia Optima!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Value:
4.9/5
Exterior:
5.0/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.9/5
Performance:
5.0/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

11 of 12 (91%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Recent owner used 2016 Optima

Reviewed by KK41
January 11, 2017

After looking at used cars from Toyota and Honda for a week, the decision to buy an Optima was a no brainer. Granted, a buyer should understand this car doesn't offer the highest horsepower, the sleekest exterior, or the most advanced dashboard and infotainment system in its class; rather, this is a car that fares very well, but not best, in all categories. It was clear after much research into the foreign midsize sedans that this is the safest buy, noting that recent accords and camrys have significant reliability and safety issues (see arfc.org and compare). Here are some things I immediately loved when test driving (and still love after owning); 1. The infotainment system, at a glance, looks outdated. However, it is very easy to use while driving and the steering wheel controls rock. The smaller screen in the control panel is easy to toggle and very informative. 2. The handling is wonderful. Seamless shifting with automatic transmission, tight steering, and responsive breaking were immediately noticeable. The suspension is also great. 3. The speakers are much better than the 2016 Camry and 2016 accord. 4. The cabin is quiet. 75 mph sounds like 40. 5. The price - you can find these cheap if you do your research. Based on 2 weeks of ownership, I highly recommend checking out this car. DO NOT overlook Kia and Hyundai during your next car search if you like foreign cars, as I believe these will outcompete the reliability reputation of Toyota and Honda.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Krazy about Kia

Reviewed by Ronda W
December 07, 2016

I am thrilled about my new Kia Optima. It exceeds my expectations over and over. My sales person A.J. was exceptional in his service and made my experience at Turnersville Kia second to none. Everyone knows how you see commercials and you get those mailers about car deals...well let me just say A.J. made it happen for me. Turnersville Kia delivered... so that I could drive off the lot with the car I wanted. No pressure. A.J. is very knowledgeable as a certified sales representative and he also has a pleasant personality that is authentic and genuine. Thanks A.J. for such positive experience. I highly recommend this dealership and A.J Went if you are looking for a exceptional service and professionalism.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
2/5

Major Defieincies

Reviewed by RandyL
November 29, 2016

If you live in the Northern Half of the US or have a garage, you are out of luck with a KIA Optima. I have a brand new 2016 Kia Optima with the top trim package but it does not have a Home Link for the garage door, it is a $500 add-on, I found out after the fact. I have a set of snow tires on wheels but the computer will only recognize one set of tire sensors. I therefore have to waste 30-60 minutes and $50 twice a year to have the computer reprogrammed to recognize the other sensors. Right now I am having serious problems with the system working at all. This would seem to be a simple software fix but Kia does not seem concerned with the American market.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

A car that WOWS!

Reviewed by Kia Guy
November 02, 2016

Where do I start. I have had my Kia Optima SXL for over a month and I continue to he impressed by this car. It's white with beautiful tan nappa leather. It's a step above the Altima and Accord that I owned previously. I'm constantly stopped by people who are wowed by the factime that Kia has come such a long way. There are too many features to name, including: automatic high beams, through same version Harmon Kardon sound system that's in luxury cars, automatic seat for easy entrance/exit, automatic folding mirrors that open once the key is detected before you open the car, automatic trunk, and the list goes on.... The ride is extremely quiet and taut, and I average over 32 MPG on the highway. I love Android Auto and the car just feels all around expensive. If, like me, you are tired of car companies who don't feel the need to step up their game because people will buy them no matter what, take a look at Kia.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Comfort and style

Reviewed by Hot Rod
May 12, 2016

A reasonably priced sedan that is both stylish and comfortable. I've had the car about a week and planning a road trip in the near future.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love it

Reviewed by Pearl
April 07, 2016

I had an amazing time buying my car at cowboy kia of conroe. Not only were the salesmen super nice, but they worked me in everywaybpossible. Thank you all so much i love my 2016 kia optima

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

love it

Reviewed by pearl
April 06, 2016

i had an amazing experience here. I absolutly love my car . My son wasnt home when i bought it. when i went to pick him up he was super excited. Along with the dog and my boyfriend. I want to thank you all for such a great service

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Amazing Car

Reviewed by Owner of Second KIA Optima
April 01, 2016

I highly recommend buying a KIA Optima. This is our second Optima and we LOVE IT! Our first KIA never gave us any problems and we kept it for five years. It is a beautiful car inside and out. The price was amazing.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Second Kia owned

Reviewed by 2016 Kiaowner
March 22, 2016

This is the second Kia we have purchased. We purchased a 2006 Kia Sorento 10 yrs ago and traded it in for a 2016 Kia Optima. We have never had one problem with our Kia and that's why I keep going back. I absolutely love my optima it's all black in and out and it drives so smooth and it's just the perfect car I wanted. Great gas mileage also. I would recommend this car to all my friends or who is in search of a great car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2016 Optima SX

Reviewed by Mayor
February 09, 2016

My second Optima, coming out of a 2013 SXL into the 2016 SX. Big difference between the two. Ride is much better in the 2016. Nav and Haron Kardon audio system are very good. great interior design, not as sporty as the 2013 but well laid out. The display is big enough to have the nav and Sirius together side by side at the same time and you can still read both. One complaint is the Sirius traffic and weather services are buried in the menu system and not easily accessible while driving. The interior came in a brandywine leather. Great dark red wine color. fit and finish are excellent. heated steering wheel, blind side warning system, very well appointed for the middle model. Milage is very good, hit 33MPG on a road trip and it's not even broken in yet. One complaint,. We just had a snow storm and you turns can't lift the wiper up to clear the snow from around the arms, the hood blocks the arms from lifting so the well that the wipers are in froze solid with ice. You can always tell when they design a car in Calif. Also, make sure you request a spare tire kit. they come with tire inflation package which is useless if you have a blowout.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Kia Optima Sedan Comparison Reviews