cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Kia Optima Reviews See 2013

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Kia Optima

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Kia Optima!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
5.0/5
Interior:
5.0/5
Comfort:
4.9/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.7/5

11 of 11 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

What A Surprise, Suddenly I Own A Kia

Reviewed by rickyjames
April 15, 2014

This is one really nice car. My wife was shopping for a stylish, reliable replacement for her aging Honda Accord V6. Our auto-mechanic son said that Kia was now where the Accord was when we bought it as far as reliability goes and recommended that brand. So off to the Kia dealership we went. I had an idea what I was prepared to spend for a new Accord, and was pleasantly surprised to see the Kia was well below this by several thousand dollars. We drove an LX, and SX and an SX Turbo in a five mile path around the dealership. The LX was quite peppy with its I-4 (much to my surprise) , and the SX was a noticeable improvement around curves with the same engine and a better suspension - not to mention a much nicer leather interior and options package - for only a few thousand more. The SX Turbo was amazing - coupled with the sensitive SX suspension it was at the edge of what my wife could handle and maybe a bit beyond. She declared she was ready to stop looking and buy the SX and I felt comfortable doing so without shopping further. Both the interior and exterior is well made and solid; nothing about the Optima SX feels cheap. This is a great sedan at a great price, I can't imagine getting anything better in this category from shopping around for another brand.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Love it so far

Reviewed by Personal Trainer
March 30, 2014

I have had it a month & so far love it! (I have 1300 miles on it already)Very comfortable ride. Great gas mileage. Easy to handle. Love all my options. Leg room in front & back seats is awesome. Down sides: Remote start wasn't an option on any model & I had to have it installed after market because the dealership couldn't. Wind noise on the interstate is slightly louder than I would like. I went from a v6 to this so the "get up & go" is lacking for my taste. The head room in the backseat is not meant for a taller person.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Come on $35 Grand... it's still a Kia to the world

Reviewed by textodd
March 20, 2014

Look, love everything about this car except the price. The Optima is a value in the base models. But the SX Turbo & SXL Turbo are way overpriced for this market segment. Yes, they are great cars but what is it worth? Once you drive off the lot you've lost a lot of $ with the name Kia on it no matter how great the car. For the same price you can get an Audi, BMW, or other luxury brand that will hold their value and, sorry folks, are just as good. People always say to me, "This (whatever thing they're talking about) is worth..." Nope. sorry... it's worth whatever someone else will pay you for it now. Nothing more. Until Kia's start holding their resale value on par with luxury brands, they're not worth the luxury brand prices. Once again, great car... just overpriced right now.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great value for the $$

Reviewed by DC
March 10, 2014

Started having transmission trouble with my 06 TL (which I purchased new and just loved) and did a lot of research before buying my SX Turbo. I am very happy with the car. It is large enough to seat 4 comfortably, but has a lot of pick up and maneuvers very well. The Turbo with sport mode is fun to drive even though it decreases gas mileage a bit. I drive in Eco mode to/from work while in traffic to maximize gas mileage and enjoy the Sport mode on the weekends when out for a day trip, so it is very versatile. The only thing I miss about my TL is the leather used for the seats was softer and nicer to sit on. The SXL offers an upgraded leather interior but, for me, the extra $$ weren't worth upgrading to the Limited. However, I am very happy with my decision!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

comfort

Reviewed by race fan
February 25, 2014

car is comfortable, responsive, great gas mileage and fun to drive. the car has great styling and is very roomy inside. the warranty is unmatched.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Camry owner converted

Reviewed by Camry owner converted
January 20, 2014

I traded in my 2014 Camry for a New Optima SX because of issues I had with my Camry. I was drawn to the Kia because of it's striking design and what you get for your money. It looks a lot better than my drab and droopy camry. It is comfortable, jam packed with amenities, and get 38 mpg on the highway! I love my new Optima. It outdoes my Camry in every category. Cant say about reliability as I have only owned it for about 3 weeks.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Great Car and Great service at Cumberland KIA

Reviewed by Momma Butler
January 17, 2014

I bought a 2014 KIA optima from Jason Jones at Cumberland KIa (Cookeville,Tn). Jason was very nice on a cool day and helped through the process. I am very happy with the vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great value...Beautiful Kia car

Reviewed by Garfield
January 01, 2014

Purchased a Kia Optima ''SX'' its everything a car needs the panoramic moon roof makes full of luxury having more light inside the interior. Styling and controls are a plus it handles so smooth the powerful 4 cylinder engine is very fast on crystal performance give car with a enjoyable ride. The interior is built like a more expensive car the NAV touch screen color inch is optional with fully loaded with blue tooth, controllable seats, steering wheel mounted controls, xenon headlamps, backup camera and more. I like the Optima a lot driving so much of a peppy car effortless horsepower an automatic trans give a great value with loaded options and features. Ride is so smooth on 4 cylinder letting go on the gas ''highly throttle response'' makes Kia a fun car to drive with its great looks comfortable interior feels so crisp sitting behind wheel of car just more breathtaking a blast driving this car its also a beautiful car at that.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Sleek and stylish

Reviewed by Lovin a sporty look
November 26, 2013

Love the styling, titanium silver color and all the "toys" in the Optima EX model. The steering is very light and easy but I'm still trying to get used to how this light steering handles. It seems too loose and I feel like I keep drifting to one side or the other. I am used to a tighter steering control. The light steering is good when you are parking or going slowly, but not so desirable when at highway speed. Perhaps, I'll get accustomed to it soon. I cannot review its reliability as I have never owned a Kia product.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car and great price

Reviewed by Wynnsfalls
November 14, 2013

I bought a Kia Soul Exclaime but it did not have the needed room. I traded for a '14 Optima and WOW, I get about the same gas mileage but the ride is no comparison. Great look, ride, fuel economy, room, etc.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.