cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2013 Kia Optima Hybrid Reviews

More Details & Photos
New 2013 Kia Optima Hybrid

Don't Overpay for Your 2013 Kia Optima Hybrid!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
5.0/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.9/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

8 of 9 (88%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

This is a complete ride!!!!!

Reviewed by topgator44
March 04, 2014

I traded my 2003 Lexus LS430 for this, and couldn't be happier. My Lexus was in excellent condition, but was just getting old. This car is everything! The mileage is about 38 MPG in town. But I haven't actually done the math .It handles, is quick, and rides great and quiet. It takes a lot to impress a Lexus owner. The car does it. My motto is, "I go to a gas station, and sell them back gas!!!!!!!! To boot, I bought this '13 as a leftover, and got it for a steal!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love the car

Reviewed by Realtor
January 16, 2014

The car drives like a sports car, very comfortable. I bought the hybrid for the gas mileage, which is not as great as I expected, averaging 36 mpg, they advertise 37 to 40.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Change and Great Car

Reviewed by Ebiron
December 21, 2013

Now I am on day 2, I just traded in my Kia Sorento 2011 for this car. So far it is amazing, just the gas milage alone but it is also a lot faster than I ever thought a hybrid would be, but the real key to fuel savings is all in the acceleration, if you are always a lead foot to start, your gas mileage will not be good as stated. I Will update in 90 days on gas milage, though I live 2 miles from work. But now I will need to drive somewhere...

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

MPG disappointing

Reviewed by KiaOptimaHybridDriver
December 05, 2013

We've driven our 2013 KOH 12000 miles and average a terrible 33mpg, with 80%+ freeway miles. The onboard computer says 37mpg, so do your calculations by hand based on fuel ups and miles driven to be sure about your mpg. The car is beautiful and comfortable to drive. There are huge blind spots when changing lanes, pretty scary! Passenger seat is very low, difficult to see out, even for tall people. Driver seat is adjustable on standard model.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome Car

Reviewed by JB at Purdue
November 06, 2013

I've only owned the car for 5 days. From this short time I've ascertained 2 things: - Plenty of Luxury for the Price - Ride is smooth and quiet

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love this car

Reviewed by Kia
September 27, 2013

Smooth quite ride,great pick up on highways. Getting 38 mpg city driving, 48 mpg highway. Very comforable. Back up camera, navigation, sound system, sirius all great features. Love driving this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Happy Hybrider

Reviewed by Converted to Kia
September 02, 2013

Having driven a different brand for 30 years it was a big decision to switch to Kia but I'm glad I did. I have only put 200 miles on my Optima so far but have enjoyed every minute behind the wheel. The car is fun to drive and I expect the kind of reliability of the other brand but with the better styling of the Kia.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Finely tuned and efficient like a Stradivari

Reviewed by Dr. WB
August 17, 2013

I am a raving fan of this car and love the hybrid's surprisingly smooth, quiet, and responsive ride. The remarkable fuel economy is STUNNING. 41-44 MPG in the city. I love the blue tooth, the styling, and the interior layout of the car. Such a pleasure to drive. I also love the way the engine shuts off completely at a stop. So peaceful to drive this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

So far so good

Reviewed by First Hybrid
May 06, 2013

Recently bought the 2013 Kia Optima LX Hybrid. I only have a little over 1300 miles on it so far but the mpg that everyone complains about for the 2011 and 2012 KOH models seems to have been fixed. That might explain why the 2013 KOH took 6 months later to be released than the 2013 non hybrids version of the Optima. Here is a summary of my experience: 1) The biggest weakness of this car by far for me is the blind spot. Must be extra careful and check your 5 and 8 o'clock position before changing lanes. 2) The battery improvement of the 2013 model is doing wonders to the mpg. Nothing like going 75-80 mph on the freeway and see the electric engine is running and gas engine at 0 RPM. I read somewhere that the electric engine can run up to 65 mph but apparently, it's active even in the 80 mph zone for the 2013 KOH. 3) I'm 40% normal street and 60% freeway driving. I'm averaging 39 mpg on the city and 42 mpg on the freeway. Manual calculation brings it down to 38 mpg on city and 41 mpg on freeway. Note that I drive around 70-80 mph on freeway in Southern California and not the 60 mph that everyone says would give the mpg its best. You might get shot if you drive 60 mph on the freeway in SoCal. 4) My personal experience so far for the hybrid to achieve the mpg that I've been getting is not about how fast or slow you go, it's that you need to minimize the acceleration/deceleration as much as possible. When you're at a constant cruising speed, the electric engine will kick in and keep that speed going. You can choose to go with the constant 70 mph with the electric engine on and save gas or keep accelerating to 80 mph then decelerate to 60 mph and use the gas engine to get bad mpg. The only exception to that rule is when the car is going uphill, the car will almost always use the gas engine to get the power to climb. 5) I'm not experiencing the electric to gas engine switch jerkiness that everyone is talking about. I've never driven the 2011/2012 KOH before so I can't confirm the difference with the 2013 model but I can say the switch from electric to gas is not noticeable at all for me. I usually have to look at the panel to see which mode it's in. With that said, the EVO mode for the 2013 KOH is exactly as I read what others have experienced for the previous models. Turn off the EVO feature and the car drives just like any other non hybrid cars. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase. It's only ~1300 miles but it's living up to my expectations so far.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.