cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews See 2014

More Details & Photos
New 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Don't Overpay for Your 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

21 of 23 (91%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

Bad surging on the Hemi 5.7!

Reviewed by Disappointed Dave
April 04, 2014

I recently purchased a Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo with the six speed automatic with the Hemi 5.7 option. After driving it for several days, I noticed a surging when slightly accelerating up driving uphill in Auto mode. After researching this problem on the internet, I found it to be a VERY common occurrence and it is called the "fishbite" syndrome. There is no confirmed fix other than the dealership doing a software update which does nothing other than reducing the gas mileage by about 2-3 mpg's. I love this car in EVERY other way except this ongoing problem. I am willing to give the dealership one more try to fix and then will consider selling or trading it in. Very frustrating and especially for a "tough" Jeep that costs as much as this car did. Should have bought a NIssan or Toyota!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland

Reviewed by beltway bandid
April 02, 2014

I purchased my 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee with 12-13k miles on it so saved some there. So far having had it for about a month really like it for it's ride and interior fit and finish which is much better then I expected for an American vehicle. I chose the V6 to save some money on gas mileage and so far not bad but not great but that is also because i used own an Acura TL so very diffent. Like the feature with the auto unlock the most -great not having to grab your keys when your hands are full. Overall pleased-wish it was a little less but picked up mine for 36-37k so all in all 4 stars

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

horrible cruise

Reviewed by wx kia owner
November 06, 2013

the 2013 jeep is a great riding and driving car. the cruise is horrible. when you set the cruise on 60 it will vary from 55 to 65 up and down hill. I have owned many other brands and have never had this problem. they might vary 2-3 mph in the same situation. the dealer said normal and so does Chrysler. they need to wake up.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
1/5

Engine Surge on 5.7 L Jeep Grand Cherokee

Reviewed by John
October 16, 2013

I was very excited to get my new 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/ 5.7 L HEMI. The Cherokee was the perfect size for hauling my daily work items as I travel an average of 700 miles per week. Just after I started driving the jeep on the hwy, I noticed the engine surging from speeds of 45-75mph when not in the ECO mode. I started taking the vehicle into the delaership to troubleshoot the issue. They changed out the plugs, coils, updated the software, and the issue never went away. Chrysler suggested that I get a second opinion from another Jeep dealership, so I sent to 3 local delearships for test drives and opinions. They all said the same thing; there is a problem, but not sure what it is, the engine surges from 45-75mph. The 3rd dealership suggested we look on the Chrysler website to see if there are any postings on this vehicle. The tech found a STAR REPORT showing the exact problem that there is a PCM Software fault causing the surging on 2012 and 2013 HEMI engines in the Jeep Cherokees. The report stated that there is not a projected fix until after 1st quarter of 2014. I have had the Cherokee for 6 months with this fault since day 1. Both Chrysler and the local dealership were unwilling to resolve this issue, and say that it is running as designed. I am surprised that the Chrysler engineers designed this vehicle to SURGE, VIBRATE, TUG, under normal driving conditions. I am very dissapointed in this vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Grand Cherokee Overland 2013 (used)

Reviewed by Roberto
August 12, 2013

My first jeep in many years and I must say I am very impress and surprise on how well this jeep drives and performance. It's a 6 cylinder, with 8k miles and it was and perfect condition. Beautiful interior, yet functional and pleasing to the eye of all who rides. I have been fortunate to have own Mercedes and BMW's and I must say this drives as good if not better. I would definitely recommend this jeep to my family and friends. Cheers......

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love My 2013 Jeep GC!

Reviewed by Northern Mama
July 14, 2013

Coming from a GM family, I was initially a bit unsure of getting something else. However, I have owned my 2013 Jeep GC Laredo 4x4 Trail Rated for 6 months and am thoroughly impressed. 4x4 handles like a dream in 12" + snow, and sport mode is great in the summer. Love that I sit up high, but handles a lot like a car, taking turns tighter than I would have guessed. Much easier to park that the Tahoe we had also been considering. Plenty of room to chauffer around my now 13 month old twins and necessities needed to go with them, including a large double stroller. My 6'2" husband can easily fit in the front and rear seats (w/o sunroof), which we found to be quite a feat compared to other similar-sized SUVs. U Connect phone feature and bluetooth connection between phone and stereo is fabulous, and the keyless entry is wonderful when you are a mom with full hands who can't search for keys. Same with the push button start and push buttons for locking on the door handles/lift gate. Remote start is a must have when you live anywhere cold, and OEM remote start seems to work as well you can expect for an OEM system. Use the outlet a lot to charge camera batteries on the go. Although we just have the cloth upholstery and basic stereo, still feels like a luxury vehicle with nicely made cloth, leather trim, leather steering wheel, wood trim, and 'mood lighting' in the cup holders and door pockets. Easy to change oil: no problem draining the oil pan, even with the skid plates, and oil filter is readily accessible front and center when you open the hood. Happy that I can drive the kids around but can also can do a little off roading to get off the beaten path. Wish the 3.7 V6 had a little more power for going up steeper hills, but considering the MPG savings and significant cost difference compared to the Hemi, still have plenty of power.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best auto decision we made

Reviewed by Los
April 30, 2013

My fiancé and I just bought a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. It"s just the perfect vehicle. It's just like riding in a new leather couch watching a real life big screen. The ride is great and the all white looks stylish. We feel like we got the RICH AFFECT bug! The sensors and the heads up display keeps our attention on the road. Normally when most people buy a car they think of putting new things like rims or tires , but not for us. It feels and looks really nice. Heck of a job JEEP!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2013 Grand Cherokee Laredo

Reviewed by RAM
April 07, 2013

I traded in my 2008 Ford Edge for a new 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. So far the car is excellent, nice ride, comfortable, decent gas mileage and all-around fun to drive. I got the basic Laredo with uconnect. No complaints at all. Great value for the money. This is the 4th Jeep in our family joining two 2010 Liberty's and a 2008 Grand Cherokee. I could have gotten a 2014 but did not like the changes in style or the new electronic shifter. Jeep should have stuck with the 2013 design, it's definitely a winner!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Not Your Daddy's Grand Cherokee

Reviewed by JCC
March 21, 2013

Jeep has certainly come a long way since the late 80's when Chrysler took over the iconic brand, and my 2013 Grand Cherokee Limited is a shiny example. Comparisons to my former 1990 Cherokee are useless, as this latest edition is both powerful - with the V8 Hemi - and luxurious with its heated seats and steering wheel and technology offerings that would make a geek drool. Some of the coolest technology features are the ability to listen to the music from your smart phone through the Bluetooth interface, as well as being able to make your calls hands-free. It's nice to have the GPS integrated into the center display as well, but that brings up an important, if not glaring, shortcoming in the Grand Cherokee's tech features. The GPS display is, in a word, terrible. The resolution is horrible and, as a safety precaution, you cannot alter any information (detour, pitstop for food, etc) while driving...not even your front seat passenger. Other than that, the seats are comfortable and highly adjustable and the power rear lift-gate is very helpful with kids and packages alike. Beyond the fact that I feel like I should live next to a gas station with the V8 gulping fuel, this car has been fantastic in the 6 weeks and 2500 miles I have owned it since turning in my German sports sedan. Good luck and safe travels!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Nice ride

Reviewed by Dago
March 09, 2013

Never having owning a Jeep before, I was wary of it's ride. It performed well and has a smooth, heavy ride that is very nice. The accessories are everything that most could want. I took it on a road trip of over 4,000 miles 2 days after delivery and have not had one complaint with it. I had ordered my Jeep, filled out the contract and signed it with a sizeable deposit and was re-contacted by the sales staff that another dealer had sold it because of miscommunication. My dealer found another in an adjacent state and delivered it to me in time for my travels. It had a few accessories more than what I asked for and had to pony up $400 more for them but the dealer paid the remaining $800 and took care of the transportation from the neighboring state.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.