newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Jeep Compass Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Jeep Compass

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Jeep Compass!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.4/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.4/5
Performance:
4.0/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

20 of 23 (86%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
1/5

Lemon

Reviewed by Melanie
August 04, 2014

I bought a brand new Jeep Compass 01/29/2014. Six weeks ago it shut down on me on Interstate 44 in Mo. I drive 100 miles each way to and from work. I had a 2005 Sebring that had 300,000 miles on it and was having issues with it (as I should 9yrs old with that many miles) and my hubby and I decided it was time for a new vehicle. I always go Chrysler because my father retired from there. Back 6 wks ago my new jeep lost all power and the transmission light came on. The dealership stated that it was a computer glitch and it would be ok. 2 weeks later the jeep started rough and the check engine light came on, they then said the ignition was bad and changed it out. 10 days after I got it back it shut down on my way home again. That was 2 weeks ago today it has been in the shop ever since. They are telling me that the transmission is bad and the new one is on back order. Hopefully this is a fluke and no one else has issues like this.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I love this SUV

Reviewed by LoveMyJeep
August 02, 2014

My husband and I just purchased a 2014 Jeep Compass Lattitude 4x4 four weeks ago, and I LOVE it! It's very stylish, has a smooth ride and great features. We live in MN and had a brutal winter, and with 4x4, heated seats, heated mirrors and remote start I am ready for winter!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2011 Dodge Nitro 4X4 for 2014 Jeep Compass 4x4

Reviewed by MDS
June 28, 2014

My brother owns one and he got me thinking about purchase as he stated he was getting great gas mileage. He travels 70 miles one way to work. I must say going from a 4.0l engine to a 2.4 I had some worries. However after driving it to my place of work where it must go up mountains (not hills) I was very impressed. No lag at all. I did not even notice it kicking in and out of gears to go up the mountain. Holds well when going off the mountain well if you kick it down a few gears. Gas mileage is GREAT and I love the fact I know have a back up camera. It is a little smaller than my Nitro but I don't mind at all. The touch screen radio is nice and easy to use. The hard drive within the radio gives you penny of space for you to transfer your most loved music from cd. No more CD's in your car! Using Bluetooth to stream audio is effortless. Now, I just need to place some accessories on it and I will be more in love.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Compass

Reviewed by B&K
May 12, 2014

After looking at several small SUVs, this is the one. Good mileage, great interior, plenty of leg room, and smoother ride than other makes tested. Nice acceleration and performs well at highway speeds. Well priced. Overall a smart choice.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

And This Isn't It

Reviewed by I Know a Good Car
May 07, 2014

Wheezy, asthmatic engine; horrible gas mileage; meaningless steering; brakes are noisy and ineffective to the point of being dangerous (195 ft from 70 to 0); exterior styling is a great cure for insomnia; interior appointments are better in a gulag (if you bang your head on the dash, you're a goner); the CVT has no desire to deliver anything in the middle of the power band; and the seats are miserable. It has the fit and finish of a Lada Riva. Some other people here love this car, and I think they're either insane or were previously commuting with pogo sticks. Thank goodness this is a rental and I'll only have it another day or so. I can't believe Fiat/Chrysler let this stinker out the door. It's really insulting to me because Chrysler took our tax dollars. And tripe like this is what we get? If you need a small SUV, get a Subaru Forester.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best deal out there on a Cross over

Reviewed by Rooster Ron
March 30, 2014

Traded in a 2012 Dodge Avenger on this new 2014 Jeep Compass Latitude 4x4. Michigan had a very hard winter this season. Bought this for my family's main transportation . With the 4x4 system and the 2.4 l engine. And the new 6 speed transmission. The leather heated seats with tow package and remote start system . You cant beat this cross over for the money and the gas mileage and comforts. I am 100% confident that my wife and kids are safe and will make it threw any weather conditions .

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Jeep all the way

Reviewed by Breeze
March 16, 2014

Traded my 2003 Jeep Liberty SUV Sport for Jeep Compass Latitude. Very clean & comfortable seats/ride. Like the option of to lift the seat as I am short and like to sit up without a pillow. Exterior is something to love. Love Satellite radio & Disk option. Drive 125 miles per day to and from work, very economical. I made a great choice. Handles great in the snow/ice.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

SMALL BUT EFFICIENT

Reviewed by JACKIE
March 12, 2014

I need a 4wd where I live! I love suv's and the compass is a small and compact suv! I previously leased a 2011 Jeep Compass and it never let me down.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My Compass is the best.

Reviewed by MyPurpleDol
March 04, 2014

The ability to be able to hold the road is amazing. Of course, you always use your best judgement when it comes to common sense driving. I am able to use the four wheel drive in ruff situations and I am amazed on how well this jeep handles the snowy terrain (Getting out of my drive way,comming down unplowed small streets, and work parking lots).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

First Jeep and I'm impressed

Reviewed by Ski Bum
February 19, 2014

So this is my first Jeep ever. I am a previous owner of a 2005 Subaru Forester XT Premium, so I know quality when I'm in it. I bought the Limited 4X4. FIrst impressions, I love the interior. Everything seems to be made with decent quality and the lines are awesome wish there was a sunroof though. The features like back up cam and uconnect are pretty cool. Though uconnect can be a pain to get started. The exterior is very sharp looking. I'm partial to the boxier shaped foresters but this is very comparable to a 2011 forester. I love the 18 inch wheels and how high off the ground you sit. It doesn't feel like you are in a jacked up truck, but more that you are riding at a manageable height. Now performance is where I tend to be a little disappointed. Granted I came from a turbo charged 2.5L 4 cyl. boxer engine that produced 250HP in a car that is much lighter compared to the jeep. So first, gas mileage is average for a 2.4L 4 cyl. engine with 172HP. I've been running around town at about 24MPG. I was getting about 21-22 MPG in my FXT. As for get up and go. It actually does the job, most of the time I don't realize I've hit the speed limit until I've long passed it. The FXT used to really toss you back in the seat, but the jeep is a very smooth accelerator. The handling is above average. The suspension seems nice and firm as to help you corner better, but you aren't getting bounced around by any means. I am from Utah so mountains are everywhere. With the autostick, it makes going up these roads super easy. It hasn't snowed for awhile but I'm sure the Jeeps 4X4 system won't let me down. Overall I'd say this is a really well rounded Jeep. If you aren't looking to do rock climbing, but want more of a "sporty looking" family vehicle that will get you to that camping spot or will be good for around town. This one is for you.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Jeep Compass SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.