cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Jeep Cherokee Reviews

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Jeep Cherokee

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Jeep Cherokee!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

37 of 41 (90%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

All around great

Reviewed by Fish
April 13, 2014

Since being a Grand Cherokee owner for the past 20 years, I thought it was time for a change. The Cherokee was a breath of fresh air. All the bells and whistles of it's big brother in a smaller suv. It's a pleasure to drive, great looking and a great bang for the buck.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good car

Reviewed by Latitude cherokee
April 11, 2014

It is amazing and I enjoy driving it.everything looks really good right now!......................................................................................................................................................................................

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Cherokee Sport

Reviewed by Rev Mike
April 07, 2014

I've seen the other reviews but none were for the Cherokee Sport so decided to help those on a budget with a review. This is our 3'rd Jeep and LOVE IT! We owned a 2002 Liberty Limited - and a 2010 Liberty Limited and just traded that one in for the 2014 Cherokee SPORT! Nothing wrong with the Liberty other than needing tires, brakes and a big maintenance requirement. So it was like OK do I spend the money for these repairs or trade in (I already did the tune up and such). After looking at the maintenance schedule on the Cherokee I was hooked (no tune up for 100,000 miles). I just spent $600 for the tune up and engine cleaning on the Liberty. The 2002 was a lot of issues - the 2010 Liberty was amazing, no issues, was just in for servicing and noticed the Cherokee Sport and LOVED IT! I just reached the 300 mile mark WOO HOO - and already I'm at 21.5 MPG -- way better than the Liberty - I was lucky if I got 18MPG. Of course I worried about going from a 6 cylinder to a 4 but so far no regrets - the get up and go is amazing. Sometimes in order to leave my development and enter the highway we have to do a quick start and go -- so far no hesitation at all with the Cherokee Sport. Yes you can get many more "standard" features in any of the other models of Cherokee's but if you are on a budget you still will have no regrets for the Sport. Roomy, stylish, and some bells and whistles that the Liberty didn't have. I am totally in love with the handsfree - paired up to my smart phone with no issues. Yes there was no CD player - but no problem, I just took my CD's and put them on a SD - they take up less room that way. Another drawback was no Satellite/XM Radio - it was an extra (told you on a budget) but hey I could do without the XM Radio. But guess what --- I called Serius/XM and told them that I traded my car in and the new one did not have an XM Radio and they sent me an add on for FREE!!! Yes I have to install it - but real easy to do (and I can buy an accessory package to take it indoors with me). Another feature that this one did not have right away was a trailer hitch. The sales man said there was a 2 month delay and that if I went to U-Haul and had them install it would be quicker AND less expensive. That's a win in my budget book. One other issue that can be resolved elsewhere is that the Sport does not have a security system. No biggie since I've never had any problems and always used a steering wheel locking club even with the Liberty's and I never keep anything of value in any of my vehicles anyway. Can always go to an outside source and have one installed if I really wanted it. All in all if you are on a tight budget and are not sure about the lower end Cherokee Sport - GET IT!!! At first I was worried that maybe I downgraded, but after a few days and driving it around town and on the highway - I have NO REGRETS!! I traded up :)

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

One is not enough

Reviewed by satellite68
April 01, 2014

Bought a AWD V-6 Limited last November for my wife. She drove it through one of the worst winters in Chicago....not one single problem. We loved the car so much, I pick-up my 4x4 V-6 Latitude tomorrow, my 4th Jeep.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
4/5

A couple of nits

Reviewed by Q
April 01, 2014

I bought my wife a Jeep Cherokee on Jan 2, 2014. Gripe number one is the Jeep did not have a CD player. It uses USB port and a standard radio. Second and more serious is that it did not come with a spare tire. I felt this was a little cheap for them to do that. Other than that, the Cherokee has been pretty good to my wife.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

The worst car ever owned

Reviewed by Jay
March 26, 2014

We bought a 2014 jeep Cherokee trailhawk a few months ago, I do a lot of driving with my vehicle. In the first 2 weeks the traction control module went out. Then the car left us stranded the computer went out. Then the head gasket blew and now the transmission needs replaced. The vehicle is not making an alarm type buzzing noise from the motor. My jeep has 7,000 miles on it no way it should have all these problems already. We are in a process with the buy back programs let's see if the next one has all the problems

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

An amazing crossover

Reviewed by wolfstlkr
March 25, 2014

First I should say the if you have one built prior to mid December 2013 it needs the transmission serviced with a new update. Inside the drivers door will have the manufacture date. All the other reviewers that had issues with the transmission needs to take their jeep back to the dealer to get a updated software loaded on the transmission. I cant say enough good things about this car. Jeep thought out this vehicle very well. Its fun to drive and is deceivingly big on the inside. The first 300 miles has a few hesitations in shifting because of the transmission learning period. After 300 miles its smooth but not elastic like a CVT is. I have to look at the tac to watch it shift while cruising. But put it in sport mode it the car feels completely different with more aggressive shifting and a rear wheel drive feel to it. The V6 has plenty of power and I traded a Gen 6 Camaro for this. I got the Trailhawk with all the options except for the tech and cold weather and I don't regret it. Its feels very luxurious like a high end SUV but still has the off road teeth we all know from a trail rated Jeep.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Very Nice

Reviewed by First Jeep
March 15, 2014

The first day I got my jeep, a foot of snow had fallen. It did great!! Felt very safe and did great in the snow and on the highway.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Happy with Jeep

Reviewed by pacfandave
March 14, 2014

A little too early for a comprehensive review, but my brief experience with my new Jeep Cherokee Latitude is encouraging. Two nit picks concern the adjustable steering wheel (kind of hard to manipulate) and the fuel intake located on the passenger side. Why should I have to walk around the car to refuel? Other than those petty gripes, I find the car an excellent if smaller replacement for my last one and look forward to a long, comfortable, worry-free road trip this summer.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
1/5

Fun to drive!

Reviewed by DanMan
March 13, 2014

Handling is very sharp and sure. The AWD is exceptional in snow and wet conditions. The safety features are excellent, and include things you would only find on more expensive vehicles. The 4 cylinder engine is somewhat noisy and gas mileage is disappointing given the 31 mpg claim on the highway. Several have said the 3.2L 6 cylinder is a better choice but mileage is affected even lower and it is an expensive add-on option. I am withholding a rating on reliability since I have only 1000 miles on it so far and this is a totally new Cherokee redesign. The radio had to be replaced due to blue tooth issues and there have been quite a few issues with the new 9 speed transmission shared on Jeep forums. The interior comfort and quality are superior to the other small SUV's on the market as well as number of options in all categories. One feature that I am surprised not to have with all the other great features is the availability of a passenger power seat. I am looking forward to years of enjoyment driving this Jeep and hope as this new 9 speed transmission gets broken in gas mileage and utilization of all 9 gears will improve.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.