cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Infiniti Q50 Reviews

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Infiniti Q50

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Infiniti Q50!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

3.9/5

Value:
3.7/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.2/5
Performance:
4.2/5
Reliability:
3.6/5

12 of 18 (66%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
3/5

Great Car but software needs improvement

Reviewed by AJ
April 02, 2014

We bought our 2014 Q50 in October and started out for a 7500 mile winter trip from Saskatoon Canada to the west coast and down to Los Angeles on the Pacific Highway. Five months in Palm Springs and then home on Interstate 15. I was impressed with the handling and power. The NAV got us through LA but went blank before Palm Springs. Luckily we new the road. The NAV failed several more times and the Bose system locked up when using our iPod. It stuck on one line and we had to pull over and shut of the car before it would stop. No controls would work until we stopped and the repeating noise was terrible. That could of been dangerous if we weren't on the open road. On the way home the NAV was good on the major roads but many secondary highways were not even on the map. Thankfully we had maps and an iPhone with Google Maps on it. One other complaint is that it takes so long to boot up the systems when you start the car. I love the cars power, comfort and good mileage. It just needs some work on the tech systems.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Not bad but needs some work

Reviewed by Goforit
March 27, 2014

I have the Infinit Q50S Hybrid AWD fully loaded. If you are buying this car a few things you need to know. After driving it for a week, the handling on the car is ok, I usually drive without the safety shield (the lane departure, auto braking, etc.) as I am not used to the car braking and steering for me. Infiniti has put a lot of tech into this car but a few quirks that need to be worked out. The braking is very hard, because of the regenerative braking the car jerks a lot when you are coming to a stop. I have not had an issue with the DAS. It doesn't really bother me, but some people hate it. The acceleration is quick but it takes a few seconds to accelerate. We used to own a lexus hybrid and the acceleration was instant with the electric motor. Infiniti has not perfected this yet, and when you floor it the car hesitates and then takes off like a rocket. The infiniti touch screen is nice but it takes a moment when you are using it. The software is not as seamless as your iPhone. The menu system is a bit annoying. It takes 3-5 sub menus to save an address in your address book. The rated combined mpg is 30 but I am getting closer to 20mpg. I expected to get less than the 30mpg rated but I thought I would get around 25, not 20mpg. Overall its a nice car, we bought it because you won't find another hybrid sport awd sedan. It looks great with the 19in rims, the sound system is nice and its a very smooth ride. The back seat is roomy for a smaller sedan, plus the trunk space is big enough to fit our stroller even with the battery in the trunk.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
2/5

Third Infiniti...first dissapointment

Reviewed by Infiniti guy
March 13, 2014

I agree with much of what I have read posted here. I had a G 35X, G 37X and now the Q50 AWD. The software issues are a fiasco. Infiniti should be embarrassed. I even understand from an trusted source that they have told dealers that they have no fix and don't know when they will. The car does look great and has plenty of balls. However, the drive is not as engaging as the Gs...feels light.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
1/5

Cannot rely on Infiniti anymore.

Reviewed by tks
March 04, 2014

Q50 is definitely not a successor to G37. Infiniti has released an incomplete product with insufficient testing. In-car entertainment and navigation software needs a serious step up in terms of performance. The software loading time is quite slow and since some of the attractive features like - blind spot detect, rear view camera and lane guidance is based on software, the possibility of seeing those failures is quite high. Even if you have implemented only a few features i would rather have that done right. Instead they have tried to develop a software module to cover all aspects and ended up covering none !

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Retirement Car

Reviewed by Recordhunter
February 26, 2014

Car has a great looking grill and love the dynamics of the front end. The Q50 has plenty of power. I like the added stability of the AWD. The back up camera is useful and a nice safety feature, don't often see that offered in a sedan. Like all the new technology, it's off the hook and well integrated into the car. Overall nicely a packaged car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love It!

Reviewed by Carolina Girl
February 25, 2014

I compared the BMW and the Mercedes before purchasing the Q50. I feel in love with the Q50 and purchased my very own in August (when they were first released). This is a awesome car and I love everything about it!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I love my new car

Reviewed by Lynn
February 17, 2014

I can really appreciate the Nagivation System, Blue Tooth Technology. Due to the severe weather in the area where I live, the AWD is absolutely wonderful.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

Never should have turned in the G37

Reviewed by Loyal Infinti driver disappointed in Rochester, NY
February 16, 2014

In 2012 we were excited to lease our first Infiniti the G37. I had admired the car for a few years and the opportunity came up with a great lease deal. We absolutely loved the car and raved about the performance and ride. We were so impressed. The only thing I would change was the interior color. We live in NY were winters can be tough and even with winter mats it was difficult to keep the light tan interior clean. In January 2014 we received a notice we could extend our lease or take advantage of a great lease loyalty opportunity if we leased the Q50. We decided to go w/ the Q50 because of the great deal. During the test drive I did notice the handling was not as good around the corners as the G37 and the ride was not as smooth. I definitely felt more bumps in the road. The sales person told me it was because it was winter and the road was cold. I told him I drove the G37 over to the dealership on the same roads and it did not feel the same. I could not believe he actually said that to me. I may be a women but I am not an idiot. Another comment I made was I didn't like that the seats did not automatically adjust for each based on the key as they did in the G37. The salesman told me we would have to go to the top model to get that but he would not recommend that model. We are over a month in to this lease and wish we would have kept the G37 for 6 more months. The ride is definitely not as good as the G37 and honestly I expect more when buying an infiniti. I wonder if the Chevrolet Malibu would have a smoother been better. I think the electronics impressed my husband but now he even says it is not that great. The features don't start working for several minutes after the car is started. Very poor software and no word this will ever be fixed. Also he has made a few changes to the automatic settings such as removing the alarm for cold weather and it continues to come on. As for all the new software we were supposed to get I am not sure when it will be ready either. I have to say I REALLY miss the seats automatically adjusting. My husband is over 6 foot and I am 5 foot 5 inches. Overall if you are looking at turning in a G37 for the Q50 hold off. Electronic software is there but poor, ride is not smooth and handling is worse. I am not sure I would even recommend getting it when or if they make the changes needed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

So disappointed

Reviewed by Infinity loyalist
January 13, 2014

I bought my 2014 infinity Q50 three months ago. It is the 7th Infiniti that my Husband and I have owned. Initially I noticed a problem with the radio, and mentioned it on day one. However, I thought that I was doing something wrong, as this car is very technologically advanced. I managed to get the radio stabilized, but as soon as I tried using the traffic app the entire audio system stopped working, also the phone connection. I took it back to Infiniti, and there is nothing they can do until a solution to the software problem is resolved. I am left driving a brand new infinti with no radio, and none of the other apps that come in the central system. Infiniti has not been able to tell me if and when the problem will be fixed. I am not enjoying my new car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
1/5

Fixing the Bugs

Reviewed by Nanbo
January 10, 2014

I am 6 weeks into my new Q50 Hybrid Sport. On a positive note, good performance, great comfort creatures, fabulous in the snow/ice. So all in all my first 3 weeks were quite positive. Sadly, I'm also beginning the 3rd week of my loaner car while Inifinity tries to find a battery to replace the one that doesn't work. In week 3 I needed two jump starts and took the car in for service. After being promised the car by the next day, and the next day, and as soon as the delivery of parts comes in, I'm now hoping for a battery to be found and delivered sometime next week. Calls to the sales mgr and service mgr are not returned - only the service rep returns calls and he admits he is unfamiliar with the Q50. I don't know if I have a lemon, or just an early model of a car that needs to get things worked out. This is my 5th Infinity, and the first time I'm not a happy Infinity owner.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.