newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2016 Hyundai Genesis Reviews

New 2016 Hyundai Genesis

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

10 of 13 (76%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Shallow Facade....Poor Resale Value!

Reviewed by SG11
May 30, 2017

I own a 2016 Hyundai Genesis, the MSRP was $51,000. It is a fully loaded 3.8 rwd in Ibiza Blue. It has 12k miles , and I leased it 14 months ago. It is a nice looking car , drives well but financially after all it still a high priced Hyundai wrapped in a $50k gold-plated wrapper. Look at the residual values, they lose 40-45% after year 1. In FACT, my lease value for Year 4 at end of lease is about what my trade in is NOW at 14 months OLD . It looks pretty , drives well but you'll be stuck when you want to sell it.. or move on.. Also, the kicker is the 2017's, get 3 years complimentary maintenance, 3 year service valet where they pick up your car & give you a loaner, 3 years Sirius , 3 years Blue link, and 3 years map updates. All include!!!. Anyone owning a 2016 or before doesn't get $1 of the thousands of added value of the 2017's. To add insult to injury I have to pay $450 a year for the optional Blue link , which is now FREE, and the car loaded costs $1,000 less than my 2016. Something is wrong with this picture!!! In my experience, Hyundai Genesis products is truly poor in customer happiness.... wait for "Genesis to have established its own identity... and separate brand Dealerships to handle their cars. I don't believe Hyundai is committed to its "Genesis " clients, Genesis product staff, and not sure what Genesis will become - Their customer service has been poor, and they rely on that we have good value products without having the DEEP foundation of personal touch support, especially for going into the $50k +car market. Please research the 2-3 year residuals before buying. The depreciation on A 2016 Hyundai Genesis is twice the industry average!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

All Poor Residuals!

Reviewed by SG11
May 30, 2017

After all it still a Hyundai wrapped in a $50k gold-plated wrapper. In my experience, wait for Genesis to have its own identity... and separate brand Dealerships to handle their cars. In my experience, I don't believe Hyundai is committed to its "Genesis " clients, Genesis product staff, and not sure what Genesis will become - Their customer service has been poor, and they rely on that we have good value products without having the DEEP foundation of personal touch support, especially for going into the $50k +car market. Please research the 2-3 year residuals before buying. The depreciation on A 2016 Hyundai Genesis is twice the industry average!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Advanced and Refined Luxury

Reviewed by PerryB
May 25, 2017

I now have about 14,000 miles on the car after 10 months. I have taken several long road trips with it, in addition to daily driving. It is refined, comfortable, and luxurious. It has great handling, driving feel, and technology. You can't find a luxury brand with the features and comforts for this price point anywhere else. Go to European brands and you will easily spend $15-20K more for an equal experience. I am confident that in 2 years when my lease is up I will trade for the Genesis G80 which this car evolved into.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great new (used) car

Reviewed by slow6516
May 22, 2017

I was looking to step up in a more sporty type of car but retain the ability to fit my family. I found it in the Hyundai Genesis. It is everything that I was looking for and more. My driving experience has increase so much that I do not mind driving to work anymore!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Genisis - give it a try

Reviewed by Andrew P
May 07, 2017

So far, so good. Really enjoy most of the exterior styling. Could have done more with rear. Navigation system is a bit quirky. Not a performance car in my book but very comfortable to drive.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

best car I have ever owned-Genesis G80

Reviewed by driver enthusiast
March 23, 2017

this is the 4th generation Genesis that I have leased and the best one yet. I haven't enjoyed nor had more fun driving a car in the over 50 years that I have had a license.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Amazing value regardless of price!

Reviewed by ogogolby
March 23, 2017

I write as a German car snob who now drives a Korean car. I traded my S550 AMG Mercedes for this vehicle swearing never to pay $100K+ for another automobile. It's not as classy as the Benz, it's not quite as fast as my BMW 535 and doesn't handle quite as well as my Audi A8 but when you add everything up - this car is amazing! It's fast enough (0-60 in 6.5 secs), very comfortable, loaded with every amenity and technology that you can think of (more than my S class) and with the Genesis badging front and rear, I'm constantly hearing "Is it a Bentley?" For new Genesis owners - I highly recommend a 4 wheel alignment because mine arrived very slightly out from the factory but after alignment the handling improved dramatically. I'm was also surprised and pleased that Genesis delivers the excellent performance with regular gas. I'm so used to using 93 octane, I have occasionally filled up with it and no difference! Pros: technology, heads up display, fit & finish, performance, value. Cons: The A pillar placement stinks - causing a significant left front blind spot. No massage in seats - (added in 017).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Excellent Value and Impressive Quality

Reviewed by dfitzgerald
March 06, 2017

We have owned the Genesis for just over 2 months now and have put about 1400 trouble-free miles on it. This is an amazing car! It is quiet, powerful, comfortable, filled with technology and has a stunning design both inside and out.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

THIS CAR IS THE FUTURE.

Reviewed by FLASH G.CAR ENTHUSIASTS.
February 20, 2017

THE GENESIS IS SPORTY LUXURY COMFORT AND PERFORMANCE AT A GLANCE.THIS CAR STARTIG AT 21000 NICELY EQUIPPED CANT BE BEAT.I MEAN THE NAME SAYS IT GENESIS THE NEW BEGINNING OF LUXURY SEDAN.!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Luxury Car - Budget Brand and Service

Reviewed by Drones
December 20, 2016

Dealer did a nice job in sales process. However, I leased my car and it has been a nightmare dealing with Hyundai Finance. From the very start I had to argue with them and the dealer and get the regional sales rep from Hyundai involved to correct the lease payment to what my contract stated and was correct. Then 15 months later i get a late payment from Hyundai saying I owe $90 due to my taxes going up six months ago - which was not accurate - and never getting a change to my payment or notification. They collect my payment (the correct original payment every month and verify it's collection) and then randomly decide to tell me they think the payment changed due to a tax change and I now owe $30 more a month on my lease payment. Terrible. This is so sad. The Genesis got me out of premium brands to this budget brand. I like the car but obviously the dealers, the finance company (Hyundai Finance) and the manufacturer are still budget!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

2016 Hyundai Genesis Sedan Comparison Reviews