newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Hyundai Elantra Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Hyundai Elantra

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Hyundai Elantra!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.2/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.3/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

7 of 9 (77%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Purchased an Elantra!!

Reviewed by Car Lover
May 30, 2014

Walked in and test drove an Elantra. Next thing you know, my daughter has a new car. In & out in a breeze. No hassle

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

Rent this BEFORE you buy it!!

Reviewed by NVGUYS
May 29, 2014

Before you go and waste $18,000 to $23,000 on a car you may not like RENT it before you buy it. A long weekend will tell you if the car is for you or not. I rented a brand new 2014 Hyundai Elantra SE automatic. I had high hopes since it looked fun, exciting and current. But, I would be proven wrong, realizing I was lead by "pretty pictures and slick marketing". Over all exterior and interior appearance was good. The actual problems when you real start to touch and feel everything and use all the controls. SE Elantra's do not have radio controls on the steering wheel unless you go for the upgraded interior packed for about $900.00. When I got home I parked int he garage and touched everything. I listened and felt how all the controls, seats, fabric, switches moved, clicked, thunked and beeped. What I came away with from this brand new car was a feeling of complete cheapness. Nothing felt sturdy or well made. It did not feel like this would last for 10 years or 100,000 miles. It literally felt like it would fall apart or just start braking. When compared to the new Mazda 3, Toyota Corolla and Civic there is a reason why the Hyundai is cheaper. Because it is not as well made. But be the judge for yourself! All the rental agencies carry most makes and models. Rent a car for a week and try out a few different models. Swap out the cars every few days. Flick all the switches and knobs, try everything. At the end of 7 days what car would actually want to keep in your driveway for 5 - 10 years and put 100 to 200k miles on it?? Be your own judge and post your responses here!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

extremely comfortable for sr citizen.

Reviewed by retired insurance auto damage appraiser
May 16, 2014

I also own a Hyundai sonata. The performance of the sanata helped me decide to go with the elantra. Also the sales Person and his dealership made my purchasing of a new veh very pleasant. Would go back again.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Very Good Car, Satisfied w/ my purchase decision

Reviewed by Sandy
May 13, 2014

Test drove an Elantra, Mazda 3, Ford Focus & Fiesta, & Nissan Sentra. Previously owned a Hyundai Excel as my first car when I was a teenager & when Hyundai later developed a Bad reputation...I think Hyundai has since, in the past 26 years since grew and developed into a great company that really did a 180. I also previously owned a Saturn & a Mazda 3. I am Very satisfied with this purchase! The car runs smoothly, the exterior looks like an expensive car, the interior is nice (I would have preferred softer suede seating, and chose a lower model b/c I can't Stand the trend for that faux leather seating all car makers seem to have when you get into the higher models). The stereo system could be better in terms of the speakers. The rearview camera makes me feel better about backing up that I won't hit my kid or the dog when backing out of the garage. The interior is quite roomy, the only complaint I have is where the seat buckles into sometimes digs into my upper thigh and I have to push it down into the side of the seat to keep it from bothering me. The mileage is Outstanding! Went from needing to get gas 1x/wk in my last car (Mazda 3) to just once every 1 1/2 wks. I also purchased it b/c you cannot beat the warranty package with Any other car maker today! All in all, I think I got a Very good deal! If you are in the Orange County, CA area, I Highly recommend Hardin Hyundai, specifically Steve Cooke who did not bug me with numerous follow-up calls and answered the exact questions I asked via e-mail rather than asking me to call in to speak to him on the phone which I don't like doing until I've made my decision b/c I know that is just a dealer's way to try to talk you up and play you to swindle you.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

Regret buying

Reviewed by Ljessgr
May 04, 2014

Unfortunately what I should be getting mpg for highway I get local driving of 26 mpg on highway and that's with driving nice on the road. I've had my car for a year now and the dealership has never been able to fix my cars navigation. I am extremely disappointed with the car itself and Hyundai's customer service. I really wish I would have chosen the Mazda3, at least I would have made a wiser choice

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Thrilled with my new Elantra

Reviewed by Lynda
April 13, 2014

I upgraded my 2001 Accent GLS to a 2014 Elantra SE with many additions for a great price. I drove a Civic, Mazda 3 and the Elantra. I loved the pep, styling and great deal I got on my car. It is very roomy inside. It is such a dream to drive. I even have heated cloth seats. It steers beautifully. The back up camera has a bit of a glare on sunny days but is a great safety feature. Blue tooth was easy to set up even for a non techy. Love it. Vandergriff Hyundai was great to deal with.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Long time coming

Reviewed by My new baby
March 27, 2014

My Elantra Limited is a classy looking car. The sleek design and the interior controls make it easy to drive.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car, great price!

Reviewed by car review
March 17, 2014

The Hyundai Elantra is a terrific car and a great value. I did a some research before going to test drive several cars. I wanted something safe, affordable, and with some style. I narrowed my options to the Mazda 3 and the Hyundai Elantra. Even though the Mazda 3 had higher ratings, I actually preferred driving the Elantra and I got so many more features on the car for less money. I couldn't be happier.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Cutest four door I've had

Reviewed by Julia
February 06, 2014

I went to Ron Carter Hyundai yesterday to look at used cars, and ended up leaving with a brand new 2014 Elantra. It's amazing for the price! Everyone there greated me with a smile and asked if I was being properly taken care of. The sales person who helped me was Eric Gomez. He was completely patient with me and showed me each car he felt would fit my needs. He wasn't pushy and made sure that I was getting into something I would love, which I do! I would defintely send anyone to this dealer because everyone there was so geniunely friendly and wanted to help me. I honestly could not be happier! They stayed true to the payments I wanted and the car comes with great warranty and I won't have to worry about any repairs I might need in the future. I will for sure be going back here for any other car purchases in the future! As for the Elantra, it has so much room inside. I traded in a Jeep Liberty so moving from an SUV to a car was really hard for me to do, but with this much room it was a lot easier.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Hyundai Elantra Sedan Comparison Reviews

2014 Hyundai Elantra Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.