newcars.com®

New 2016 Honda Pilot Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Honda Pilot

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Honda Pilot!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.0/5
Exterior:
4.3/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.4/5
Performance:
4.2/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

24 of 31 (77%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best SUV

Reviewed by Joe S
April 13, 2016

Just leased the Pilot from Brown Honda after many years of having a minivan and we are so happy. The Pilot does not disappoint! Great comfort and ride. Our sales person, Arthur S. was amazing. He knows more about the Honda lineup than Honda.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

my best car

Reviewed by herbnet
April 11, 2016

best in all categories of any car I ever owned. handles awesome. have had many many cars during my ninety years and this beats all !

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Elated With My New Elite

Reviewed by Happy Honda Owner
March 08, 2016

I just purchased a 2016 Honda Elite to replace my 2007 Pilot LX. I must say Honda has made great strides to improve this vehicle. The exterior styling is much sleeker and more aerodynamic. The engine and transmission has more power and smoother shifting through the gears. The ride is also smoother on bumpy roads. The added safety features like Lane Keeping Assist (LKAS), Blind Spot with Cross Traffic Monitor, parking assist, and the Cruise Control will slow down when the car in front slows down, make this a much safer vehicle to drive on long family trips. The surround sound system will blow you away when you insert a Blue Ray DVD for the rear passangers. There are too many feature to mention on this review, so I will close by saying I love my new Pilot.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Honda does it again

Reviewed by Bob
March 02, 2016

we have owned three other honda pilots since 2000. The 2016 model really cleaned up many of the things we suggested in past surveys to honda that needed addressing. We feel that the Pilot is a great choice for us and fulfilling our car needs. They still could do a better job on the brakes. Really like the touch screen and especially the safety additions they put in, lane assist etc. We always start out looking at other vehicles in order to compare what is out there and so far we have always gone back to the Pilot. Reliability has been a large driving factor also.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2016 Honda Pilot Touring

Reviewed by 4 boys and a pup named Tux.
February 16, 2016

My wife and I owned a 2012 Pilot EX-L. We have 4 sons and a very curious pup named Tux, none of whom enjoy long car rides without distractions. We loved our 2012 Pilot, but it was missing something. Then we looked at the 2016 Pilot Touring, and we found what we were looking for. More room, better handling, A LOT MORE features, not to mention the Entertainment Package. All I can say is since 2012, long car rides were a headache until we got to where we were going. Now, we forget the kids are even with us. The only thing we have to try and do is tune out Adam Sandler's singing when he's playing Papa Drac.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

My Pilot Rocks

Reviewed by Hogan's Hero
February 10, 2016

I switched from a full sized pickup to a Honda Pilot for my work vehicle and I love it. I can still fit everything I need in it for work and on the weekends I take tools out and have a third row of seats to take my kids and grandkids in one vehicle. Absolutely love this vehicle!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

The Acadia I owned before this was a better vehile

Reviewed by Dissatisfied
February 01, 2016

Fuel cover is not lined up property. There is a big piece of plastic that fell down from behind the glove box. When going down a hill and downshifting with the paddles, the car lunges forward at first

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Previous Pilot owner

Reviewed by Honda Family
January 26, 2016

I owned the first Honda Pilot back in 2003 but traded it for the accord, when gas prices soared. I told my husband that my next SUV would be another Pilot; and it is. I really like the new look! The downside to Honda is that they don't change out the exterior styles very often. I did not care for the 'boxy' look of the previous pilots; so the new style is great! I was surprised at how well it handles on the road. if I had to state any negative, it would be the distraction from the panel. The phone is a bit cumbersome to figure out as well; but overall - a great car. My Honda Accord had not quite 300k miles on it when I traded it! My husband's had almost 700k - before a deer took it out. Their quality of performance and longevity speaks volumes.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

Disapointed

Reviewed by Jenny
January 13, 2016

I traded in my 07 Nissan Altima for the 2016 Honda Pilot. The room inside is great. Driving is comfortable. I love the redesign. Great room in back for everything. Things I don't like are: there is no CD player! And the dealer didn't point that out... I don't like the display you have a touch screen for the volume and changing radio stations. When you get to know your vehicle, you can go right to the knob without looking. I have to look at the display every time I need to do something. Voice recognition is terrible. Its a overall ok vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Dont Buy the Hype

Reviewed by The Dub
January 02, 2016

Honk the horn, if you have no problem with the horn (as it is sized for a small moped) then look at what is involved in jump-starting this vehicle. If the procedure for jumpstarting the car isn’t an issue… buy the pilot, as you most likely won’t notice the issues I have noted below. If you take exception to the horn or the need to disassemble the car to jump start it……well the rest of the car like that OPUD (Over promised and under delivered). I am one who got sucked into the Hype of this vehicle, and I wish I didn’t. My 2016 Honda Elite (“The PIG” the name just fits) has 4,600 miles on it, and it is for sale. The good. Its size, MPG (even though it has decreased drastically after a software recall), plenty of features. The Bad. there is mostly good and ugly on this car The Ugly the 9 speed transmission, auto idle stop "feature", the Premium stereo (please listen to this stereo when the car is moving not just when its parked, you will thank me later), voice command is useless. the rear entertainment system is a disaster. I have 4600 miles on this auto and I just can not sit back and keep reading reviews from folks who say it’s a perfect vehicle. I often question the legitimacy of some of the reviews, like they were written by those with an interest in selling these cars. The reviews on YouTube, I can only surmise that these guys can’t tell the complete story or they won’t get access to the manufactures cars in the future. Please don’t buy the HYPE. I had to shorten my review so that it would fit, or I would have given examples. Give this car an extended electronic test drive before buying

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

2016 Honda Pilot SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.