newcars.com®
Log In

New 2016 Honda Pilot Reviews See 2015

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Honda Pilot

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Honda Pilot!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.2/5

Value:
3.9/5
Exterior:
4.1/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.3/5
Performance:
4.2/5
Reliability:
4.2/5

12 of 17 (70%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Do not buy the 9 speed Transmission!

Reviewed by Billbo
October 13, 2015

Bought this the week it came out at our local Honda dealership. This was the 3rd Honda Pilot Touring we had owned because we loved the brand. The love quickly faded as all the issues starting screaming at us. First off the 9 speed transmission in the Touring and Elite is horrible. Shifting is inconsistent at low speeds, seems to rev up when when downshifting causing you to quickly react with more pressure on the brake.Very jerky and hardshifts. Does not smoothly drive down isles in parking lots or city driving. Another issue is the engine seems really loud while idleing, reminds me of an old 1980's American 4cyl with valves tapping, not something you would expect on a $40K vehicle. I have taken this vehicle into the dealership and it is working perfectly according to them. Honda did a nice job on the interior and navigation. Fuel mileage is great and highway driving is smooth. If you like the syle of the new Pilot go with the 6 speed transmission and avoid the Touring and Elite models.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love at first sight

Reviewed by I Love My Honda
September 29, 2015

I needed a new vehicle. Wanted as AWD SUV with 3rd row seat. After test driving all the SUV with 3rd row seats, I decided on a Honda Pilot. I love my new vehicle. It has new sleek styling and better gas mileage than previous models.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Pilot 2016

Reviewed by Pilot
September 28, 2015

We had a 1998 honda CRV and decided it was time to get a newer car with new safety features and more cargo space. The 2016 pilot with AWD and sensory system did that. We were glad we could add these to the EX without having to buy a model with more features than we needed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2016 Pilot EXL silver

Reviewed by nick name
September 28, 2015

Very disappointed that the took the CD player away without disclosing it at the dealer. We traded a 2015 CRV for it and it still had a CD player, so my fault for not looking for it on the screen on the pilot, but the dealer should have mentioned it. Love this car and my wife loves the armrest instead of the console to put her stuff down in the middle. It has so many more features than our 2011 Pilot and drives like a dream. Getting 21 mpg in the city with AWD EXL model.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most comfortable car

Reviewed by Family Car
September 26, 2015

Very comfortable to drive and enjoy drive with whole family and friends . New exterior are stylish .

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most comfortable vehicle I have ever owned!

Reviewed by Pilot 1
September 23, 2015

We have owned Hondas before so we knew that they were a great value. This is one of the best driving vehicles I think I have ever driven. Leather interior is comfortable and the addition of soft spots such as armrest and dash make it even better. Great sound system, back up camera with three different views and build in navigation system. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone! Only thing is do not look for great deals right now. This is a new model year, they are hard to find and when you do there is not much dealing to be had and I searched over half this state to find mine. Scored a great one Honda in my humble opinion!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Nice ride

Reviewed by Love the value
September 23, 2015

Had a 2008 Pilot, son totaled it, loved my 2008, was not looking to replace it for at least 5 years. I was really sad to see it go. I did not expect the new Pilot to be so much more and loaded with new tools and toys. I don't miss my old Pilot anymore.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Longtime Honda owner

Reviewed by Sweaver2
September 15, 2015

This is my 3rd Honda Pilot Touring. Also I have owned a Ridgeline. Been very happy until this 2016 Pilot. The style is fine , interior is nice and the safety features are good. Major problem which I cannot over look is the 9 speed transmission. This is extremely annoying to drive as its shifting is not normal, sometimes too early or too late, shakes the car as it accererates. When driving at slow speeds in parking lots it seems to lunge or not move at all. I thought when I first bought it I thought it just needed to learn my driving style and it would get better, it has not. I took it to honda to check it and although they experienced what I have, they said its how it was designed and could not be fixed. I currently have the car up for sale and am willing to take a huge loss on this just to get rid of it. My suggestion if you like the style is to get the regular 6 speed transmission and avoid the 9 speed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

SUV outside Minivan inside

Reviewed by SUV Shopper
September 07, 2015

I waited until the Pilot was released before buying a new SUV b/c I wanted to check it out. I liked the exterior styling but hated the armrest on the driver seat. I'm a 6ft 190lb guy and just couldn't get comfortable. There is no raised center console to lean on if you choose to forego using the armrest. The Pilot felt responsive with good power during the test drive but I couldn't get over the minivan feel of the inside. Even the outside started looking more like a minivan after driving it. Nice car but I couldn't get comfortable. Still looking...

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

love it

Reviewed by captainjohn
September 07, 2015

we owned and loved our 2007 pilot we love our 2016 so far just as much better looking more horsepower and much easier steering plus rear view and side camera

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Honda Pilot SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.