newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Honda Accord Hybrid Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Honda Accord Hybrid

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Honda Accord Hybrid!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

14 of 14 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love the car which deserves all the kudos

Reviewed by Billy CA Driver
June 19, 2014

I've had my new Accord Hybrid Touring vehicle for two months and love everything about it. I would never guess I was driving a hybrid. It is zippy! I'm used to driving our second car which is a Toyota Prius which groans during acceleration. The new Accord Hybrid is averaging about 40 mpg overall and has the zip of my V-6 Camry XLE that averaged only 20 mpg. The car is quiet, super comfortable and loaded with safety features I couldn't get on any Toyota or Lexus in this price range. I'd have to spend another $10K to get comparable features. The trunk is definitely on the modest size, but for the two of us, it handles our big trips for supplies at Costco just fine and has reformed me from carrying around all kinds of things I never use for years in the trunk. I was tempted by the safety features on the Suburu Outback, but the relatively poor gas mileage convinced me to go with the Accord Hybrid.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Stepping in to this Century

Reviewed by 8th Honda Purchased
June 18, 2014

It is still fairly new to us and we are learning about all the features. Have to get used to all the different information the car gives us - kinda fun! At this point, we love it! Our other vehicle is a 2013 CRV. This new Hybrid is our 9th Honda. Love our Hondas!!!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Like This Car

Reviewed by Radapo
May 23, 2014

EX-L The first weekend we had the car we took a 650 mile round trip on the PA Turnpike getting 47.5 mpg. The next two weeks were local city/town driving with a mpg of 55. I drive in ECON mode and have enough acceleration for passing and merging. When a little extra is needed I turn off ECON. I use the B gear like a downshift on a stick shift. The car definitely slows and the battery charge rate increases. Cornering is better than I expected, as the car seems to hug the road. The car is roomy and confortable and the electronics (radio, Bluetooth, etc) work as advertised. Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Collision Detection can get annoying but I keep them on to judge my driving. LDW is a good reminder to use turn signals to avoid being beeped at. The right-turn video was very helpful for merging on the Turnpike. The trunk size is a downer. We took our luggage to the dealer and packed the trunk before we bought and decided we could live with the small trunk. My wife likes the exterior style. We have no regrets and feel we made a great choice.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Honda/Acura; the most reliable autos available!

Reviewed by Rebel
May 01, 2014

My wife drives a 2002 Acura TL, and I drive a 2001 prelude, both bought new, to replace Hondas. We did not buy the Honda Accord hybrid because my wife found the seats to be really uncomfortable, to the point of unacceptable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

The New Hybrid

Reviewed by Old Tennis Player
April 10, 2014

This car is a joy to drive. There is plenty of pickup if you wish to hot rod around and yet amazing mpg if you drive sensible. I wish the battery would last longer when you are in EV mode, but it does recharge fairly quickly. As the weather is getting warmer, my average mpg per tank has improved from 40 to 43 to 45. ON a recent 50 mile trip on both interstate and back roads I average 54 mpg according to the in car"s computer. The controls on the steering and dash are easy to use and the sound system is first rate. I am very pleased with this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Fun with New Technology

Reviewed by Southern Grandpa
April 06, 2014

I've driven 1000 miles in the last 3 weeks and enjoyed the car the entire time. I purchased the base model which pleases me because the complaints seem to be about the features in the Touring model. The mileage has been increasing with the temperature so I started at 40 mpg and am now averaging 45 mpg, with 42 mpg overall. The car has good pick up and smooth brakes. I'm amazed at how easy it is to drive, as though it were a regular car. I wish the front chrome wasn't blue, but I'll get over it. The reduced trunk space isn't a problem for me since my prior car was a Civic. The big question is how will it drive in 10 years. I was able to get a price reduction to $28,600 but then bought the extended warranty at $1300 so, basically, I bought the car at MSRP and had the extended warranty thrown in so Honda is putting its money where its mouth is. So far, no buyer's remorse.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

happy car buyer

Reviewed by kevlee
April 02, 2014

I did a lot a research before buying this car. I read many of the reviews and comparisons between Ford and Toyota as far as Hybrids go. I decided upon the Honda Hybrid based upon its MPG rating and technology and reliability. After three and a half weeks of driving I finally filled up the 14 gallon tank of gas. I am so glad I made this purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

So far, so good

Reviewed by Mountain Guy
March 31, 2014

We have 1,200 miles on the Accord Touring Hybrid now. So far, so good. On a 450-mile trip a couple of weekends ago in both urban and rural driving, in both flat territory and in mountains, the car says we averaged 47.5 miles per gallon, just about what Honda claimed it would. We are pretty gentle in our driving habits and are driving about as usual. Compared with other Accords and a Civic we have had, this car is powerful, quiet, and smooth--almost luxurious. The three cameras, the radar, and the split driver's mirror give an impressive view of what's all around us. I especially like the adaptive cruise control. We tend to keep our cars for eight or nine years and to put a lot of miles on them, so we'll see how this holds up.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car

Reviewed by Honda Lover
March 29, 2014

I've had my Honda Touring Hybrid since December 2013 and in less then 4 months have put all, mostly highway, 7500 miles on it myself. I love the safety features, I love how it handles and the quiet smooth ride. The seats are very comfortable even after long hours on the road. I wish operating the phone using verbal commands was more user friendly. Even in a quiet car the system does not pick up my simplest of commands, but sometimes it does. The minus for performance is due to the gas mileage. I came from a Prius so I miss my Prius mileage and cargo space but I love everything else about the Honda. I was told after the 5000 mile break in period, mpg will improve. I don't expect to compete with the Prius in mpg due to size, weight etc,, but I have been waiting for consistency in the listed mpg in the Honda. It's been an adjustment for me. After the break in period mileage seems to improve somewhat but so has the weather temps and still rarely meet expectations. I am keeping track the old fashion way, paper and pen. I got on here to see what other owners have said. Would I buy another Honda? Yes. Honda Hybrid? Maybe not, at up to 35 mpg the non hybrids come close enough to my 38 average mpg and for a few thousand $ less and no batteries to consider. Warmer temps yet may change my mind.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

great value for great milage

Reviewed by tweetyb
March 08, 2014

i am very pleased with all the technology within the car i am still learning all the features that the car has.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Honda Accord Hybrid Sedan Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.