newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 GMC Sierra 1500 Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 GMC Sierra 1500

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 GMC Sierra 1500!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.2/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.3/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

20 of 26 (76%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Solid, good looking truck

Reviewed by Toyota Convert
June 12, 2014

Bought 12/26/13 in Collinsville, IL from Laura Buick-GMC. 4,940 miles and very happy with my 1500 Crew-Cab, 2wd, 4.3L. I decided to switch to a truck as a daily driver and it's an easy vehicle to drive anywhere. Rides great, EXTREMELY quiet cab, easy controls and simply happy to this point. I had an older Ford 250 with a 5.4L triton and this 4.3L v-6 simply has more torque, power and performance, even pulling a trailer. The stepup bumper has been great for my knees. Let's hope a 100,000 miles from know I'm still as satisfied since I converted this vehicle from many years of Toyota usage.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

bad design

Reviewed by Shawn
May 21, 2014

I bought a 2011 GMC sierra new. Seems you need to take the front end apart just to change a headlight. Changing 2 headlights = $500. You need to buy GMC wipers from GMC. Battery died 2 weeks after my warranty expired. Lord knows what else is waiting for me. Cheap truck. Cheap and manipulative construction.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Work and Family Truck

Reviewed by Truck person
May 19, 2014

This was the type of truck I was hoping for. When they came out, I was all over it. Love the convenience inside, along with the interior. Still not quite in love with how the seat feels, but it has multiple adjustments. Maybe it just needs to be broken in? Owned my last extended cab for 9 years, and simply loved sitting in the seat, it was that comfortable to me. The gas mileage my new crew cab gets is fantastic, and still have the power available as needed. The seat in the rear is comfortable, legroom is awesome. Overall, I love this truck. Great color my wife picked out.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Overall, an excellent truck.

Reviewed by Madhatter
May 14, 2014

Improvements: -Outstanding interior. Soft touch design and road noise isolation are well ahead of previous 900 series. -Engine power. Much better than the Gen 4 LS engines. Shifts between V4-V8 modes seamlessly. -Handling and road manners are excellent. Electric steering gives just the right amount of feedback. Deficiencies: -Halogen projector headlights are terribly dim. -No rear AC venting in crewcab/doublecab. -DIC fuel use average highly "optimistic". Reports average of 18.7 to 19.5 when actual use is 17.0 to 17.5.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Sierra SLT 4x2

Reviewed by Jay
May 13, 2014

Really enjoying the truck. Extremely comfortable, smooth and ultra quiet ride. Good features and, in my opinion a real looker. If I had to complain, wish it had push start/stop and factory HIDs. Headlights aren't great but are not terrible. Really love the truck and would buy again.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

To early to tell

Reviewed by Jimmy
May 12, 2014

Nice pick-up kind of what I expected. Very nice dealership , people staff very friendly I only have 500 miles to early to comment on it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

the best ever

Reviewed by got ice
April 14, 2014

Ordered a Denali 1500 the best truck I have ever owned The 6.2 motor is great. The ride has improved in the last 3 years since I bought a new truck.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 GMC Sierra SLE

Reviewed by slapshot
April 07, 2014

I've had this truck for a little over 2 months now (1980 miles currently). I was concerned about the mpg's initially but at around 1,000 miles it just took off and I'm consistently getting 22-23 highway in the 5.3 V8. Just think "smooth" when you're taking off and keep a couple of extra pounds of pressure in the tires. I think GM missed the boat on a couple other small things, like the bed lighting button. It should give a tell, as in show something on the button itself when it's on. It doesn't (but it does have a 10 minute shut off). And the button itself should be on the fob as you're usually out of the truck when you need the light. Just had a recall today (4-7-14) for a transmission cooler line. Evidently they can leak and fail. Not good. I know of an older model (07) Silverado where one of these failed and it was a mess and over $6K to fix. All the criticisms I've read of the entertainment system is true. The swipe motion and favorites and the touchscreen in general just isn't very responsive. But I've seen the F150's and that's worse. Plus I've my smartphone sync more than once. The voice commands generally work well. There is a terrible gap surrounding the tail gate and at the upper front corners. I have a folding soft cover that's pretty tight on top but the water and dirt still get in. If I lived on a dusty road or something I'd look into sealing it better somehow. Thinking about a piece of duct tape inside under the cover at the front corners (won't show anyway). Having said all that I'm still happy with my purchase. Rides smooth and quiet. And after only two months of winter driving I feel it handles the ice and snow as well as anything I've ever driven (General Grabber tires). I ended up with those tires after the dealer had to go the next town over to get the exact equipment I wanted on the truck. However, they've been solid performers, smooth and quiet. Have not been off road at all yet. Waiting for hunting season for that.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
2/5

NOT SO GREAT!

Reviewed by Stix
March 30, 2014

Bought 2014 Sierra, All Terrain in sept 2013. It has been back for 3 recalls and to have a leaky radiator replaced. Headlights are completely useless! Had to install extra lighting just to be safe at nite. My expense of course! GM will not acknowledge problem. As usual. Gas Mileage is no better than my 2011 Sierra was even tho this truck was advertised as improved. NOT! Heated seats do not come on when using remote start. In car Bluetooth system works sometimes with cell phone. Never would have bought this truck if I had known about the terrible lighting. And certainly won't buy another one. Very disappointed!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

I am a GMC Believer

Reviewed by Bearhead
March 19, 2014

I am only three weeks into owning this 2014 Sierra 1500, SLE package, and am thrilled at its engine perfomance, styling, comfort, quietness, and handling. Having owned two Silverados prior to now, obviously I am a big fan of the big GM truck. But I beleive that the value engineering in the Sierra is better than Silverado, though the latter truck is no slouch either. I would not waste money on the SLT package though, the SLE has plenty of neat features and you can save some money . PS Thank God for the backup camera, it has already saved me once from disaster.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 GMC Sierra 1500 Truck Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.