newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Ford Focus Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Ford Focus

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Ford Focus!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.2/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.2/5
Performance:
4.2/5
Reliability:
4.2/5

32 of 40 (80%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

It's okay, but better cars available

Reviewed by SportyCars
September 11, 2014

I went shopping around at my local dealers hoping to get an inexpensive car that was preferably manual transmission. At the time, we already had 2 loans under 2 people, this would be our third (very difficult). 4 or so dealerships, i ended up at my local Ford dealership, but they sent us across the street to a partner shop. We had the option of a 2014 Ford Focus S Automatic or a 2014 Mitsubishi Mirage. In comparison to the ford, the mitsubishi just felt really cheap, the steering wheel included. Upon every touch, i felt like something would break by the slightest mishandling. Being someone that would've preferred a stick shift, i was disappointed that i wasn't give the option to get one.... Automatic cars are just too boring for me to drive, i like to have fun, and you may as well have fun with the vehicle your forking over a lot of money for. The armrest on this car is very uncomfortable, the fabric is more for style, rather than comfort. The fabric is on the seats and door armrests, everything else is plastic (bleh). The car seemed fine size wise during the test drive, but after owing it for almost 4 months, i beg to differ. When you have passengers, you have to weary about having your seat too far back. The rear windows are manual which is insane considering that we live in 2014, NOT THE 90's!!. This car really feels like Ford was trying to remove everything that comes standard on any other car that's in the $20,000 range. If i had any other choice, i would not go with this Ford. This was the first Ford ever owned in the family.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

ugh...

Reviewed by MSFAY
August 29, 2014

I ordered my 2014 Focus SE. It came in with 3 miles on it. Was exactly what I wanted, color, interior and had the dealer install a remote starter. After about a month the a/c started blowing hot... Brought it back to the dealer and they fixed it, said I had a leak, and replaced the compressor...2 days later same thing... blowing hot... brought it back again something about a relay switch being stuck... In the mean time it felt like the front wheels were spinning on ice, (in the 80 degree heat, there was no ice ) The transmission on this car was like driving a 5 speed and not knowing how. It's an automatic. I called the dealer and he told me, (they all do it). ugh... And there is nothing they could or would do about it. So with only 12.000 miles and 10 months with it I traded it in for a 2014 Corolla S. Holy cow what a difference! I love my Toyota!!! See ya Focus, good luck with your transmission.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car

Reviewed by Mary 1st new car
August 24, 2014

This car runs great and has style. Lots of extra's you can get. I am still getting use to all the buttons and how to program in my radio. It co es with a 6 month Siriusxm dont know if I will bother to use it or not. Instructions seem complicated.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
2/5

Wish Volkswagen back

Reviewed by Grma
August 18, 2014

Can't put a half way big cooler in trunk,nothing with any height to it--cup holders very poor sm. cups only,forget about lg.foam it won't come out w/o spilling --- place to put phone,nope,biggest mistake I have made ---1500 miles 32.7mpg

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Expecting Great Things

Reviewed by Focus Fan
August 15, 2014

My new 2014 Ford Focus sedan has a lot to live up to! It was with some reluctance than I traded in my previous car ... a 2004 Ford Focus sedan. 10 years I drove it and had not one major problem of any sort! The new Focus is just as classy-looking and very cool to drive. My favorite "new" feature is the telescoping/tilt steering wheel. At last I can get close enough for my short legs to reach the gas pedal without having the steering wheel cutting into my stomach ... always a plus! I look forward to the next 10 years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Ford Focus Hatchback Titanium

Reviewed by Sporty Car
August 12, 2014

The ride is smooth and comfortable. All of your buttons are within hands reach, which makes it very convenient. The design of the dash & interior is extremely nice. The sound system is great and the style of this car is sporty.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Bought American preferred a Corolla

Reviewed by ZahleSiege
August 05, 2014

Pros: It's an American Car. Better gas mileage than 2003 Focus Wagon though less than the Escort Wagon. The Hatchback SE has a decent cargo area. Again less than the old Focus wagon. I don't use all the Sync features but the phone Bluetooth is convenient. The car has a tongue weight of 200lbs and a tow rating of 2,000lbs. That's nice. I can now tow a pop-up camper. The ride is fine. Can't complain. Cons: There is reflective metal on the steering wheel that reflects sulight into the eyes. They should change that. The cup holders are smaller. The cockpit is narrower than the focus wagon. Make sure to do a test drive to judge this. The dashboard is deep and really soaks up the sun. They should change the color to reflect the sun better. The speedometer has markings only every 20MPH. Takes getting used to judging your speed and requiring you to take your eyes off the road more often. Why can't they just keep 25 -35 -45 -55 markings since those are the common speeds in the U.S.? The fan draws in engine heat instead of the outside normal air forcing you to use the A/C more often or leaving the window open increasing drag and reducing mileage. This was also a problem in the old focus. A little reengineering would really make a difference. I removed the head rests from the back seat to see out the rear window. The radio preset channel buttons are not made for touch. Hard to tell which one is which forcing you to take your eyes off the road.. The lights come on whenever you open any door and they stay on. I guess this is a safety feature, but would be nice to be able to disable. All in all it's a more dangerous car to drive as it has more distractions. I really wanted a Corolla but bought American. Hope the transmission lasts more than 100K like my previous 2003 Focus wagon. Not impressed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

In LOVE

Reviewed by Caitlin
August 04, 2014

This was my first new car purchase and I could not be happier so far. I only have about 1500 miles on my ford focus se, but I love it. I feel like I got an extraordinary value considering the price I paid and the quality. Not only is it very stylish vehicle, but it is very comfortable. I love the black cloth seats. They feel like they are much more durable then many other materials used in other cars. Also, the gas mileage is AMAZING. I typically drive on back roads-between 30-50 mph, but probably have driven about 400 miles on highway since my purchase. After calculating it out after each fill-up since I bought the car I have been averaging around 38mpg! Much higher then even the sticker indicated! Overall I recommend this car to anyone! I was originally looking at jetta s (with far less options, worse gas mileage and no alloy wheels for about the same price,) and the toyota corolla (reliable but not exciting/ stylish at all.) after test driving these I was not overly impressed with either, so my boyfriend suggested I look at the focus'. After one test drive I was obsessed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My Best Car Ever

Reviewed by MizLiz
July 29, 2014

Ever since the first Focus was sold in the USA in 2000, that's been my car. They fit me....who wants to get in a car whose seat is so low, you have to struggle to get out of it? Sitting in a Focus drivers seat is like sitting in a chair. I ordered a 2014 Titanium from the factory, so I could make sure it had everything I wanted...most everything was standard already, but I did get the moon roof. The backup camera is fantastic and saves me a lot of anxiety in tight parking lots. The SYNC system works very well, and even though I plugged in a USB with several Gigs of music, the car had it all indexed in no time. It's a joy to drive, really.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
2/5

Looks Good but Beware

Reviewed by DK
July 26, 2014

I own a 2014 Focus SE with the Appearance Package. It's a great looking car and has plenty of features. I love the Sync system, heated seats, leather, moonroof etc. Cons about the car: The seats are a bit stiff and not too supportive. The sound system is average and you'll need a subwoofer to feel any bass (if you're into that). The BIGGEST issue with this car is it's quirky automatic transmission. I had the transmission reprogrammed at 3,000 miles and the clutches replaced at 6,000. The car shudders, shakes and hesitates upon take off. In the past it has lunged forward, acted like it was going to stall out, and had a loss of power. Many people have complained about this yet Ford hasn't issued a recall. Avoid any of Ford's vehicles that are equipped with the PowerShift transmission. It's a complete headache and generally unsafe.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

2014 Ford Focus Sedan Comparison Reviews

2014 Ford Focus Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.