newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Ford Focus Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Ford Focus

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Ford Focus!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.2/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.1/5
Performance:
4.1/5
Reliability:
4.2/5

35 of 44 (79%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best economy car ever owned, looking to buy 2nd

Reviewed by Driver of all cars
October 13, 2014

Without a doubt, the best commuter car we've ever owned. Great gas mileage, very comfortable, and very economical. With regular 87 octane we get about 28 city in stop and go traffic, and about 34-35 on the highway depending upon speed. It's been such a great car, we've been contemplating buying a 2nd one. Pros: Great fuel economy. Comfortable right for commuting or distance driving. Amazing price.Safety. More cupholders than many SUVs. Nice interior. The interior was nicer than I anticipated. There is plastic, yes. But the ergonomic places where you touch are either leather or cloth so you don't notice. Cons: Microsoft SYNC (doesn't like iPhones and you have to start artist search all over once you start playing music), noisy transmission that bothers some people. High compression engine that runs better on E85. Now take head, I didn't say a BAD transmission, I said noisy. This isn't an old fashioned hydraulic tranny, it's a PowerShift that uses loud actuators to shift gears. In fact, it's a converted manual that has been automated. So as it shifts gears and starting out goes, you'll hear the clicking of the clutches (this has two) and the gears and they lock into place. I researched this before buying and expected it, but it's not as bad as some people make out. But if you're not expecting it, it may be worrisome. Don't worry though, it's normal. Just stay away from the 2012's since the 14's have better shifting software. The engine is also a high-compression 12:1. Running on higher octane E85 I get smoother starts and much better acceleration since the engine was meant for this. It will detune itself with regular 87 to prevent knocking so it's a bit slower then. Fuel economy though takes about a 4,5MPG hit with the E85. If you're into economy driving, stick with regular gas. But if you want the higher octane stuff for a more peppy drive, E85 is actually a better value compared to premium fuel. You just have to fill up more often. All in all, and very nice car that we've been very pleasantly surprised with. We've thought about buying a 2nd one, but will wait until 2015 when Ford is set to abandon Microsoft with switch over to BlackBerry QNX for the SYNC system.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Like it, but don't love it....

Reviewed by TShut
October 05, 2014

I drive 90 miles per day to work, so the best part by far and away is the gas mileage. I average 40 mpg nearly every tank. For a 4 cylinder, it is very zippy. The backseat is not comfortable for a long ride. It serves just fine as a commuter vehicle, but is far from my dream vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

NEW CAR A HIT

Reviewed by BUY AMERICAN BOY
September 27, 2014

PLENTY OF ZIP... AVG 34+ MPG ON F/W AT 75 MPH... GREAT ELECTRONICS... VERY GOOD FINISH, EASY TO KEEP CLEAN FORD MADE THE BUYING EXPERIENCE A PLEASURE... FOLLOW-UP FROM FORD HAS BEEN GREAT

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
2/5

Dont buy

Reviewed by Carli
September 17, 2014

This was my second car. At first it was the perfect car until it started jumping at take off. It sputtered and it worried me. I took it back to Ford so they could check it out, come to find out, all Ford Focus 2014 are having this issue and they cant do anything about it! Ford reprogrammed it and i was back up there within a month cause of the same problem happening again. Talked to a lady that worked at Ford, she recommended to trade and told me that she would never catch herself driving this car! I am in the process of trading my 2014 Ford Focus right now.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

It's okay, but better cars available

Reviewed by SportyCars
September 11, 2014

I went shopping around at my local dealers hoping to get an inexpensive car that was preferably manual transmission. At the time, we already had 2 loans under 2 people, this would be our third (very difficult). 4 or so dealerships, i ended up at my local Ford dealership, but they sent us across the street to a partner shop. We had the option of a 2014 Ford Focus S Automatic or a 2014 Mitsubishi Mirage. In comparison to the ford, the mitsubishi just felt really cheap, the steering wheel included. Upon every touch, i felt like something would break by the slightest mishandling. Being someone that would've preferred a stick shift, i was disappointed that i wasn't give the option to get one.... Automatic cars are just too boring for me to drive, i like to have fun, and you may as well have fun with the vehicle your forking over a lot of money for. The armrest on this car is very uncomfortable, the fabric is more for style, rather than comfort. The fabric is on the seats and door armrests, everything else is plastic (bleh). The car seemed fine size wise during the test drive, but after owing it for almost 4 months, i beg to differ. When you have passengers, you have to weary about having your seat too far back. The rear windows are manual which is insane considering that we live in 2014, NOT THE 90's!!. This car really feels like Ford was trying to remove everything that comes standard on any other car that's in the $20,000 range. If i had any other choice, i would not go with this Ford. This was the first Ford ever owned in the family.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

ugh...

Reviewed by MSFAY
August 29, 2014

I ordered my 2014 Focus SE. It came in with 3 miles on it. Was exactly what I wanted, color, interior and had the dealer install a remote starter. After about a month the a/c started blowing hot... Brought it back to the dealer and they fixed it, said I had a leak, and replaced the compressor...2 days later same thing... blowing hot... brought it back again something about a relay switch being stuck... In the mean time it felt like the front wheels were spinning on ice, (in the 80 degree heat, there was no ice ) The transmission on this car was like driving a 5 speed and not knowing how. It's an automatic. I called the dealer and he told me, (they all do it). ugh... And there is nothing they could or would do about it. So with only 12.000 miles and 10 months with it I traded it in for a 2014 Corolla S. Holy cow what a difference! I love my Toyota!!! See ya Focus, good luck with your transmission.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car

Reviewed by Mary 1st new car
August 24, 2014

This car runs great and has style. Lots of extra's you can get. I am still getting use to all the buttons and how to program in my radio. It co es with a 6 month Siriusxm dont know if I will bother to use it or not. Instructions seem complicated.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
2/5

Wish Volkswagen back

Reviewed by Grma
August 18, 2014

Can't put a half way big cooler in trunk,nothing with any height to it--cup holders very poor sm. cups only,forget about lg.foam it won't come out w/o spilling --- place to put phone,nope,biggest mistake I have made ---1500 miles 32.7mpg

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Expecting Great Things

Reviewed by Focus Fan
August 15, 2014

My new 2014 Ford Focus sedan has a lot to live up to! It was with some reluctance than I traded in my previous car ... a 2004 Ford Focus sedan. 10 years I drove it and had not one major problem of any sort! The new Focus is just as classy-looking and very cool to drive. My favorite "new" feature is the telescoping/tilt steering wheel. At last I can get close enough for my short legs to reach the gas pedal without having the steering wheel cutting into my stomach ... always a plus! I look forward to the next 10 years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Ford Focus Hatchback Titanium

Reviewed by Sporty Car
August 12, 2014

The ride is smooth and comfortable. All of your buttons are within hands reach, which makes it very convenient. The design of the dash & interior is extremely nice. The sound system is great and the style of this car is sporty.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Ford Focus Sedan Comparison Reviews

2014 Ford Focus Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.