newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Ford Focus Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Ford Focus

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Ford Focus!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.4/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.3/5
Performance:
4.3/5
Reliability:
4.2/5

29 of 34 (85%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Bought American preferred a Corolla

Reviewed by ZahleSiege
August 05, 2014

Pros: It's an American Car. Better gas mileage than 2003 Focus Wagon though less than the Escort Wagon. The Hatchback SE has a decent cargo area. Again less than the old Focus wagon. I don't use all the Sync features but the phone Bluetooth is convenient. The car has a tongue weight of 200lbs and a tow rating of 2,000lbs. That's nice. I can now tow a pop-up camper. The ride is fine. Can't complain. Cons: There is reflective metal on the steering wheel that reflects sulight into the eyes. They should change that. The cup holders are smaller. The cockpit is narrower than the focus wagon. Make sure to do a test drive to judge this. The dashboard is deep and really soaks up the sun. They should change the color to reflect the sun better. The speedometer has markings only every 20MPH. Takes getting used to judging your speed and requiring you to take your eyes off the road more often. Why can't they just keep 25 -35 -45 -55 markings since those are the common speeds in the U.S.? The fan draws in engine heat instead of the outside normal air forcing you to use the A/C more often or leaving the window open increasing drag and reducing mileage. This was also a problem in the old focus. A little reengineering would really make a difference. I removed the head rests from the back seat to see out the rear window. The radio preset channel buttons are not made for touch. Hard to tell which one is which forcing you to take your eyes off the road.. The lights come on whenever you open any door and they stay on. I guess this is a safety feature, but would be nice to be able to disable. All in all it's a more dangerous car to drive as it has more distractions. I really wanted a Corolla but bought American. Hope the transmission lasts more than 100K like my previous 2003 Focus wagon. Not impressed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

In LOVE

Reviewed by Caitlin
August 04, 2014

This was my first new car purchase and I could not be happier so far. I only have about 1500 miles on my ford focus se, but I love it. I feel like I got an extraordinary value considering the price I paid and the quality. Not only is it very stylish vehicle, but it is very comfortable. I love the black cloth seats. They feel like they are much more durable then many other materials used in other cars. Also, the gas mileage is AMAZING. I typically drive on back roads-between 30-50 mph, but probably have driven about 400 miles on highway since my purchase. After calculating it out after each fill-up since I bought the car I have been averaging around 38mpg! Much higher then even the sticker indicated! Overall I recommend this car to anyone! I was originally looking at jetta s (with far less options, worse gas mileage and no alloy wheels for about the same price,) and the toyota corolla (reliable but not exciting/ stylish at all.) after test driving these I was not overly impressed with either, so my boyfriend suggested I look at the focus'. After one test drive I was obsessed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My Best Car Ever

Reviewed by MizLiz
July 29, 2014

Ever since the first Focus was sold in the USA in 2000, that's been my car. They fit me....who wants to get in a car whose seat is so low, you have to struggle to get out of it? Sitting in a Focus drivers seat is like sitting in a chair. I ordered a 2014 Titanium from the factory, so I could make sure it had everything I wanted...most everything was standard already, but I did get the moon roof. The backup camera is fantastic and saves me a lot of anxiety in tight parking lots. The SYNC system works very well, and even though I plugged in a USB with several Gigs of music, the car had it all indexed in no time. It's a joy to drive, really.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
2/5

Looks Good but Beware

Reviewed by DK
July 26, 2014

I own a 2014 Focus SE with the Appearance Package. It's a great looking car and has plenty of features. I love the Sync system, heated seats, leather, moonroof etc. Cons about the car: The seats are a bit stiff and not too supportive. The sound system is average and you'll need a subwoofer to feel any bass (if you're into that). The BIGGEST issue with this car is it's quirky automatic transmission. I had the transmission reprogrammed at 3,000 miles and the clutches replaced at 6,000. The car shudders, shakes and hesitates upon take off. In the past it has lunged forward, acted like it was going to stall out, and had a loss of power. Many people have complained about this yet Ford hasn't issued a recall. Avoid any of Ford's vehicles that are equipped with the PowerShift transmission. It's a complete headache and generally unsafe.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
2/5

Not expected from brand new vehicle

Reviewed by champion
July 25, 2014

My car's electrics completely stopped in less than 30 days / under 300 miles. Faulty battery - something not expected from a brand new vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

new car

Reviewed by tank
July 23, 2014

great road trip car got 40.1 miles per gallon. easy to handle . great comfort can travel over 300 miles on a tank of gas great car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Hatchback, great car

Reviewed by Road Trippin
July 11, 2014

I just love my car. I traded in my 2008 focus for this new one and I couldn't be happier. The gas mileage is awesome and runs very smoothly. I have only owned it a few weeks and am taking a road trip in about a week and we'll see how it does then. Somethings have been switched around from the 2008, but I'm getting used to those changes. Seats are very comfortable and everything is easily accessible from the driver's seat.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Ford Focus

Reviewed by Focus Man
July 10, 2014

I have a 2014 Focus SE for about 6 weeks and the car handles, accelerates, breaks, steers very well and it has nice styling. Fuel mileage is great. Only minor issue is the car is a little jerky at low speed, probably transmission related. I wished there was a little more storage in the front for change, pens, etc. Otherwise good value and very happy.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

The most comfortable Car I've Owned

Reviewed by My Sterling Grey Focus
July 05, 2014

This car is all and more than I expected. I ask for a car with out the"Bell and Whistles" and I got a lot more. I bought this car with out even road testing it.I can hardly wait to go on a road trip.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most Cost Effective Car I've Owned

Reviewed by New Car Buyer
June 24, 2014

I bought this car at Finish Line Ford in Peoria, Illinois. My car salesman was Rick Kortemeier and he was fantastic to deal with; very charismatic and helpful. I have not bought a vehicle since 2004 and Rick made it less painful. Great car, great salesman.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Ford Focus Sedan Comparison Reviews

2014 Ford Focus Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.