cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2013 Ford Focus Reviews See 2014

More Details & Photos
New 2013 Ford Focus

Don't Overpay for Your 2013 Ford Focus!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

3.8/5

Value:
3.8/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.2/5
Comfort:
4.1/5
Performance:
3.8/5
Reliability:
3.8/5

48 of 70 (68%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Certified Lemon

Reviewed by Gabe
April 08, 2014

Like many of the reviewers on this site I, too, experienced a litany of transmission woes on this vehicle. I also experienced a short in the electrical system which fried the interior lighting and took 2 days to fix because, apparently, everything they tried caused the fuse to blow again. I can't really contribute anything new in terms of what happened to my vehicle. It's all be stated before: transmission shuttering, hesitation/stalling, grinding, vibration at idle, you name it. One thing I am not seeing, however, is folks being their own advocate and attempting to legitimately purge themselves of this vehicle. I bought my car in April '13 and after 22 service stops, a months long Better Business Bureau arbitration (facilitated by a lawyer), Ford was ordered by the BBB to buy the vehicle back and also provide me with a settlement. Thus, this car was officially a lemon. The unfortunate reality is that this problem seems to be apparent in '14 models as well so I would encourage anyone who has this vehicle to attempt to work through the BBB (working directly through Ford as others have said yields nothing... not even working with "Regional Customer Service Managers" and "Field Engineers") to purge it. If you are considering purchasing this vehicle allow me to emphatically state: DO NOT DO IT.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

More time in the shop than on the road

Reviewed by gg0528
March 03, 2014

Have 17k km on my 2013 Focus SE. The car has been in the shop on 6 different occasions (4 of them it had to be towed) since November 18, for a total of 43 days. Same problem every time - I guess they can't find a fix. Car will lose all power to the engine while driving and I will be unable to restart. This has happened multiple times while driving in traffic - very inconvenient and unsafe. I wouldn't recommend this car to my worst enemy. Extremely unreliable, to the point where I worry about taking it further than 20-30km from home.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome car

Reviewed by Fun driving
February 14, 2014

I made the switch from a 2002 Toyota Camry XLE to a 2013 Performance Blue Ford Focus Titanium a year ago, and I am so happy I did. Every time I get into the car it puts a smile on my face. It is very fun to drive and gets great gas mileage. If I keep it around 65 mph on fairly level roads, I get about 45 miles to the gallon. I love the Sync system and haven't experienced too many issues with it. It is so much fun to just click a button and say "Play Song Radioactive" and then have that song come blaring through the speakers. The lighting in the car is magical especially driving it at night. I love the ease of putting gas in the car - no keys or levers to push, no gas caps to mess with - just open the door, put the pump in, when its done filling up, take the gas pump out and shut the door and you are on your way again. Overall, Ford has won me over - count me a very satisfied customer.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

3 Replacement Ford in a year - Unacceptable!

Reviewed by Victoria
February 10, 2014

I am now on my 3rd Ford Focus in a year (well, the first one was a Fiesta that kept shutting off on the highway at 70 miles/hour - like hitting a brick wall). The service and dealership have been great, but the cars are AWFUL! There have been so many issues with each vehicle that the dealership replaces them at no cost to me. I currently own a new 2013 Focus that has been in the shop once already (within the 3-week period I have owned it) for computer malfunction. It again malfunctioned this weekend and is going back into the shop today. This was my first Ford vehicle(s) and will definitely be the last. If I could leave it on the roadside I would. Unfortunately, I'm now stuck with a very poor performance and completely unreliable vehicle. Shame on Ford!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
1/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Worst vehicle ever

Reviewed by Jessica
February 07, 2014

I purchased a 2013 Ford Focus 9 months ago. After having it less than one month the transmission started acting up. I have had it in the service departments several times over this issue. Ford is refusing to do anything about it and so is the dealership. My next step is through the Better Business Bureau. The car hesitates when taking off then takes off. Then it makes an awful shutter noise when switching between first and second gear. I remind you, I have had the car for only 9 months. It has had two clutches put in it and a wheel barring replaced. I encourage everyone to stay away from this car. Nobody will do anything about it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

transmission problems

Reviewed by emonkey
January 28, 2014

I bought this focus brand new off the lot and notice that it hesitates when I take off. Also it makes noises when shifting between 1st and 2nd gear. Ford really needs to fix this problem or acknowledge it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

2012 Focus SEL

Reviewed by Coastaleddie
January 28, 2014

The 2012 Focus SEL with "Sync" has all the bells and whistles needed for the modern commuter. You can sync your smart phone to the car, answer and call hands free with voice command. Very comfortable and easy to drive , once you get used to the way the transmission shifts. The ride is smooth and quiet with plenty of power for freeway driving.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Transmission issues

Reviewed by A
January 21, 2014

I purchased a 2013 Focus that has hesitation on take off. While trying to increase speed the car hesitates and jerks as if trying to shift gears when it in fact is an automatic. I was told by a local ford service dept that Ford put a standard transmission in these cars to get better gas mileage and the only way to fix it is to put an automatic transmission in them. Maybe with enough complaints to ford manufacturer they will fix the cars. Ford claims to be #1 in customer satisfaction, they need to pick it up.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
1/5

2013 Ford Focus Electrical system

Reviewed by Buzz
January 11, 2014

THIS IS A WARNING TO ALL HAM RADIO OPERATORS: DO NOT ATTEMPT TO OPERATE A HAM RADIO THROUGH THE IGNITION SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. IT WILL FRY THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM! I AM $800.00 WISER!!!!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
1/5

Most unreliable car ever

Reviewed by Disgruntled Mom
January 10, 2014

I purchased a Ford Focus 2013 Hatchback because I am a single parent and drive about 150 miles a day to and from work everyday and the SUV I had was kiling me in gas. I first noticed the hesitation on take off when I test drove it but was assured that this was normal with the new technology the computer had to adjust to my driving style and it would go away quickly. It did not go away and after driving it for a while I took it is to the shop they said the computer just needed to be reset. They told me yet again it would take a few days for the car to readjust to my driving. Then my check engine light came on and they changed the O2 Sensor. Shortly after the shaking got worse and it started making a weird roaring noise when I aceelerated past 20 I took it back in. This time they made me drive with the manager because theywanted to know exactly what I was hearing. It took a whole two seconds for him to hear it and the replaced my Rear carrier barring and right front Wheel bearing. Picked it up made it two miles and heard a noise under the front end when turning sharply to the left. SO I took the vehicle back to the shop. They had my vehicle for a full week and called to tell me they could not duplicate the noise. I explained to my service advisor all he had to do was go to an empty parking lot turn the wheel all the way and try to move. He did this himself and heard the noise the mechanic could not find. What happened is the mechanic who put the bearing in uses a coat hanger to hold something in place while changing it, he neglected to remove the hanger. One week later called back to dealer for hesitation and shaking on take off I was informed I had to go on a test drive with the mechanic to duplicate the complaint. Mind you every time I am taking off work to do this stuff because they do not work around your hours you work around theirs. I drove him around and he could feel what I was talking and told me that they have a protocol that they follow when we bring the vehicles in for this. There are so many issues they do one thing at a time and hope it works. This time they replaced both clutches in the car. Which brings us to right now. I took my car into the shop for the roaring noise that I had previously took it in for and after 8 days they told me they replaced my right half axle and carrier bearing and it was fixed. I picked it up 2 days ago. Drove a short distance and realized the noise was still there. I also noticed as I went over the speed bumps into my complex that there is something rubbing under the car as I go over the speed bumps. I returned to the dealer within 30 minutes of leaving. I was informed I needed to drive the car and bring it back in when I can come drive with yet another manager. I refused and told them it is not rocket science and anyone who has ears can hear this on their own. So they gave me yet another rental.( that my extended warranty is paying for). They said the Manager would take it himself the following day and let me know what they can find. Two days later I get a call they have fixed the problem yet again and it was noise in both Front wheel bearing and they replaced both. I picked up my car last night and will be taking it back to the shop today to drive with the manager again because the rubbing noise that did not exist till they started working on the vehicle is still there. Every time I go home and go over the speed bumps it is there and it is not normal. This is the worst experience I could have ever imagined having with a new vehicle and I am stuck with this lemon.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.