newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Ford Focus ST Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Ford Focus ST

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Ford Focus ST!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.4/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
3.9/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.3/5

9 of 9 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

Fun on the cheap

Reviewed by Earl
August 10, 2014

Just bought a 2014 FoST in White. Base model. Could not stand the Recaro seats. To begin with, I was wary of the Ford Sync because there are just so many negative reviews about it. But once you figure it out it's not so bad. Plus the phone calls through Sync/Bluetooth are so crystal clear compared to other cars I've had. Using voice commands to dial the phone while driving is really nice. The base model has everything I need. Bluetooth, hands-free calling, steering wheel controls, cruise, AC, power windows, and you never have to pull the keys out of your pocket. Performance wise, well... you have to drive one to know but let's just say that it is fast and it handles like a dream on those massive 18 inch summer tires. Lots of oversteer and doesn't take much of a turn on the wheel to get it where you want to go. As with any FWD with 270 lbs/ft of torque, there is the infamous torque steer. And believe me it is there. Even at highway speed if you stomp it, the steering wheel will fight you. Hold on for dear life. If you drive like an old lady the car will return MPGs similar to other small cars. And even with aggressive driving it is one of the few cars out there that won't break the bank. According to the manual it will operate on 87 octane but I use the recommended 91. A cap-less gas tank. Weird. The thing that bothers me most about the car is little details like the folding back seats. When folded they are not flat and are not even with the back of the car. And the hatch needs to be slammed shut or the door ajar warning goes off.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most bang for the Buck

Reviewed by Bratwurst
March 07, 2014

Great car, 2014 is second model year for the ST, i always avoid the first. Wife and I debated about a Mini Cooper S, GTI, and couldn't agree - so we settled on the ST, and what a great car. Best value for a 5 door hatch. Runs on regular 87 octane gas. Such a pull when accelerating from 2000-5000 RPM puts a smile on your face every time. MPG has been improving as I put more miles on, but even "heavily spirited" driving can achieve over 20mpg which cannot be said for other turbo/high HP cars. Spend the extra dough for the ST3 trim with full leather heated Recaro seats, Navi, HID headlights. Also beware in the snowbelt, we purchased a set of winter wheels/tires 17" (for brake clearance.) The stock Eagle F1 are undriveable in winter, no joke. Cannot believe this much car is available for $25k brand new! We will enjoy many many miles with this car, and insurance isnt that bad either.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Makes you smile everytime you drive it

Reviewed by car enthusiast
January 27, 2014

After reading multiple reviews myself, I made the decision to purchase this car. I couldn't be happier. The features are endless and a sign of the craftsmanship that Ford has put into this car. The car is truly amazing in its responsiveness in handling and great stopping power. It accelerates hard enough to make you giggle like a kid again. To this point, I have only found two minor issues that I would change. I have found myself wishing there was a way to have the speed displayed digitally on the in-dash display. Additionally, I have found that all season tires (or a separate winter set) are nearly essential. At any rate, the car is excellent! I would suggest it to anyone on the fence about whether they feel its right or not.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Worth the Wait!

Reviewed by Charley
January 11, 2014

I looked around and searched for a long time to find a car that delivered good performance and mileage while seating 5 and having very good value for the money. This car does all of the above and is just very fun to drive. I am averaging 27 miles per gallon and I have only owned it for a few months. It should get better as the car breaks in. I am a car guy and this car was worth the wait for me. I will be adding modifications as it gets older but I plan to own this car for at least three years. I will hopefully get a chance to do a review later.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

First Ford

Reviewed by the black Obi Wan
December 26, 2013

I'm liking this so far. This is my first American car ever, I came over from a 2006 mazda RX-8 and the Ford Focus ST feels great. I love the body and look of the center exhaust. Cant wait to hop back in a drive some more.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best All Around Hot Hatch

Reviewed by Chief
November 19, 2013

Recaro seats are awesome but not for everyone. The German 6-speed manual transmission is smooth and easy to use. The Sony 10 speaker system sounds amazing. If you're looking for a hot hatchback for a daily driver this is the car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good car overall,the site is wrong on some things

Reviewed by MeSomething
November 09, 2013

The car is a blast to drive but it doesn't have the self park gimmick nor the backup camera or the lane warnings etc... those stop at the Automatic Titianium model. Overall is is quite good and better initial quality than I expected when compared to Nissan. Ford does need to fix the motor mount issue on these cars... if they did it at the factory it would be cheap... but they still put regular motor mounts in this car with a beast of an engine.... they need to give their heads a shake... so many are now doing a TSB or replacing with 3rd party motor mounts to prevent it from slamming into the firewall on hard acceleration Other than that issue which is not too big of a deal unless you are a racer or spin the wheels alot on loose surfaces... the only thing that would make the car better is an AWD option and a slightly bigger trunk... some say gas tank too.. but this is a North American Car... how often are you not going to see a gas station within a couple hundred KM?

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

FOCUS S/T

Reviewed by still kicken
November 06, 2013

So far so good.Ive' only had the car for a couple of weeks.I very much like the performance, the design and the overall capabilities of the S/T. It is a smaller vehicle than My Journey,but that is exactly what I wanted.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Fast and light car

Reviewed by HeavyDD
October 07, 2013

This car is amazing for the price. I was debating between this and a Mazdaspeed3. The ST can use regular cheap unleaded or you can put in higher octane fuel and gain some HP. I average 28 mpg using 87-octane fuel with a mixture of city and highest driving. One can achieve 34 mpg by granny-shifting at 1900 rpm every time and staying off of the turbo, which is very hard to do because the car is so much more fun to drive in a more performance-based style.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Ford Focus ST Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.