newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 Ford Explorer Reviews See 2016 Model

New 2017 Ford Explorer

Average Overall Rating:

4.7/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.7/5
Reliability:
4.7/5

108 of 114 (94%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Stumbling out of the gate.

Reviewed by 17explore
October 10, 2017

Once determined the Ford F-150 would not fit in my garage, I turned to the Explorer to have that "higher up" big car feel. The car is loaded with technology which may be a bad thing. Within 2 days of purchase the cars touchscreen was acting up and jumping all over the place. Two visits to the dealership to fix, the touchscreen was replaced and knock on wood no issues since. This experience is like having a horse stumble out of the gate during the Kentucky derby..... Will it recover? Time will tell. The car has good acceleration and many safety features. Inside is comfortable with plenty of room for family or as I did, put the third row down and place a cargo liner in it to mimic a small pickup. Time will tell if this car will last my normal 12-14 years that I keep them. After that stumble out of the gate, the car right now is graded a "B"

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great Car

Reviewed by Skypilot
October 09, 2017

This Explorer rides great and the handles great also. The first 800 miles was on the winding hills of S. Indiana. The vehicle preformed very well. The steering is noticeably easy especially at low speeds. Used to be a GM man until I lost money on the Government buyout of General Motors. This car helps that change. Had one minor problem with the moon roof that was fixed under warranty. Could always be less expensive....

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Ended up buying one

Reviewed by Random Anonymous Blackmail
October 08, 2017

We were looking for a vehicle to replace our Ford Expedition, as we really didn't need a full sized 3rd row any more, but still needed the 2nd row bucket seats. Having one for a rental for a week on vacation, I liked the vehicle but the rental had the base 2.3L turbo charged engine at 280HP. Well there was noting wrong with that aside for it constantly having to kick down and even though it was a 4 cylinder, the MPG ratings are not much different across the model line. After putting this against the Durango, and the now smaller Acadia, we purchased the Explorer Sport (@365 HP), being model end year we paid less than the Durango and Acadia with similar options. Power is smooth, I am refraining from getting on it since we are still in the break in period. Cabin is well laid out, buttons are intuitive, driver position is confident and comfortable without feeling like you are on the top of the vehicle risking falling out of the window on a sweeping curve. There are a ton of options and safety features, Ford really has paid attention to the consumers wants and how they functionally use vehicles. I can't give an accurate reliability rating, as I only have 120 miles on it, but Ford the mainstream 3/36K and 60/60K warranty. I can see some spots where the exterior shape could look better, but the updated front fascia and grille makes it look like an actual SUV instead for the previous years where the front end looked like a glorified mini van. We were intending on buying a black one but when my wife saw the ruby red metallic with the black trim of the sport model.. guess which one we got. And I can't argue, it looks sharp.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

My 2nd Explorer

Reviewed by Jen T
October 07, 2017

Great, safe, big SUV for the money. I love it. The new one is awesome with the upgrades from my previous Explorer.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great car

Reviewed by AOkos
October 05, 2017

Great car very nice interior and exterior. Lots of features, comfy. Wish it had more power. I bought the 6 cylinder with tow class 3 tow package

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Very nice looking but not so powerful

Reviewed by AOkos
October 05, 2017

Its overall a great car. Sharp exterior, comfy interior, lots of features. Some interior items are a bit cheap and flimsy but overall nice interior. The 6 cylinder struggles a bit when pulling out but once you get up to speed it is ok

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

A great upgraded SUV

Reviewed by RobD
October 04, 2017

This 2017 is an excellent new family vehicle. Seats 7 and the interior desgin is incredible. The room makes seating for all 7 seats comfortable for adults and the handling is superior. You will not find a better car for the price.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best performance vehicle I've owned.

Reviewed by BronzeFord
October 02, 2017

This SUV meets all of my family's needs, lots of room, comfortable, temperature controls and vents in the back, USB ports, looks great, and feels safe!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Very comfortable & reliable vehicles

Reviewed by CassSUV
October 01, 2017

This vehicle is very nice, plenty of room. Love the fact it is a 7 seat. Very nice interior & exterior.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

All the bells & whistles

Reviewed by Cookie Baker
October 01, 2017

Great features, including extra leg room from my husband, dual climate controls, heated & cooler seats, Bluetooth connections, hands free 3rd row seats & lift gate, side warnings, air bags in the 2nd row seats!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Ford Explorer SUV Comparison Reviews