newcars.com®

New 2016 Ford Explorer Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Ford Explorer

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Ford Explorer!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.1/5

Value:
4.0/5
Exterior:
4.2/5
Interior:
4.0/5
Comfort:
4.2/5
Performance:
4.1/5
Reliability:
4.1/5

10 of 12 (83%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Rear Liftgate Piston Failure

Reviewed by Pretty Happy, Except...
May 19, 2016

Bought my 2016 Explorer in Oct/15 and absolutely love the vehicle- BUT, the passenger side piston on the rear liftgate failed last week. I keep "popping" it back on the pin which is attached to the liftgate itself, but the clip on the piston is broken and it will not stay. Where I use this vehicle for business, the rear liftgate is utilized several times per day, leaving me with quite an inconvenience. The liftgate is very heavy to hold up. The pistons are on national backorder, which tells me that this is not an isolated problem.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Explorer that cold be awesome.

Reviewed by Chris S
April 28, 2016

Just picked up a factory ordered 2016 Explorer Limited AWD I ended up adding a bunch of stuff I wanted, truck came in 5 1/2 weeks as I ordered. Driving it for about a week I can tell this is truck drives very nice. It has a commending presence on the road, feels big. At the end of the day this could be one of the best SUV's out there but it needs some retuning for sure. My ford touch SYNC - I have no issues with it after a few days you'll get used to it but it is a bit slow to response and some things you must touch twice to get it to work. Seats- man they are comfortable on the road but if they just made them an 1" bigger all the way around they would be awesome. Other than that I like this SUV sure beats the ride of all the "Japs" out there.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome family hauler

Reviewed by Keldon
February 09, 2016

We leased a loaded XLT AWD last month after an exhaustive search which included other 3 row front runners like the Highlander, Acadia, Pilot and Durango. The Explorer just offered much more for a similar price. Plus it rode the best. I expected the Highlander to trounce it in ride quality but was dead wrong...Toyota tightened the suspension too much on it and while it seemed more nimble than the Explorer, it was definitely harsher over bumps and road imperfections. The others simply felt cheap compared to the Explorer and Highlander. Clunky feeling door handles, doors rattled when closed, poor fitting interior pieces, and overall just felt way less refined. The 2016 Explorer blew me away bc my wife and i drove either a '14 or '15 a year ago and were underwhelmed. Ford addressed all of the issues the previous car had...suspension, steering, seats, door seals, wind noise, clunky-closing doors, and HVAC controls are just a few things that are MUCH improved. I've read other reviews that criticized the seat comfort but all i can say is take an extended test drive in one with the leather seats (preferably overnight) and you'll discover they are truly some of the most comfy seats ever. Other awesome features/options the Explorer has over the Highlander include Ford's incredible remote start (this thing works through lead walls i swear at over 300 ft away!), front and rear sonar, hands-free pwr liftgate, front and rear cameras with washers, cool as heck LED lighting front and rear, dual headrest DVD players, individual tire pressure monitoring, configurable LCD gauges, and more. And speaking of LED lights, Ford's new LED headlights with the LED fog light option are THE BEST and BRIGHTEST headlights i've ever had on a car, even the HIDs i've had on BMWs can't compare. In summary, this is the best-looking, most comfortable, best riding, most feature-laden, technologically advanced SUV i've ever owned. Do yourself a favor and test drive one before buying any of its competitors, you'll be as impressed as i am.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

The Explorer gets better and better...

Reviewed by Ford ya2113976
February 05, 2016

I went inside it, and I loved it, its so comfy, nice interior design, nice looks, this is a really nice SUV!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Does what it was designed to do

Reviewed by Skiier1
February 04, 2016

Full disclosure: I rented a 2016 Explorer a few weeks ago. I didn't want one but the choice was between the Explorer or a Dodge Ram. After sitting in Ram for 10 seconds I told the rental agency to give me the Explorer. I wasn't expecting much, I was wrong. First, I've owned a lot of SUV's. I was dismissive of the current Explorer because it lacked a V8 option and had limited towing capacity. I own a large V8 powered SUV today. I've been looking casually to get a new one but was looking at things like the Grand Cherokee. But the Explorer kind of blew me away - not all at once but over a couple days. What impressed me wasn't any one thing, in fact this car probably doesn't do any one thing better than other cars in its class. What struck me is that it does so many things so well. So what do I mean by that. Comfort. My rental was the mid level XLT but the interior was very nicely trimmed with what feel like high quality materials. The leather on the seats seems very durable. The seats themselves were very comfortable. Drive: this car as an uncanny sense of straight ahead. It just rolled down the freeway and felt amazingly stable. I'm not sure why, it just was 'easy', one of those cars you could sit down in and drive 800 miles in a day. One concern was that I thought it would be hard to see out of, but that didn't seem to be a problem. The car I drove had both front and rear (camera) sensors so parking was easy. I do think the rear camera is needed, front sensors - not so much. Power: The V6 was more powerful than I expected. No it doesn't have the torque of my big V8 but it never seemed to struggle too much. I wouldn't put a big ski boat behind it (unless I was somewhere fairly flat like the Midwest) but it could tow a couple thousand pounds easily. Usability: Interior design is great. The third seat disappears out of the way (something that irritates me no end on my current SUV) and don't take up cargo space. Back seat is roomy. At the end of my rental I hated to see it go, that unusual for me. Most cars I rent are either very forgettable or just OK. I walked away realizing that Ford knows this market. The knocks I see on it are things that really aren't important to the vast majority of people buying these cars. For example I used to require off road capability, yet my current SUV has been offroad for perhaps 50 miles out of 100,000, of that I didn't do anything the Explorer could not have done (Forest roads). Will I buy one? Well I wouldn't have even considered one until a few weeks ago, now I'd really give it serious thought. The only problem I see with the Explorer is you've got to be prudent on that option list, it can bloat the price into the luxury ute range if you're not careful.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great

Reviewed by kenny
December 19, 2015

Thank you, Scott christensen, and Don morris Wendle,the dealership is great. all the why around. thanks you guys.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
1/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

unsatisfactory

Reviewed by Ready for a new ride
December 18, 2015

I've tried several times to use this site with no avail. I've never gotten anyone to contact me with an accurate price on the vehicle I am interested in and with all the emails you send, I would think you would have the staff to follow up better than you have with me. I will certainly unsubscribe to your email immediately and I'm sure my review will not make it on your site. Thank you!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

humananananana

Reviewed by person1
December 08, 2015

my mother has a car like this, I HAVE A ROUGE and a Jetta both new and i'm jealous of my mom and her car. Even my dad who owns a Mazda cx 5 is a bit jealous trust me you get BANG for your BUCK with ford1

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excellent all round performance, and comfort.

Reviewed by Explore
November 09, 2015

I have owned four Ford Explorers. I purchased my new Explorer , because of the service and comfort of the ones I previously owned. I like the technology available in this vehicle, which include many safety features. The dealership offers excellent services. The sales lady was very accommodating and friendly. She also demonstrated how to operate the technology. I would rate Ford Explorer with five stars.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

V8 HP with a V6

Reviewed by Off Roader
August 18, 2015

I just bought the 2016 Ford Explorer Sport with the Ecoboost V6. This thing really moves. It has 365 hp, and while it's no race car, I bet it could take down the heavy Dodge Durango with the 5.7 V8 HEMI. The Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT 8 is way faster than both, but with much less room, and with a major vibration while at idle that I found extremely distracting when test driving two SRT's. Also, the SRT is VERY expensive for what it is. The Dodge Durango is set to be discontinued, most likely after the 2016 edition. Given that it wasn't ever exactly a legend, expect resale values of Durangos to be more adversely effected by time than the resale values of the Ford Explorer, which is not going anywhere anytime soon.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Ford Explorer SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.