newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Ford Escape Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Ford Escape

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Ford Escape!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.1/5
Exterior:
4.5/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.3/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

56 of 68 (82%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Escape Titanium

Reviewed by Rex
June 20, 2014

Bought the AWD Titanium with 1.6 engine. (Traded a 2006 Escape hybrid). The new Escape is a peppy small SUV with a great ride. Nice bells and whistles. Plenty of pep, and if you don't lead-foot it you can hit 30 mpg on the highway. Nice safety features with back up and side mirror warnings.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great and Fun SUV

Reviewed by MaverickIII
June 17, 2014

I have the AWD SE with the 1.6L Eco Boost engine and love to drive it, I look for somewhere to go just for the fun of it. Any one complaining about gas mileage needs to learn to drive or slow down near the speed limit. It is very comfortable and quiet with so many fun gadgets to play with. I love the back up camera and all the other toys. Mine also has leather, and the convenience group and the power lift gate. The engine give you plenty of power when you need it but if you don't take your foot out of it MPG will suffer, you can't get both from any vehicle. I got 29 MPG on my first highway trip, and get about 24 combined driving. Love it and would recommend it to anyone.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
1/5

Escape Disapointment

Reviewed by Piggy Nicky
June 13, 2014

Incredible power with the 2 Liter Ecoboost. Numerous electrical problems and now the Engine fault light keeps coming on and the car has no power and shakes intermittently. The Dealer is unable to fix it after 4 attempts. Less than 18,000 miles and I need to rent a car every time I go on a business trip. Do not but any car with a gimmicky name such as ecoboost. Buy a quality normally inspirated automobile for reliability, Do not buy

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great in the snow with good MPGs

Reviewed by Northrocc
June 08, 2014

Compared Rav 4, CRV, and Outback. This little SUV had the best acceleration, handling, and equipment for the money. I got the 2L AWD Titanium model. Living in Alaska I love the fact that I don't have to reach into my pocket to unlock or use the push button start. Got over 2 feet of unexpected snow a few months ago. I was a little concerned and didn't see a lot of other smaller SUVs on the road, only a few full sized ones, and some of them were stuck. This thing tracked up the side of the mountain like a goat. Great car for places with snow. Absolutely love it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love it

Reviewed by Love my car
June 05, 2014

Love it . So quiet, the ride is great, I am 6.2 I feel comfortable lots of room, so many great features

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

So far, a pleasant surprise

Reviewed by Man from Appleton
June 05, 2014

Wasn't sure that I'd like the Escape before I test-drove it, but fell in love with the handling and ergonomics and tech. Also wasn't sure that it could handle much towing, but so far (with a 4x6 trailer carrying a riding mower), it's been fine. The MPGs suffer a bit while doing that, but it's still a welcome change from the 8-cylinder Explorer SportTrac I drove for seven years. I've only put 1300 miles on the vehicle, but the handling is great, the acceleration is more than adequate, the comfort of driving and riding is far better than I thought. As of today, I'm getting around 21-22 MPG in city, 30-31 on highway when I'm not towing. The dealer (Stumpf Ford) made the transaction fast and clean. All in all, I'm pleased.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

love mine

Reviewed by becky
June 04, 2014

Its fun and good on gas spacious everyhing convenient to use. Easy to learn lots ofinterior space. Grand kids and huband love it too

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Thrilled Customer

Reviewed by ERIN
May 31, 2014

Go see Shane- He was polite and knowledgeable about the the car. It was very nice and felt very little pressure on the sale. It was worth the drive.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best vehicle I've owned

Reviewed by Nessa
May 19, 2014

Enjoying the backup camera and the ability to down load my Iphone to make and receive calls. Sal the sales man was awesome, he really took the time out and made sure that I was pleased with the service and the car itself.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

a comment after 3500 miles

Reviewed by oldcomp
May 19, 2014

Yesterday I made a 300 mile trip on Interstate 10 in Florida with my 2014 Escape. Between the hard ride and the terrible road noise, it was not a pleasant trip. The noise is so loud it is impossible to carry on a conversation without shouting . The gas mileage averaged 29 mpg, which is the only good thing I can say. This is the first new car I have purchased in 40 years and also the worst waste of money. The car now has 3500 miles on it. If it wasn't for the $6000 loss I would unload it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

2014 Ford Escape SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.