cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Ford Escape Reviews See 2013

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Ford Escape

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Ford Escape!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.0/5
Exterior:
4.5/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.2/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

42 of 52 (80%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
2/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

this is the worst car , from Ford ever !

Reviewed by NHRA charter member
April 15, 2014

I have had 54 Fords in my life time ,, I thought the worst was a 1960 falcon ,, They advertised it as 34 miles to gallon ,, I have yet to get 20 MPH I got the all wheel drive , SLE ,Whe i bought it I drove it home and the oddmeter show ed over a Thousand miles , They got it on a dealer trade ,,and what I wanted I did not Get ,, as it is under powered with a 1.6 litter engine ,that's 98 Cu.In.It has two black Tail Pipes ,, Puffs so much black Smoke that i have been Stopped by Police ,, When going down the road and following another car it shifts constantly ,,Like 40 time in 15 miles ,,I have a Dauhter that lives in Columbus which has always been about a 100 miles but in this car it shows 140 miles ,, on the same trip i always had Gas when i returned home ,, This one will have the Light come on about half way home saying low Fuel ,, It has a 15 gallon tank ,, It will take 12 gallons to fill it at that time .,, I put it up tp 80 on interstate and it sounded like , I had a Helecopter flying over me ,, The controlls are hard to read while driving ,, The console is so wide my leg rubs it and so I put a cushion there to protect my Leg ,, I have had two total Knees on right side ,, Then it haas a GPS , the sales man could not get it set and my one son thinks he is a Computer Expert and he could not even get it to get home ,, we were in the Garage and it still said there is no such address ,,,, So much for that 900 dollars wasted ,, Next it has a stick your fot under it and tail gate goes up !!,,We have cats , so when ever I get in it I check as the First week we had it it was up and we scrapped paint off the Tail Gate ,, After working for Ford for over 40 Years ,, I wish I could have driven it more than a half mile ,, They tell me it's the way i drive ,, I have did dealer Trades for years and always get good Mileage ,,, I still have a 2005 which I get about 25 mile per Gallon and it is a V-6 , but only 2 Wheel drive

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Ford Escape 1.6 Ecoboost AWD-My first Ford

Reviewed by reluctantyouth
April 14, 2014

I can assure that I do not work for Ford and that I cannot believe some of the negative reviews that people have put on here. I live in Illinois and we just came out of the worst winters on record...heck it's April 14th, 2014 and we are getting light snow tonight! This CUV is very comfortable, has great visibility, handled like a champ through the snow, is quiet, peppy, and attractive. I have 5400 miles on it and picked up my Escape in October 2013. I just got the first oil change and tire rotation. The gas mileage is not on par by any means. To experiment I have driven like an aggressive Chicago driver and I have driven like a little old lady. In both scenarios the gas mileage was the same as in town I'm getting between 21 and 23. On the highway I get between 23 and 27. There is the occasional drive where I'll hit 28-29 but that's after being on the road for an hour-hour and a half. Some people are just too dang picky when it comes to storage and cup holders...my god people lay off the Starbucks and expensive water. There is enough storage to go around and I find the glove box serves its purpose. I'm 6 feet tall and weigh 315 lbs...I'm very comfortable in this CUV. This is my daily driver. I have hauled full size rugs, bikes, and even a full size (boxed) elliptical from Costco in this thing with ease. Do your homework and you will find that the RAV4 and CRV do not even come close. The only CUV that scored higher than this was the CX5. I hate Mazda with a passion and have had bud luck with two Protoges in the past so Mazda was not an option for me. I wanted tech, reliability, ease of ownership, a car built in America, and ease in finding replacement parts if ever needed. I have a 100k bumper to bumper warranty on my Escape and plan on having it for many years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Escape #2

Reviewed by packfan
April 08, 2014

I have a 2014 SE. This is my 2nd Escape, first was 2007 that I still have. I spend about half my time doing city driving and half highway and after 2500+ miles I'm averaging 25-27 mpg. About half of my drive to work is rough elevated highways and I can defintely tell a difference in the 2007 and 2014 with the 2014 being much smoother and quieter. So far I've only had minor hiccups with Sync, occasionally it won't show the correct song title when I am using it with my iPhone but unplugging fixes the issue. I do wish that the panoramic roof opened all the way back over all the seats like they do in the Edges though. I've always been a Ford fan and so far I've gotten what I expected out of the 2014 Escape

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
1/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

terrible

Reviewed by terrible
April 02, 2014

I have owned several escapes worst model yet. I loved the pre 2013 models. uncomfortable seats I have 14k miles on my 2014 escape hate it can you say Prius. Note to Ford fire all engineers who changed the old model or better yet make them drive the new 2014 escape that would be punishment enough.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Ford Escape Titanium

Reviewed by MB Owner
April 01, 2014

Nippy, fun to drive, comfortable, quite and well built. It's a small SUV/crossover but spacious inside. Great car for city use. Dashboard takes a but of getting use to so does the the right drivers leg room but its really all OK. My only complaint is you can see the reflection of the chromed air vent controls in the side mirrors which is annoying by design. One tends to look pass this while actually using the mirrors to drive though.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

2014 Ford Escape review after 1800 miles

Reviewed by oldcomp
March 30, 2014

Gas mileage not near as estimated Handles very easy and good pick-up On all but smooth asphalt roads noise level is very high. Very rough riding except on very smooth roads, the worst riding car I have owned in over 60 years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

wish i hadn't bought

Reviewed by Country folk
March 24, 2014

I LOVE my 2007 Escape which we kept. The new 2014 however.. 1) rides so rough that I really don't enjoy riding in it. 2)The controls are difficult to manipulate, 3) The console compartment is not well designed, 4) It's awkward to have to look under the steering wheel to place the key in the ignition, 5) and the drivers seat belt is close to impossible to snap due to it's tight positioning. Truly, my husband was the one that wanted this car but his complaints are the same. I wish so much that we wouldn't have bought this Escape. Hind sight's 20/20.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
4/5

Gas mileage is awful

Reviewed by Mrfuel
March 23, 2014

Traded from a 2010 escape to a 2014. Quiet is the 1st thing I noticed. You feel like your in a cockpit with the new model. Ride is smoother. No storage in cabin, lack of cup holders. Sync has its days. Glove box is to far away.Rear storage is smaller. The gas mileage has been absolutely awful, It ranges from 20-22 mpg every tank. rated 22+. I figure it cost about $50.00 month more than my 2010 to run. most of my miles are freeway, I have tried every brand of gas and the results stay the same. When purchasing a new car, remember to add the cost of additional gas into the price.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good so far

Reviewed by Stan
March 22, 2014

A little less space overall than the rav4. Good performance and handling. I like the titanium package . But it should have the cargo cover included in the package for security. With 2000 miles on it, the jury is still out on the posted gas mileage- at this point somewhat less. Navigation is great as well as the radio. The ride is comfortable for both short and long distance. The quality of materials is comparible with the competition.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

AOK

Reviewed by Michael B
March 19, 2014

Comfortable, Stylish. Interior cabin well appointed. I have the Titanium version which is tech loaded. One disappointment is lack of conventional sun roof. Available one is large and too expensive an option. Handles well and good gas mileage.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.