newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Ford Edge Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Ford Edge

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Ford Edge!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

3.8/5

Value:
3.8/5
Exterior:
4.2/5
Interior:
4.0/5
Comfort:
4.3/5
Performance:
4.3/5
Reliability:
4.1/5

9 of 13 (69%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

A Fantastic Car!!!

Reviewed by mojokorn
September 10, 2014

Overview: I've only had my 2014 Ford Edge for two weeks and really really like it! It has plenty of power and a smooth ride that rivals the Lexus 330 - that I had as a loaner car about 2 years ago. All at $15k less than the cost of the luxury SUVs. A great ride and a great value for sure. Two things are "must-haves" for me in a car... Leather Seats and a Big Engine. The Ford option packages allowed me to get them both without having to upgrade to a Limited packages - in turn saving about $10k compared to other SUVs in this class. Interior: The leather trim, roomy interior and touch screen console are fantastic. There are a lot of reviews saying the that the touch sense buttons are hard to use, but they are pretty easy to get used to - takes about a week to tune into the touch beeps instead of looking at the dash for confirmation. Exterior/Styling: I love the way this car looks. It has more class and styling that other SUVs which tend to be to either rounded or too boxy. The ultra wide stance, shortened front end and rear wheel placement on this car are down right cool. I know this comes down to personal taste, but the styling is what made me look at this car in the first place. The Consumer Reports reliability rating (Very Good) sealed the deal for me. The only bummer is the plastic chrome wheel covers - I much prefer the look of true alloy wheels. Of course after-market alloy wheels are always an option. Handling: As noted this beast has plenty of power with a 285 HP engine and it rides silky smooth on the highway. Some reviews note that it doesn't handle well in the turns, but basic physics will tell you that no SUV handles well in turns. If that's important to you, then you should be looking at sports cars instead of SUVs. The truth is that it handles very well in turns - just not as well as a sports car. One small thing to note is that the steering on the Front Wheel Drive version does pull and get a little squirlly when punching the accelerator. I'd bet the All Wheel Drive version doesn't do that. Reliability: Consumer Reports is the gold standard for reliability ratings and gave this car a 77 (Very Good) as compared to an 83 (Very Good) for the Toyota mid size SUVs and crossovers. Same same in my opinion - and $10k less. Nit-picky Stuff: As you can tell, I love this SUV. A few things that would be nice upgrades... - Self-latching rear hatch. My previous car had this and it always ensured that the rear hatch was completely closed. It is possible on the Edge to half close the hatch, so you have to give it a tug to ensure that it closed. - Door handles are on the inner part of the door. Putting them farther out would allow more torque when pulling them closed. Hence it takes a little more effort to close the doors. This is compensated with spring point that closes the door once pulled in a little. So in the end not too bad. - The back floor wheel cover could be a little heavier gauge material. They likely made it lighter for easy access to the spare tire, but there's probably a better sweet spot for this. If you're looking for a midsized SUV, the Ford Edge is worth a test drive and serious consideration.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

My new Ford Edge

Reviewed by Dick
August 26, 2014

The Edge neatly fills my need, as an older person, for simplicity and design features in a multi-purpose vehicle. Instrument panel visible, easy access, About 18 MPG around town, great climate control, Very comfortable seats and space front and back. Many very important safety features. Well planned opportunity to test drive vehicle and have personal tutorial about how all features operate. There were 2 personal follow-up calls from dealer rep to make sure things were OK. Many positive comments re color and appearance. Look forward to testlng it out in winter driving.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Quaility Car

Reviewed by suv enthusiast
August 17, 2014

The Ford Edge is a quality SUV, it drives and handles very well. It also gives you a comfortable ride without the road noise that most SUV's have. The downside is gas mileage, on the road it won't get the 27 mpg that is on the rating. Overall the Edge is a great vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Ford Edge SEL

Reviewed by G-Muny
August 16, 2014

Well, I'm new to owning this car, but I love it! The voice activated navigation, entertainment (iPod) and phone link will take a little getting used to, but I knew that going in. I would highly suggest the back-up camera with the large screen display, the windows in the back are swept up for style, and can make seeing everything you need to see while backing up, very difficult. Something else I knew going in. I did not want one with a moon-roof, because the head-liner seemed loose and likely to be a problem later. Other than that...I love my new car 100%!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Slick Auto

Reviewed by BobT..
August 08, 2014

I have 1500 miles on my 2014 Edge SEL. Drove NY to MD.. Very comfortable, plenty of shoulder room and head room once inside auto. Excellent performance. plenty of pep with the 285 hp. Can only imagine what the 305hp engine would be like. Body styling is personal. I personally Love it, the lines are slick and beautiful, to me. Interior is large and comfortable, rear seating is very roomy, plenty of leg room and head room is consistent with front seating. Value, hey this is a 40K+ auto. It has a lot of slick options. That's all I can say about that. Again, it's personal. This car has performed flawlessly for the time I have driven it. I see no reason for it to change. One more thing. Buy or lease your next Ford from Park Ford, Rt. 6 Mahopac, NY. My salesman was Rich, a real nice man.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

New 2014 Seates

Reviewed by Dinah
July 09, 2014

We bought a new 2014 Edge......The front seats are the most uncomfortable seats in a car that I have ever sat in!! The seat part is way too short and hard, my legs go to sleep after approx. 10 mins in the car. The back of the driver and passenger seat is overstuffed and hard! The lumbar support is like a hard ball in the center of your back. Turning off the support does not help either, as your back sinks into a rock hard seat.... I now have a brand new Ford Edge with 500 miles sitting in my garage, it will sit there, as it is not returnable, until enough is paid on it to make it affordable to trade!! I can not recommend this vehicle to anyone......My husband drives a ford truck and believe it or not the seats in his truck are very comfortable, amazing that a truck is more comfortable than an SUV. Very disgruntled customer who will continue to try to enlighten everyone about the vehicle!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I love the Ford edge

Reviewed by diamondlindi
June 06, 2014

This is my second Edge. I love this SUV !!! comfortable, reliable, great gas mileage for a SUV....wouldn't buy anything else!!! Thanks Ford!!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
2/5

Dont get it

Reviewed by Muhamed Ibrahim
May 10, 2014

My ford edge killed me with frequent services and MPG. First the stereo stopped working, then after a while the engine started to make sound and turned out to be broken pistons although i was not pushing it so much, just driving it to work and that it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I Bought A Second One

Reviewed by Miss Sparkles
May 08, 2014

This is my second Ford Edge because my fist one was totaled with me and my husband in it. We were so amazed at all the safety features and how minimal our injuries were that we bought the second one. We drive our Edge with total confidence. The technology is awesome.l keep my eyes on the road and tell the computer to call my husband or change the temperature. I never get lost because of the navigation system. The seats are very comfortable and I'm able to take road trips with out having an aching back. I love it!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

HERE GOES

Reviewed by JOHN BOY
April 15, 2014

ONLY DRIVEN 1000 MILES. SEATS VERY COMFORTABLE, RIDE IS EXTREMELY QUIET. SURPRISED BY THE QUIETNESS-LITTLE ROAD NOISE. HOWEVER, THE MPG IS REALLY BAD!!! I HAVE THE V6 SO EXPECTED BETTER ECONOMY. I DRIVE MY OTHER CAR-HYUNDAI- A LOT MORE THAN THE EDGE BECAUSE OF THE POOR MPG.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Ford Edge SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.