newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Ford C-Max Hybrid Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Ford C-Max Hybrid

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Ford C-Max Hybrid!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.2/5
Exterior:
4.2/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.2/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.3/5

9 of 10 (90%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

The Best Car I've ever Owned

Reviewed by Green Machine
November 07, 2014

I've had hybrid cars for 9 years now and this is the best I've ever owned. The car is getting close to 50mpg and I have power and performance that I never had with any other hybrid. Ford, you did a terrific job with this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Couldn't be Happier

Reviewed by Ken S
November 05, 2014

I'm over 50 yrs and have owned/driven well over 20 vehicles. I live in the city and spend a great deal of time in freeway traffic jams when visiting clients. With the C-Max I get less frustrated with traffic jams., they've become EV coasting and cruising sessions. And at a dead stop in traffic, I smile to myself... it's not costing me a dime in wasted fuel. Comfort, Efficiency & Technology. Enough Cargo space for most routine needs and more space when needed by lowering the rear seats. I visit my cabin regularly, it's 200 miles one way. While there I'll go into town or to the river a few trips., each trip about 50 miles round trip. It amazes me that I can visit the cabin, make 4 trips to town or river and then drive back home on less than a full tank of fuel (roughly 10 gallons). Roughly $40 for the whole excursion, whereas previous and other vehicles were costing me about $200. Whats more, I travel to the cabin with two dogs a Chihuahua and a German Shepard. They own the back seat, have plenty of room and enjoy it more than other vehicles, except perhaps the RV. The Shepard is usually nervous in vehicles, but she doesn't in the C-Max. She jumps eagerly into the C-Max, where I have to chase her down and carry her into others. The Ride Quality and Roominess are no doubt the reason for it. The Sync technology is coming along and improving with each update. The Nav System is of higher quality than I've had in other make vehicles. The Premium Sound is a plus too. The Technologies Sync together rather nicely. The Voice Command feature actually works. The only complaint I have is that the Voice System Lady talks too much. Do I really need to hear a disclaimer every time I set a route? That and a few idiosyncrasies to figure out. After a few trips and I'm cool with it. MPGs - I get an average of 48 of those. I've found that if you drive the C-Max wise and conservatively, it delivers MPG dividends. Think ahead, coast more, gently ride the brakes during longer distant stopping. Try to accelerate within the EV range before it needs to use gas. I've also found that the cruise control isn't the most efficient method either. It seems to prefer using gas to maintain higher cruising speeds. In which case, I tap the down speed button a couple times to force the cruise into EV mode. In cruise mode, I've notice that the cruise at high speeds >55mph will use gas and EV in tandem when the battery is at or above half. That will allow it to cruise at say 70mph at 40mpg. The C-Max 2.0 engine has plenty of power to get two adults, two dogs (one being a Shepard), ice chest and cargo up and over 6,000-8,000ft mountains with several thousand feet of gain at each climb. By using the terrain to my advantage, the Trip average MPG to/from the cabin is 50-52mpg. In the countryside, I travel at 30-35mph when traveling up and down mountains and the C-Max can do most of it in EV at that speed. The C-Max gives me Mini-SUV capability with a great ride and hybrid efficiency. What's not to like?

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Outstanding Vehicle

Reviewed by John
September 04, 2014

I have been looking for a Hybrid SUV with good miles per gallon and a reason able price. This had even more than expected. It was very comfortable to drive and handled well. Surprisingly the C Max also had great acceleration. Ford has delivered all that I wanted in this type of car and more.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Edgy, Economical, and Efficient Ford C-Max

Reviewed by Mom's Max
August 18, 2014

I love my Ford C-Max. It has the looks both outside and inside, as well as the comfort and room to compete with the more luxurious cross-overs and vans. It is spacious but still maintains the clean lines of a smaller vehicle. While l was looking for a new vehicle, fuel economy and m.p.g were very important to me--as well as the comfort and space of a hatchback. I was not interested in all the extras. I discovered durable fabric seats and it was more spacious inside than many other vehicles. I was pleased with the ventilation and breeze sitting higher up and I didn't miss the leather or moon roof. I love the hatchback and the seats that move all the way down for more storage and versatility. The looks of this Ford can't be beat. This includes the special diamond paint, grill, lights, mats--and it's just the right size. We can ride in comfort and in style. I am happy to be saving gas with very good gas mileage--and better than what the sticker label states! Most sincerely, Mary Pirch

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Great Gas Mileage and Ride

Reviewed by sgsooners
August 11, 2014

The C-Max seems much bigger than it appears. I was driving a minivan and the C-Max is quite roomy for its size. The gas mileage is wonderful and the pick-up is suberb.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2013 Ford C-max SEL Hybrid

Reviewed by dr burke
April 05, 2014

I reiterate what others have said. It's a great car. Really great milage and there is the hang up. They all complain of lower fuel milage, than advertised. BUT, they don't add in the milage on battery, the EV milage. Sure it gets 40+ miles per gallon, but you have to add on the EV milage. MPG+EV+MPGe My last trip I got 53mpg+EV=60+MPGe I use the C-saw method of driving my hybrid. I cruise at 55mph and when I see the eTank half way fuel ( use the gas gauge half war mark ) then I back off 2 miles with the cruise control neg level. This will kick in the EV batteries to run on electric. When the EV is exhausted and the engine kicks back in, I + increase my speed by two miles per hour. And then repeat the cycle. The only thing I don't like is the seal on the rear lift door, it doesn't do a good job of keeping snow out. But, hey, this is the best car I have ever owned and I get by on less than $50 per month for gas. dr burke

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I am a fan

Reviewed by drive 36000 miles a year trialing dogs
January 20, 2014

I have had my C-Max SEL a month and a half an logged over 7000 miles. Drove to FL and back from Wi using 66 gal of gas. I have some back issues and the seat was very good- no pain. Operating the tailgate with your foot is very handy when hauling a full load to the car. My husband and I travel with 3 dogs. You can never have too much space but this works for dogs, cages, gear and suitcases. The navigation and sync are awesome. I love this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

It's a good car, but ?

Reviewed by C max beleiver
November 10, 2013

The short and sweet Mileage: We live in South Central PA, our daily commute to work is 45 miles one way, 2 lane roads with gentle rolling hills, and 1 mountain (2200 Ft elevation). We have no problems averaging 41 to 42 MPG on this trip, we do try to get fuel mileage but don’t try to hyper mile. At 20,000 miles, our life time average for this vehicle is 40.2 MPG. I did a fair amount of research on this vehicle and only really expected maybe 38 MPG, so I’m happy. Interior: We have an SEL, it’s nice and is comfortable. But, lacks storage space. No real features behind the front seats. I like the upright seating and is one of the main reasons I bought this vehicle. HVAC works great, Sound system is pretty good . Performance: Hey it’s a 2 liter compact mini van! But it runs good, has enough power to pass, drives nice, ride is good and is quiet. Take a test drive. Quality: At 20,000 miles, we have not had any issues with this vehicle. Overall we’re quite happy with our purchase and would buy another, If you’re interested in a C Max and are bothered by some of the negativity, use some common sense. I had over 20 vehicles in my life, none of them got the advertised fuel economy. I am not a FORD fan, this is my first new FORD. Go to your local dealer and test drive one.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Nice car so far. only had for 3 weeks

Reviewed by gene
November 08, 2013

Fuel mileage not as advertised but not bad. Front seats are comfortable. Back seats a little hard for adults. Over all nice car.I am satisfied with my purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Back to the Drawing Board Ford

Reviewed by Fan of Ford
October 29, 2013

Pros: Sync is great, drives better than the Prius & fits popular jogging strollers in the back Cons: Stated fuel economy is a flat out lie which makes the value nonexistent Bought this car for my wife since my family has been religious Ford owners for 3 generations. Wife was expecting to drive a lot opting out of our Lincoln MKX for the C-Max. Too bad you can only expect to get the 47 mpg combined if you drove downhill for the rest of your life. Ford actually sent all C-Max owners a $500 refund for their mpg lie. We couldn't even stretch the mileage to 40 mpg driving like a total moving hazard (i.e. not accelerating like one safely should, and braking weeks in advance to regen the battery). Not to mention, I own a 1972 GMC Suburban 4X4 on 37" tires that has a tighter turning radius than our C-Max (seriously, no joke!) Also, the vertical space inside makes for a roomier feel than the Prius but don't expect to have space in the back seat for anything below your knees if the driver or passengers are at least 6 feet tall. I will only buy Ford trucks like I have so religiously done in the past. Ford trucks are great, but the C-Max is a hasty attempt at the Prius market. Back to the drawing board Ford.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

2014 Ford C-Max Hybrid Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.