cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2013 Dodge Journey Reviews See 2014

More Details & Photos
New 2013 Dodge Journey

Don't Overpay for Your 2013 Dodge Journey!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.4/5

Value:
4.5/5
Exterior:
4.5/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.2/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

30 of 33 (90%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Leaky Car

Reviewed by Concerned Consumer
February 08, 2014

My father bought a new 2013 Dodge Journey in July 2013. In November the car had it first leak. Lot of water ran through the ceiling and down the sides of the interior and collect inside the hatch. At least an inch or more of water was settled in the back end mixing with the wiring and sensors of the car. The service department tore the car apart 3 times to fix the leak. Now the back end of the hatch has scratched parts inside and the headliner replaced 3 times has dirty hand prints all over. Chrysler has not been helpful to my parents who are older and this issue has been stressful to them to say the least. It took a representative about a month to come look at the car and he said it was fixable and doesn't want to replace the vehicle. In extreme cases as this, Chysler/Dodge should quickly take care of the problem and replace the car. Until Chrysler takes care of this matter, I have nothing nice to say.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

The right car for us....

Reviewed by YellowDuck
January 27, 2014

We wanted something with decent luggage space, AWD, some towing capacity, and preferably with occasional-use 3rd row seating. We weren't really considering Dodge because of the poor interiors in past models, but then we drove a Fiat Freemont (same car as the Journey) in Italy and were impressed. We were also cross-shopping the Nissan Pathfinder but ultimately got put off by all of the reports of issues with the CVT. I see the Dodge Journey as kind of a poor-man's XC-70. Our Journey is loaded and we just love all of the features - keyless entry, remote start, automatic lights, automatic dual zone climate control, rearview camera, satellite radio, nav, rear DVD - just every gizmo imaginable and easy to use through the 8.4" screen with UConnect. Heated leather seats (and steering wheel!) are nice and the car is very quiet. Too bad they can't replicate Nissan's massive sunroof - the one in the Journey is a bit small. All optioned up this car after discounts was in the $36k range (Canada, before tax) so that is not cheap, but you sure get a lot for that money. We only have 1000 km on it so far so reliability is an unknown, but it sure is doing well getting us through this very snowy winter. Perfect car for us! Only real complaint is that the fancy optional "pearl white" paint is not well colour-matched - the plastic bumper covers are very noticeably darker than the rest of the car. Doesn't bother me much but some folks might be annoyed by that. Order a different colour if you are fussy about such things.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Couldn't be happier with Dodge vehicles

Reviewed by Happy Grandma
November 15, 2013

This is my 3rd Dodge vehicle and I have loved them all. Had a 2008 Dodge Caliber but needed more room for the grandkids so I got a Journey and am thrilled. Just wish it had heated seats like my Caliber. Cold winter Minnesota months!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
2/5

loser of a car

Reviewed by Journeyloser
October 25, 2013

This car is not what i expected in a new car. It's been in the shop 8 times with transmission problems. Found out it had issues before it was even sold to me. Don't get me wrong, the car looks great and drives really good,but it has less the 7000 miles on it and in the shop 8 times?. Come on Chrysler step up and replace this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I love that this is my Second Journey

Reviewed by Lady Di
October 01, 2013

I have always enjoyed driving a car like the Journey that has met my needs. I owned a 2009 Journey and recently purchased a 2013. It performs so well and is just the right size and love the design.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Good car

Reviewed by James
September 21, 2013

24000 miles good car drives good after an x wife and hitting a deer car has taken a beating. The car runs great uses no oil and will get 26 miles per gallon. Car has no slack in steering, brakes work great! Minor repairs!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

QUIETEST SUV I'VE EVER DRIVEN

Reviewed by BETTER THAN MY CRV
September 17, 2013

HAD A HONDA CRV, ACTUALLY HAD 2 OF THEM, AND LOVED THE CAR BUT THEY WERE NOISEY. THEY RODE DECENT, BUT WERE JUST A LITTLE CHEAP AND FLIMSY. SO I BOUGHT A NEW DODGE JOURNEY LUX AWD V6. YOU CAN ACTUALLY WHISPER TO SOMEONE AT 60 MPH AND THEY CAN HEAR YOU. THE DOOR PANELS ARE NICE QUALITY AND THE SEAT LEATHER IS NICE. LOVE THE INFORMATION CENTER THIS IS TOP NOTCH. ONLY COMPLAINTS ARE NEED THE FRONT OF THE BUCKETS TO HAVE AN INDIVIDUAL HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT. THE BRAKES HAD TO BE REPLACED AT 50K AND THE ALTERNATOR WENT OUT AT 51K BUT THEY DID A 50-50 WITH ME ON THAT AND I WAS "OK" WITH THAT. I GET ABOUT 25 HIGHWAY AND ABOUT 21 COMBINED. HAD A BUICK RAINER THAT GOT ONLY 16 SO I'M HAPPY, HAPPY, HAPPY. I HAVE BEEN A CAR SALESMAN FOR 34 YEARS( MOSTLY TOYOTA AND HONDA) SO I KNOW CARS AND THIS IS A NICE RIDE FOR THE MONEY.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
5/5

Nice car

Reviewed by Joe
August 16, 2013

I traded my Buick Lucerne on this car this week, and I love it so far. This is saying something, because Buick builds a nice car, and I liked mine a lot. I just needed more room, and the Journey gives that to me in spades. I bought the base-model and it is a great-looking, nice riding and handling car, and I couldn't beat the price after Chrysler incentives. Yea, the 4-cylinder engine is a bit doggy and loud under heavy acceleration, but I appreciate the slightly better gas mileage. I love driving it, as it handles tightly and of course you sit higher in a cross-over. So far, I am very pleased with my purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
3/5

my review of the 2013 dodge journey

Reviewed by cadillac jack
August 06, 2013

very fuel ecomomic luxury family suv smooth ride I get 30 mpg highway my first dodge inteoier is luxurious the price is cheap for a luxury suv the only problem is 2.4 l has sorry performance

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great buy, this car has everything!

Reviewed by Padres Carpool
July 17, 2013

We wanted something with leather trim, 3rd row, navigation, sun roof, backup cam, rear seat TV, and reclining back seats. the Journey RT is the only 7 passenger suv in the market that comes fully loaded for under 30K. My wife loves not having to fumble through her purse to find the keys! Just a quick tug on the handle to open, push start and you're off

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.