newcars.com®

New 2017 Chevrolet Volt Reviews

New 2017 Chevrolet Volt

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.9/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.7/5

17 of 18 (94%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

No More Fuel Cost

Reviewed by Zak Y
April 17, 2017

Remarkably civilized and pleasant to drive, plenty of gee-whiz for my inner tech nerd, charges overnight painlessly. Lots of get-up and scoot if I ever need it. I LOVE not buying gasoline. :D The interior is snug, but I like it that way; feels like my wife's Camaro SS. My only quibble is the left foot dead pedal is a little too high, but I've gotten used to it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Chevy Volt LT

Reviewed by TomK
April 03, 2017

Bought after leasing a 1st generation Volt. The first one was good, but this one is a HUGE improvement. More leg room (I'm 6'1" and fit just fine), more power, an electric range of 54 miles, better gas mileage at 42mpg. The cabin ventilation is much improved as well. The radio has awful speakers, I changed them to component speakers with separate tweeters and woofers. Now the stereo sounds MUCH better than the Gen 1 Bose in my leased car. So the actual radio is good, but the original speakers are garbage. I also added an auto dimming mirror with Homelink. An easy modification...

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Big Guy in a Little EV-Car

Reviewed by BIGGUYLILEVCAR
April 03, 2017

I love the car, I had to down size due to extra travel demands related to my job. I'm surprised at the comfort of the vehicle and its road handling. Love the styling, its and Hybrid that fits in with the other small sedans.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

My Volt

Reviewed by pa2174
April 02, 2017

I have owned my Volt for 7 months and I absolutely love this car. The car is solid and very quiet. In warm weather I exceed the claimed battery range.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best Daily Driver

Reviewed by AKwong
March 24, 2017

Coming from a Mercedes E320 (2001) and Audi A4 (2014), I can confidently say that the quality of the Volt is better in almost every aspect than any car you'll find in the same price range (after gov't & state rebates). The ride quality is what most surprises me. Having no engine and only one gear, accelerating and idling (lots of that in San Francisco) are smoother than any car with an internal combustion engine. Coupled with the fact that I'm getting an average of 300mpg and the Volt has become the best car I've ever owned. I knocked one star for performance because of how much power is used driving at modest highway speeds. The estimated 53 miles of electric range becomes just 35-40 miles when cruising at 70mph. On the other hand, I can consistently get over 60 miles of electric range when carefully driving locally or in traffic. Wish I had this car when I lived in LA!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best Car I have owned in 35yrs

Reviewed by CarstP
March 21, 2017

The Volt is flawless. Compared to my 2008 Malibu the Volt pays me back 50% - 90% in fuel savings every time I drive it, with amazing power, pick up and fun to drive. The hatch back provides lots of cargo space. In 12mths driven 48,000k in allweather & terrain across North America

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Chevy Volt, in a class of its own.

Reviewed by ficrn
March 15, 2017

I have been researching and wanting an electric car for some time. Being a big Tesla fan I was planning on waiting and buying a Tesla 3 in 5 to 7 years. Recently, I had another deeper look at the 2017 Chevy Volt. Originally I wanted to get an all electric car to make a clean break away from internal combustion engines. Tesla is the only one with a charger system that makes it relatively easy to travel greater distances so I shied away from the new Chevy Bolt. As they say, the Volt has the battery when you want it and the engine when you need it. In our situation, my wife who mainly uses the car, has a commute of about 53 km to and from work. It is more down hill to work so she has about 30 km of electric range left when she gets home. She can plug in the 240v charger we had installed and have it filled back up again in less than 4 hours. If we have to make a second trip into town that day and do not have time to get a full charge, the gas engine kicks in on the way home. This way there is no range anxiety and after driving the car for a month and 1600 km we still have half a tank of gas left from our first fill up. That is with taking it out for a short 150 km trip up a mountain pass to see how it would handle that. Hill climbing really eats up the battery power fast and I only got 46 km from the usual 85 km range before the engine kicked in. That's the beauty of the Volt though: no worries! It is also in a class of its own because it has about double the range of most other plug in hybrid or extended range electric vehicles. A big role in our decision was that, in my opinion, it looks a lot better than most other electric cars, other than a Tesla. The whole design inside and out I find quite beautiful. Having avoided American cars for many years now, I am really impressed with the workmanship and quality of the Volt. One can see that there was a lot of thought put into the lines and creases of the exterior body. The inside looks very functional and even though there are a lot of buttons, they are quite intuitive and nicely laid out. The Volt is very aerodynamic and sporty so it is not easy to climb into like an SUV. I would prefer to have the roof a little higher with bigger side windows, but I can live with that because it is so great in every other way. That brings us to the driving. This is my first electric car so I cannot compare it to other electric cars, but it is wonderful to drive; smooth, quiet, great handling around the corners and very responsive with plenty of instant power. The Volt can be driven completely electric until its battery runs down to a level when the engine starts up. Then the car runs like a hybrid. The transitions between battery and engine are only noticeable if you are really paying attention or watching the energy flow screen. The same great power is available without any difference, whether using electric or engine. The regenerative braking is a real spoiler and fun to use. When I drive our other vehicle now, I find it really annoying that I have to use the brakes all the time. I can't imagine that we will ever have to change the brake pads on the Volt with the way we are driving it. The Volt is a quiet car while driving and I was a little worried that the mandatory noise that electric cars have to make now while driving slow speeds would annoy me. So far I cannot really tell what this extra noise sounds like and is therefore unnoticeable while driving. I still have to get around to trying to hear what it sounds like from the outside when the Volt drives by at about 50 km h. I think it is a bit of an electric whine. For someone who is looking for an electric car without the range anxiety, this is a great car to consider. In about 7 years, regular electric cars could have a range of 1000 km and the fast charger system could be almost as convenient as gas stations are today. Until then, we would like an electric car for 95% of our driving and have the ability to drive anywhere a gas powered car can the rest of the time. I think the Volt can do that for us during the interim.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best Car in every way

Reviewed by Edward
December 12, 2016

handles better than my Porsche. 1300 miles and have used only 2 gallons of fuel. Usually get about 70 miles per charge due to the built-in power recovery technology.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Impressive and Extremely Refined

Reviewed by Electric Car Enthusiast
September 23, 2016

I bought a 2017 Volt 2 weeks ago. The car has exceeded my expectations and has lived up to every positive review I had read on the car before buying. It is packed full of great technology and the adaptive cruise control is awesome. Bargain hard for a deal and the car is very affordable.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

This 2017 is my second Volt and WOW, it is sweet

Reviewed by bluesguy
September 20, 2016

I now have over 1000 miles on my new 2017 Volt and Love it. It is such a difference from my 2013 it is amazing. All the bells and whistles and redone compared to the 2013. There isn't enough time to do all the details but, improved collision detection (flashes up on the windshield). Lane correction, rear view camera has guiding lines as well as warning on oncoming cars. The stereo is amazing, the GPS is much nicer than before. There is no spare, but you can buy one optionally if that is your thing. But with 24hr roadside protection you are still covered. They come with Michelins, enough said. It rides nicer, feels bigger inside and out, and with 55 miles and a diamond lane plate, i get to work faster and with no gas. With the Federal rebate it makes the $$ comparable to similar sized vehicles that use gas - arg. I wouldn't drive anything else. Good job GM!!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Chevrolet Volt Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews