newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Chevrolet Volt Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Chevrolet Volt

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Chevrolet Volt!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.4/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.4/5
Interior:
4.1/5
Comfort:
4.2/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

21 of 23 (91%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

New favorite

Reviewed by Nate
June 23, 2014

It's a steal. Take the price, subtract the HUGE rebates ($10,000 in my state), subtract the fuel savings over the expected lifetime of the car, and it pays for itself. But it is n't just economical - it's FUN! I mean crazy fun! With a/c cranking and three people in the Volt, it rockets away from a stop to about 40mph. The technology is fabulous (as in, "I need to write fable about it") and it handles all kinds of things automatically, yet logically. I didn't like its appearance when I saw it online, but go see one in person, especially red. It's sporty and gets looks. Why would anyone buy a hybrid when this is available? They THINK the Volt costs more (no) and that it only gets 37 mpg (no, that is after 40 electric miles that cost 1/4 the gas miles). Most days I drive less than 4o miles and use no gas at all.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best car ever

Reviewed by Volt fan
June 13, 2014

Have had for one month. 900 miles so far and I've only used 1.5 gallons of gas. Total mpg is 504 so far. In town mpg is over 8,000. Whisper quiet and smooth. HIGHLY recommend this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
2/5

owen

Reviewed by gm
June 07, 2014

lot of problem, not conforable in rear seat, hit a pot hole your head go though the roof, not fast enough in with the battery go dead fast, , can not go far with the battery in the car since the a/c on and four people in the car. getting the car repair, local machine shop do not know how to work on these cars, gm dealer rip you off for thousand of dollars.and keep the cars in the dealer shop for weeks at a time. the car is just junk. do not buy this car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

I'm shocked.

Reviewed by jasbeagle
June 01, 2014

I'm 62 and retired years ago. Up until now I had a Buick Rendezvous and a little Saturn. I still have them both but let my daughter and her husband use the Saturn. I thought it was time to get a new car as the Buick is 11 years old. It drinks gas and just driving here and there with it cost me a lot. I test drove the Volt and fell in love with this vehicle. I purchased it May 19th and I'm still learning how to use all the functions. It drives and handles so well it's hard not to love it. After about 2 weeks now of driving this I am getting a 240 charger for the garage to speed up the charge time. This is the best car I've ever purchased for my needs. I've only heard the engine start up because the engine hadn't been started in so long the car asked if it could start it for 10min. I pressed ok and it started and i could hardly hear it. I had to get out of the car to listen to it. I'm really very happy that I purchased this car and would recommend this car to anyone. You won't be sorry.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

The gas savings pay for the car - $5500 so far

Reviewed by CA Dude
May 08, 2014

I just crossed the 40,000 odometer reading on my Volt. With my average mpg being 84, I’ve saved approximately $5500 in gas over my previous 24 mpg Lexus . Said differently, at this rate, the Volt's gas savings alone will have paid for the car in 5 years. Add this to the HOV Lane sticker and great reliability, and I have to say this is the best car I've owned (and its the first American car I've had).

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Vin53805

Reviewed by Corvette owner
May 07, 2014

I have been looking at this car for 4 years . We moved 32 miles from my wife's job, so we now needed a commuter car. The 38 EV range always concerned me I wanted at least 50 EV. We purchased a 2014 Volt. I got 51 EV miles going to Costco and back. I drive a Corvette, so I am not considered a conservative driver. My wife is getting closer to 58 EV miles. On my drive of 56 miles roundtrip 51 were EV miles or 90%. We have put 185 miles on the car in 3 days, and our EV miles are at 97%. My wife is able to charge at work, after the drive of 32 miles home still had a 25 EV range when she got home. The cars ability to recapture energy on braking, and down hill is pretty amazing. My wife said the other morning a Tahoe and Camaro RS both passed her on the way to work, and she was right beside them at the light, before they got to work. This is a great car, and has gotten a bad rap. The salesman said he filled the tank with gas, folks I didn't buy the car to use gas. I have a Corvette for that, and it burns gas and rubber very well! LOL

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
1/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

havnt got it but want it .

Reviewed by tour truck driver
April 19, 2014

I do not own the volt but very interested in purchasing one i do wish to get rid of gas cars i own to move into future tech. As a mechanic i am all for technology of tomorrow , and wish to promote these products as i do travel across america and canada now on country music tours that i do drive for in my job . I am looking forward to trading in my 2011 dodge journey , which is a great car but want tomorrows car . Thank you GM .OF WITCH I DO OWN A 1957 CHEVY BELAIR 2DR HARDTOP . so i love My GM cars ..

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best Ive Car Ever Owned

Reviewed by Happy_Volt_Driver
April 15, 2014

I have had a lot of cars in my life ranging from economy cars to mustangs to a cadillac CTS. This is by far the best car Ive ever owned. Its doesnt have a huge amount of power, but it isnt slow either. You wont find yourself complaining about off the line power as the is plenty of torque. That being said, this car is extremely fun to drive. It drives as good if not better then the CTS or Audi I owned in the past. Its quiet, comfortable and of course functional. I have driven 825 miles without stopping at the gas station, while I was getting 17 mpg with my last CTS AWD. Zero complaints here, HIGHLY recommend.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

First time new Chevy purchase

Reviewed by alster
April 13, 2014

Purchased 2014 Volt new Oct 2013. Lifetime mpg is 158 with 7,300 miles. In pure gasoline mode mpg is 37-40 mpg. Last time I drove 150 mile round trip gas engine only mode was 44.6 mpg. Premium gas is required but I have used regular 87 octane gas and noticed no difference in mpg. Premium has a longer tank life and that is why I use it as sometimes if you drive only on electric gas can stay in your tank for months. My wife drives round trip to work 32 miles and she has driven nearly 600 miles and never used a drop of gas. I believe the Volt is the most underrated car out there. Even in gas engine mode it still get better gas mileage than many so called economy cars and youe still have the ability to drive all week to work and not use a drop of gas. Great car so far, and I recommend it.....

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Completely in love

Reviewed by ddsy430
April 07, 2014

I've been researching new cars for quite a few months. I love my little suzuki and it gets great gas mileage, but it was time to upgrade. I was really leaning towards a hybrid, but they all look very weird to me. I really wanted a sexy little car that could still fly on the highways but get good gas mileage. That's how I came across the Volt. Honestly, I was a little worried at first, as it was an electric vehicle, and I do occasionally (though not often) make long trips to visit family. However the salesperson assured me I would not be disappointed. So, after looking at the car online and at the dealership several times, I finally took the plunge. Best decision ever. I love, love, love this car! So far, I have only had to fuel up once, and that was because I made a 600 mile round trip drive. Other than that I have been strictly on electric. I am going to be saving hundreds of dollars each month on gas. I love that is has the gas back-up so I don't have to experience range anxiety. It has great get-up-and-go, some amazing features (I'm still discovering them), and is comfortable and practical. It's a sexy little car, and I feel sexy driving it, especially knowing that I am doing the environment a favor at the same time!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Chevrolet Volt Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.