newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 Chevrolet SS Reviews

New 2017 Chevrolet SS

Average Overall Rating:

5.0/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
5.0/5
Reliability:
4.9/5

9 of 9 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

2017 Chevy SS

Reviewed by Bob
June 13, 2017

This is my 3rd Chevy SS. I like everything about it but I do not get as good gas mileage on this 2017 model as I did on my 2015 and 2016.It handles great and has plenty of power. I feel real safe driving it. It is a good car for the money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

For the money, best sport sedan on the planet.

Reviewed by Candy 34
June 08, 2017

Great performance. Handles as well as it goes fast . 6.2 liter of pure automotive muscle. Corvette with four doors.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Happily Embarrassing Megabuck Wannabe's

Reviewed by Slip Stream Clyde
June 06, 2017

Well, if you haven't driven the Chevy SS Sports Sedan, you've missed an extremely fun ride. This is the very kind of car GM should has been remiss in producing for years. Uh, say decades...Now, they'll be all gone. It's a shame these beauties weren't produced in larger numbers or even advertised, for crying out loud. Anyway, an LS powered rear wheel drive sedan fills a niche that's been largely left unattended. Some drivers, me included, don't care about EPA ratings. What we like is a reasonably quiet sedan(sleeper) that manages the road well, and when you need it: Hyper-drive. I find myself passing other cars on accidentally-on purpose because, this thing loves speed: It's perfectly happy getting well beyond the legally acceptable, well before you expect it. I've had a few opportunities to take on some over-priced and over-weight "super-cars" (you know the ones from beer and brat land or the pizza and pasta purveyors) in the light to light wars. Needless to say, they got the shock and embarrassment of their lives. "Beat by a Malibu with tips???" Yep, this little 6.2 powered Tasmanian Devil is more than ready to bare it fangs, give it's surly growl and show everybody tail lights. The fit and finish of the car is practical and impeccable. It handles like a skateboard and the suspension (unlike a skateboard) moderates the bumps very well. The "base" model is loaded with features I'll never seriously use, but they make for cool conversation pieces. You might find other more powerful American sedans for less money, but you'll have to take on a few hundred more pounds of metallic adipose and sacrifice that LS3/6L80E (yep, that's a truck tranny...) reliability. Or there are the Euro options, that may have a pony or two more, but can never seem to find them when needed. And at that rate, you could afford a fleet of S esses for the cost of a single wundercar...or alfalfa rutabaga. I probably wouldn't have bought mine, (I'd never heard of them) but a friend (former Beemer and Merc owner) who started out looking for an Impala and dumped his $3$i twin turbo euro-sedan, in exchange to own an SS. He's never been happier with a car and neither have I. May all the wonderful car loving people (not the snobby ones, they need to see SS tail lights) in the world get a chance to own or drive one. It's a pleasant and fun memory I get to relive, every day...

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Mister

Reviewed by David Walter
April 22, 2017

This car is soooo much fun to drive, it looks awesome and accelerates with malice. The six speed stick is just icing on the cake. I can't believe Chevrolet is canceling production of this car. Foolish.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Outstanding piece of Engineering 2017 Chevy SS

Reviewed by SD
April 10, 2017

This is a driver's car! I like it much better than the C6. It is so much fun to drive. Very tight in all aspects, looks good ,sounds good,runs good. Comfortable, great visibility, lots of safety features. I had to buy mine off the boat, but with 20% off It was a great buy for an instant classic!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Camaro SS 1LE - Nothing to change....

Reviewed by Tim-1LE
April 03, 2017

The SS 1LE is the first Camaro (I have had 6) that you simply do not need to change anything to build in more performance. The 1LE package so over builds the cooling, suspension, and overall integration, you could not duplicate this car for $200K. Amazing vehicle, and all for less than $45K. Steal of a decade.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Chevy SS

Reviewed by cgc737
April 01, 2017

It's a great upgrade from the Pontiac G8 that I had before. The interior is nice and comfortable. The car has a lot of power, and it sounds great when using it. The only thing I don't like is the exterior styling is too much like every other four door Chevy sedan. If you want a comfortable, great performing, rear wheel drive car, better act fast. This is the last model year of this great Chevy SS.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best car and can't go wrong with a Manual!

Reviewed by Athena1
March 31, 2017

The SS is an engineering marvel. You can't find a large RWD sedan with a manual at this price and with GM reliability. The car is super rare. I get compliments all the time. I would not hesitate to purchase several more if I could. Get them while you can because 2017 is the last year. If you want a fully loaded, perfect car that won't ever exist again, this is it!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Chevy SS

Reviewed by EJ
March 10, 2017

Great sedan. Handling and comfort are well balanced in this vehicle. Instruments are easy to read. Feedback is predictable. Amenities are nice for the price point.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Chevrolet SS Sedan Comparison Reviews