newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 Chevrolet SS Reviews

New 2017 Chevrolet SS

Average Overall Rating:

5.0/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.9/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

18 of 18 (100%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

2017 Chevrolet SS

Reviewed by AJ Smith
November 03, 2017

Just purchased a new 2017 Chevrolet SS. It's comfortable, roomy and for a four door sedan, powerful. Traded in a Corvette because we needed more room for the grand kids. The SS has a lot of "bang for the buck" and came loaded with every option we wanted. It was built by Holden for Chevrolet, in Australia. Production has ended so if you want one, better grab it quick.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

His and hers

Reviewed by Older but wiser
October 23, 2017

Bought a 2016. My wife's car. Loved it but she wouldn't let me drive it SO.....I bought myself a 2017 And now we're both happy. I'm over70 and loved the 60's Chevelle SS GTO and Mustang HiPo BUTMAKENO MISTAKE. THIS IS THEGOLDEN AGE OF AUTOS and the SS sedan is one badass sleeper. All around comfort, safety and wonderful performance.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Old Guys pay attention

Reviewed by Boot down
September 30, 2017

The Chevy SS with a manual trans is my new retirement sports car. I have found this to be a satisfying car. Shifts and drives great and is easy to get in and out of. This car is fun and anonymous in traffic. Old school and the last of it's kind are phrases that come to mind. One last thing; put your boot to it, and put your boot to it ect.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

The car I've been wanting!!!

Reviewed by Bonnie May
August 19, 2017

My wife and I are seniors and decided to indulge ourselves in a new car that suited both of our wants and met both of our needs. We have always owned Chevys and knowing that this was the last year for the SS we knew that this was the car for us. Having the 3 driving modes is a big bonus. We bought the black with the red stitching interior (my wife loves the color red and said "you had me already when I saw the red stitching!!!!). The engine, chassis and suspension sold me! A female friend of my wife's came to see "her" new car and I automatically opened the hood; she stood there with a blank look on her face while my wife just laughed! Then my wife showed her friend the interior and we heard the oohs and aahs! The car is so classy looking and very comfortable; passengers sitting in the rear are amazed at the leg room. We know that this car will be in our lives forever! We take very good care of our vehicles and Chevy has never let us down with their reliability. One of our other vehicles is the 2008 HHR SS (black) and people are impressed when they are told the age and see the condition. We will remain a Chevy family FOREVER!!! Thank you for giving us a chance to express our happiness with our new SS.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Back to basics with an SS

Reviewed by palolo6.2
August 19, 2017

Not the fastest car out there but enough power for daily driving and to pull away from most others on the road. And the sound of the 6.2 LS3 when in sport or performance mode is intoxicating. Also love the fact that most think this is a malibu or rental car. Then you hit the gas and this thing erupts and burbles like a hot rod and you pull away. Lots of fun.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

From German to American gladly

Reviewed by Rocketman
August 11, 2017

I had a 2007 Audi S4 with the 340 HP V8 and a 6 speed manual. I wanted a new car with 4 doors, more HP than the S4 and a manual transmission. Turns out only 3 cars sold in the US meet these requirements. The M5 and M6 BMWs and the Chevy SS. The BMWs were not in my "willing to spend" range. The SS is absolutely a treasure. It is fast, tight, predictable and just a hoot to drive. It is the best "sleeper" car sold in the US right now. The exhaust (variable) reminds me of Nascar every time I romp on it. Rarely does anyone one knows what it is. It is equipped with 3 driving modes, tour, sport and performance that adjust the excellent GM magnetic suspension, exhaust sound and function, steering and throttle response. It also has outstanding Brembo brakes on all 4 wheels which are really the only external giveaway as to its sporting intention. The LS3 Corvette motor is the soul of the beast and paired with the 6 speed manual Tremec 6060 transmission provides bulletproof driving pleasure. I have put 3200 miles on it in 49 days with every mile a blast. It comes with all the electronic gadgets including a Wi-Fi hot spot, color HUD, heated/vented seats (a blessing here in Florida) etc...With 415 HP and 415 lb. ft. of torque, there is ample power always ready. I also like that I have yet to see another SS on the roads here.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best car I've owned

Reviewed by PrasadSS
August 02, 2017

This Chevy SS is the beyond the best car I've owned. It has the comfort and the performance I've wanted in a sedan. This car is an absolute monster when it comes to performance. This is also the last year of the SS so I would recommend an SS enthusiast to grab one while they can before they are all sold out.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Extremely unique performance sedan

Reviewed by Rocketman
July 31, 2017

I wanted a four door car with a manual transmission, a V8 engine and at least 400 horsepower. There are only 2 other cars sold in America meeting these requirements. The other 2 are the BMW M5 and M6 with prices at least double that of the standard fully loaded SS. It also is a "sleeper" in the finest sense of the word. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Goodbye TRex

Reviewed by Dr.TRex MDPhd
July 23, 2017

The last of a dying breed. The last naturally aspirated powerful V8 Sport Sedan that has poise, great handling, discreet looks and most of all a row your own 6 speed manual tranny. A truly awesome machine that will be legislated out of existence.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Chevy SS

Reviewed by Bob
June 13, 2017

This is my 3rd Chevy SS. I like everything about it but I do not get as good gas mileage on this 2017 model as I did on my 2015 and 2016.It handles great and has plenty of power. I feel real safe driving it. It is a good car for the money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Chevrolet SS Sedan Comparison Reviews