newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Chevrolet Spark Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Chevrolet Spark

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Chevrolet Spark!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.4/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.6/5
Comfort:
4.3/5
Performance:
4.0/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

24 of 27 (88%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
2/5

Car in the garage now for one week for recall

Reviewed by jerrye
August 04, 2014

Only had car for three weeks and went in for recall. Piston are too small for the car. What a shock that was to find out they have to pull the engine out and replace the piston. Car had 400 miles on it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Yet another problem with a Chevrolet

Reviewed by retiredhappy
July 26, 2014

With less than 500 miles on it I was having issues. (1) bad hesitation when attempting to accelerate from a stop. (2) sometimes would not shift into 2nd gear unless you took foot off gas; (3) when coasting to a stop with foot off gas it would feel like someone applied the brake; and (4) would miss a little when driving. All these problems were intermittent so was difficult to be sure they were actually happening. Took to dealer and mechanic who test drove it felt all the above. Turns out "some of the factories installed the wrong size pistons" so needed a basic engine rebuilt; new pistons, rods, seals, etc. Chevrolet is aware of these problems but as normal for them, hasn't chosen to take care of them BEFORE selling their cars. Since this problem doesn't throw a code on the diaogoistic machine you'd better have a good mechanic. The service writer tried to tell me I had a bad tank of gas or that it "would settle down after being driven for a while." I love the style and driving of this car but certainly expected more reliability than I got.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

Good car great price

Reviewed by Luv my bug
July 20, 2014

Love the style, the great gas mileage, the terrific price. Comfortable & roomy for a small car. Will enjoy

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

2014 Spark Chevrolet

Reviewed by Veron
July 14, 2014

After a year (1 year) now my car's brake pad was totally worn out.....need to replace it? quality provided is not high end.i would not recommend this to my friends......exterior and interior is just okay but the technical side will the issue.....

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car No passing gear

Reviewed by Compact rider
July 12, 2014

I have had my 2014 spark for about 3 months now and really have had no problem except when i have to merge into traffic on the highway and put my foot to the floor my tach goes from 2000 rpm to 7500 rpm and the car dont go nowhere i have to pull over and wait for a spot to merge. I have talked to the dealer and they say that that is what is it supposed to do cause it is not made for speed. I get great gas mileage and i love my car to death but i think there is a defect in the transmission cause the first one i test drove started smoking cause it didnt shift. The sonic is the same motor and same trans and that has pickup so u tell me.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Reliable, Inexpensive Car

Reviewed by Rowell
July 08, 2014

I have had my 2014 Chevy Spark 1LT for almost 3 months now. I've put almost 6,000 miles on it so far. It has been reliable. The Good: - Inexpensive car. Good value for the dollar. - The way I drive (average of about 40mph, keeping the engine at or under 2000rpm), I am seeing about 41 to 43mpg. Even with gas at $3.70 a gallon, I have yet to spend $30 to fill my tank (getting 370-395 miles per tank). I was pleasantly surprised to see better mileage than the manufacturer promised. - The entertainment center (Chevy MyLink) is really nice. Paired with Siri on my iPhone, I can answer phone calls handsfree, ask for weather, sports scores, etc. At the drive-in, when we get there early, we can watch a movie on the MyLink screen before the drive-in movie starts. - Surprisingly roomy. I am 6 foot tall and fit comfortably in the driver's seat, with plenty of headroom. Additionally, I've totted 10 bags of mulch with the rear seat in the down position. - I've had no problems with acceleration. I've had no trouble passing other, slower cars...or moving when I need to move. - OnStar and Satellite radio included. Having OnStar and XM radio for the first 6 and 3 months of owning the vehicle was very nice. I could try out the services and decide whether to subscribe to their service. Not having to buy extra equipment for these services...big bonus. The Bad: - Road noise. The Spark is not a quiet car. You can hear the road at all speeds. When decelerating, and coming to a stop, the CVT idles high for 3-4 seconds before it realizes that the car is stopped. Then it downshifts to a lower, quieter gear. - You can feel the road. I mean...you can feel the road; every dip, every bump. Me personally, I don't mind it. But most people want a comforted ride where they don't feel every bump or dip. - The Air Conditioner is not so great. If you're at a stop, it is little more than a glorified fan. When you're moving, the A/C kicks on and cools. The faster you go, the cooler it gets. Up to about 35mph, the A/C will cycle on and off; you can feel it in the air being blown at you (temperature and humidity wise). I don't know if this is "as intended" or not, just a little disappointed in the A/C. - Chevy MyLink. I originally connected my iPhone to the MyLink via USB cable. I had a problem where the iPhone kept getting disconnected and reconnected every few seconds. I bought a cigarette lighter to USB power adapter and used that to power/charge the phone, and BlueTooth to connect the phone to the MyLink. It's a kludge and a workaround, but it works. Minor Peeves: - It would be nice if the center armrest were bigger. For taller people, it just doesn't sit at a comfortable location. - It would be nice if the armrests on the doors had some sort of padding, instead of just the hard plastic.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Most features for the Money

Reviewed by Sparky
June 30, 2014

I am very happy with the purchase of the Spark. Can not believe all the standard options available on such a small copact car,eg., electric brakes, steering, etc. I am 6 ft tall and found the leg room very comfortable.with plenty of leg room for passengers in the back seat Very reasonably priced for all the standard options available. I would recommend this car for anyone looking for reliable transportation with great gas mileage and reasonably priced..

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

here I come

Reviewed by salsa lover
May 06, 2014

I am overjoyed to join the Chevy family again. My new Spark is fun,peppy,comfortable and gets great gas mileage. I expect her to be around for a long time.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome!

Reviewed by Black Spark
April 06, 2014

I just brought a Spark and I love it........Good on gas, excellent product for the price. Good for a person that commutes for work. Great features come with car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Little Car

Reviewed by Sparky
April 03, 2014

I purchased my 2014 Spark LT about 2 weeks ago from Chevrolet of Naperville. I highly recommend this vehicle to anyone who has a long daily commute. I commute 60 miles a day. I have read several comments on the acceleration however, I have owned manual transmission vehicles in the past and to properly drive them the acceleration is slow. I purchased the auto trans. and it accelerates like a manual. However, if you do not overdrive the transmission it has no issues. I do city commute and my Spark is getting 30miles to the gallon. The other thing I liked is does not feel like you are driving such a small car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Chevrolet Spark Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.