newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.4/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

41 of 48 (85%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Truck lover

Reviewed by Antonio Guitierrez
August 24, 2014

I saw Mr. Joe Mariscal in a commercial and decided to make a trip to see for myself how easy it is to purchase a car from him. Even though I have a loan on another vehicle this guy was able to get me a second car loan in the truck of my choise with the payment that is confortable to me. I recomend Joe Mariscal and Maxi Price Chevrolet for all your car and truck need to all my family and friends.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Liking It - A Lot!

Reviewed by Transplant
August 23, 2014

I traded in a 2011 LT for the 2014 LTZ and have been very happy so far! I haven't had any trouble, it's been pretty solid. I really enjoy all the amenities the LTZ offers. And, the ride has been very good, especially when you remember you're driving a truck, not a luxury car! I highly recommend giving the truck a test drive!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Some nice features

Reviewed by Snow man
August 19, 2014

Love tailgate & lots of room you can wear a cowboy hat back up camera is usefull 4 wheel drive is a must good ground clearance

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Bought mine new

Reviewed by Slammer
August 19, 2014

I picked up my new 2014 Silverado 1WT 4x4, the first 4wd you can get. Crank windows, plastic floor mats, manual transfer case,,,, just the way I like them, simple. It rides and drives great. The build is excellent and is as quiet inside as a luxury car. No apparent quality issues at all. Interior quality is good to very good. Panel fit is good. Like all new vehicles, it is a little difficult to see out of. It has two huge blind spots at the read cab pillars. But that is not GMs fault, its regulation. I recommend cheap stick on fish-eye mirrors outside, they cost about 4 bucks for two at any parts store. The paint is good but it defiantly is orange pealed top to bottom, these days I expect better. I'd also like to see plastic inner fenders over the rear wheels, but truck in general just don't come with them anymore. I got 15 years and 250,000+ hard miles out of my last 1500, I'm hoping for a repeat. Overall, I'm very happy so far.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

chevy 1500

Reviewed by chevy
August 16, 2014

excellent truck to drive very comfortable great for any used great engine nice interior design I love 2014 Silverado

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Silverado 1500

Reviewed by Silverado 2014
July 22, 2014

Chevy Silverado 1502 best truck I've ever bought 2014 model I absolutely love it but the only thing I didn't like is when we bought it on the weekend and I got ripped off on the financing I'm very mad about that the trucks nice but the financing is bad

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

2014 Silverado Standard Cab Z-71

Reviewed by Gm Guy
July 20, 2014

Review after 25K miles in the first 8 months of ownership. The pros - Love the styling of the new Silverado in particular the Z71 front grill. Very quiet truck and solid build quality. Good fuel economy for a full-size truck. The engine is fantastic. Enough power to pull just about anything I need and accelerate out of any trouble. More horses and torque than any other truck I've had. The cons - Man, where do I start. The fuel management system absolutely kills the driveability of the truck. I've had to use an aftermarket ECU flasher to make the ride tolerable. The displacement on demand is horrible and very invasive. On my Avalanche I barely noticed the switch between V4 and V8. On the Silverado there is a very audible metallic click every time it switches from V4 to V8. That combined with a tranny that can't find which of the 6 gears it wants to use have left me not liking the truck. In town, I deactivate the V4 mode to make it tolerable - 18 MPG doing that. On the highway, I use V4 mode to get 20 mpg. The estimated MPG on the truck computer always overestimates fuel economy by 1 mpg. The truck has a smaller wheelbase because its a standard cab. If you get a standard cab, DON'T get the Z-71. The resulting harsh ride makes it feel like you're crashing into every bump in the road. I think the Z-71 on a 4-door Silverado would be a little better. There have been several recalls on the truck already - one to correct a lean idle that was causing some truck to catch on fire, and another for a tranny cable. My next complaint is that the standard cab has a much smaller screen for the rear camera, leather seats isn't an option, and overall the interior is dumbed down because GM doesn't think many people want standard cabs any more (they're right btw). I'm a GM guy, but I will NOT purchase another GM truck until they fix the fuel management. The dealer gave me the runaround whenever I mentioned the fuel management system being poor each time I took it in for my free oil changes. They're now coming out with an 8 speed tranny, which will mean 2 more gears to confuse the computer. If you get the truck, get a flash box to disable the Displacement on Demand and you'll be very happy, but at the expense of fuel economy. Its a full-size truck so don't kid yourself into thinking a truck with 350 horses can get more than 20 mpg without some flaky fuel management. Overall my plan is to ride the wheels off of it until I hit 100K in 2 more years and sell it to somebody that thinks it looks cool - which it does.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
1/5

Needs Work

Reviewed by Joe
July 09, 2014

10k mile review on 2014 Silverado. Great gas mileage, very comfortable truck. First the bad...Build quality issues. So far its been in the dealer for service for a leaky passenger door gasket twice (rain entering vehicle and whistle noise). Dealer couldn't fix and had to ship off to a body shop (no truck or loaner vehicle for a week and a half). Just recently a rattle in the dashboard brought it back in TWICE and its still not fixed...dealer is ordering parts and I'll have to take it back in for a third time when those come in. So basically 5 unscheduled services in 10k miles. Now for the good...great gas mileage and great power. It certainly feels and drives much bigger than my 2011 Silverado I had before it. Very quiet truck (when theres no rattle...lol). Tows great and rides great. I've owned 6 Silverado's or GMC Sierras since 1995. I wouldn't say I have buyers remorse, but my wife and I have a horse farm and she's due for a new truck this year...we will be looking at competitors products more closely.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

2nd truck

Reviewed by bubba
July 07, 2014

Way better than the 13 great looking overall can't beat it performance is fast and accurate. Quiet . nice features.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
1/5

Extremely disappointed in the vehicle and GM

Reviewed by Ronald Vargas
June 28, 2014

I'm sure that there are good silverados out there but I bought a lemon. It has been in the shop seven (7) times in the three (3) months that I've had it. I am and have always been a Chevy man but I'm very disappointed in this vehicle. I'm afraid to drive it. It's been in the shop for stalling and erratic handling to the entire display going out and just this week because the a/c blew a line. Very disappointed. I called GM and they were friendly til I said "lemon". I'm afraid of my truck. Not recommended.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Truck Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.