newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.9/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.6/5
Reliability:
4.5/5

34 of 37 (91%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

Excellent Effort by GM in Redesigned Pick-up

Reviewed by MRMRSJO
June 23, 2014

This is an excellent effort by GM in a redesigned Pick-up. We leased this vehicle for three years in late May 2014. This truck replaced our 2004 Tahoe LS as the tow vehicle for our travel trailer. After living with it for nearly a month we are impressed and very pleased with our choice. We have the 5.3 FF V8 with active fuel management coupled by a six speed automatic to a 3.73 rear end. It is two wheel drive . Although we have not had the opportunity to tow yet, we are predicting that his truck will tow our trailer much better the 2004 Tahoe we had before. The 2014 trailering package is more complete than those offered in the 2004 and is much more user friendly. The telematics and driver info center is a vast improvement over what was available and offered in 2004. The "All Star" package with the LT trim level has more extras than most need, expect, or want and leaves it a little more to be desired especially in the interior. The ergonomics are well designed and executed. The double cab design provides easier access, greater seating comfort,and more behind-the-front-seat space than its extended cab predecessor. The exterior styling is a bit bolder than those offered in 2013 and earlier and it is pleasing to most eyes. The rear back-up camera, remote start, and active fuel management features are ones that we coming to appreciate immensely. In the case of the latter, its is comforting to know that GM has made it possible to use fuel responsibly by using only the cylinders needed (8 or 4) based on engine load. This should thus reducing fuel consumption and by doing save our resources, the environment and fuel costs and give us the opportunity to see the immediate impact on mpg as you drive. Negatives? We have observed a stiffness in the accelerator and an uncomfortable difference in the height of the brake pedal plane in relation to the accelerator. This causes some difficulty in making smooth transitions from accelerator to brake and vice versa. Also time will tell on reliability; we rated average because of it being an unknown, although it's promising at this time. In summary, this truck is deserving of the distinction received as the 2014 North American Truck of the Year. Look out Ford, truck of the year for 36 years; Here comes Chevrolet. Thanks for the review opportunity. Mary Jo and Dale Johnston Rochester Hills, MI

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

first brand new truck

Reviewed by truck guy
June 19, 2014

I've only had my Silverado a month but so far I love it.I purchased the LT 4by4 with the 5.3v8 and am getting 20mpg and above.On a recent trip of 70 mph interstate driving I got 21.9 mpg.I am a big guy(6'4" and 340lbs.)and have found my Chevy very comfortable with very good handling characteristics. I am not really a techy and was a little dubious about The My Link feature but have found it to be fairly easy to use.Most features are pretty intuitive.I'm still learning some of it but can't get the truck away from the wife to sit down with it.(She loves it too and is not sorry we traded off her Impala ) If you're in the market for a new pickup,definitely give the Silverado a try.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

What a truck

Reviewed by Old Professor
June 17, 2014

After having S-10s and Colorados for the last 25 years I moved UP! My 1500 LT is all truck and caddy put together, Comfort and handling all in one package. Had to get used to the 6 speed tranny and the quiet ride. And me and computers are strangers but the instructions for all the different aps have made it easy for this old dinosaur to set up the systems. Thanks Chevrolet and Reliable Chevrolet in Springfield, MO

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Beat truck

Reviewed by Heart beat of America
June 12, 2014

The most solid truck I ever drove. The pick of colors are unbelievable. The warranty is spectacular. And you like the ride with the new 18 inch tires and mags

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

New 2014 Chevy Silverado ROCKS!

Reviewed by RackRV
June 09, 2014

We took delivery of our new Chevy Silverado 1500 5.3 V8 with the Max Tow package in mid-May. I have been a Toyota man since the 70s. Out of about 20 vehicles I have owned, this is my 3rd Chevrolet and my first new Chevy ever. If Toyota and Chevy were to have a kid, the new 2014 Chevy Silverado would be their offspring. My father has been a Corvette man since the first water. In many ways, my new Silverado feels like a Corvette truck! I guess for all intents and purpose, the redesigned 2014 Silverado 1500 with the Max Tow package is really a 2000. It can tow 11,200 lbs. and take a payload of 1,900 lbs.! All this and about 22 mpg on the highway empty! Pulling a 10,000lb 5th wheel driving in the mountains of North Jersey at 65+ MPH, I got 10 MPG! I was quite awestruck that the VCM actually kicked into V4 mode quite a few times while I was towing the 5th wheel. I am thoroughly impressed not only with the fit and finish but the overall design. Mine came with the chrome package as well. I am not usually a fan of chrome. But my new Silverado with the Blue Granite Metallic paint and the full frontal chrome grill, bumpers and tubular running boards give it an impressive head-turning modern-retro look. The lines are chiseled but sleek; not at all over muscled like the Ford F series. What has me the most excited is finally owning a vehicle 100% deigned and made in the U.S. Team Chevy has a new diehard fan. I am in love with everything about this truck. From the look all the way to the seamless V8/V4 VCM and the silky smooth transmission and extremely quite ride, I truly have the best of both worlds.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great gas mileage

Reviewed by Chevyman
June 01, 2014

Do you really need 4X4 and a V-8. This truck gets 26MPG. What a great package. This is the way to go today in this economy. Plenty of power with 290HP and 6-spd auto trans. Oh yea, it tows good too.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

A solid truck for the money

Reviewed by DCNBLUES - TX
May 29, 2014

I purchased the RWD Crew Cab LT model Silverado 1500 a little over a week ago, and have so far put around 600 miles on it. Pros: The suspension and handling is very solid on dry streets, and only steps out a little bit on wet streets if you push it. The traction control is rather effective in this regard, altho' it's also a signal to slow it down and not drive this RWD truck like it's a FWD car. Interior comfort and appointments are very nice. I've gotten lots of favorable comments on the look, as well. Cons: the gas mileage is fair to middling, and the climb up into the cab is hard for those with bad backs or other issues w/o a step bar. The seats are a bit stiff (may be they need more 'breaking in'). All told, it's a good buy for those needing a mid or a full size pickup.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

This truck exceeded my expectations in all respect

Reviewed by Car Guy
May 01, 2014

I purchased this truck for occasional use, but after driving 1000 miles, I'm considering selling my car, and using the truck as primary. Pleasantly surprised by comfort, handling, performance and fuel economy.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

NO MORE GM PRODUCTS

Reviewed by LASTGM
April 25, 2014

I've own 3 Silverado's since 1999. I recently purchased a 2014 with 5.3. After 3 weeks it started dying out randomly. I returned it to the dealer for repairs. They replace two parts, test drove it over 150 miles and had it in the shop for 10 days. I was reluctant to by this truck considering all the prior issues with my previous trucks(Coolant in the oil, Body control module failure,Cracked dash to name a few) . The dealer was good enough to exchange the truck since I considered this to be a safety issue. I will by from this dealer again but not the GM brand.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best yet!!!

Reviewed by lv2cast
April 22, 2014

I purchased this excellent truck back in December 2013, and it has been great. I have around 5k on it now with no mechanical issues at all. I have the crewcab 4x4 LT with the 5.3L and it does the job very well. The only con with the Chevy is I would like them to have a little more ground clearance. I added a 3" leveling kit to it and that put the clearance perfect. I drove the Ford and Dodge but they did not have the feel of this truck. The only other truck even close would have been the 4x4 Tundra, but the price was to steep for me.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Truck Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.