cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2013 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews See 2014

More Details & Photos
New 2013 Chevrolet Malibu

Don't Overpay for Your 2013 Chevrolet Malibu!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.3/5

Value:
4.1/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.4/5
Performance:
4.3/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

41 of 48 (85%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best car ever for the money!

Reviewed by Retired but still kicking
March 20, 2014

I consolidated down to one vehicle upon my retirement, and chose a new 2013 Malibu LS at Century Chevrolet. We are so happy with our choice! It is a sleek and elegant car, inside and out, and has plenty of power. The fuel efficiency is fantastic for such a car as this, and there is plenty of room inside for passengers or cargo. The OnStar, XM radio, and MyLink technology features take us up to the modern age. No problems at all, and it is easy to operate. We hopefully look forward to many years and miles with this nice car ahead.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Best car 8 be ever owned

Reviewed by mali
February 24, 2014

My new Malibu is amazing. I love it. I got it for a great price. I had a blast while I waited. The guys at Millennium Auto Sales on Milwaukee AVE are great. We had a blast with all of them. I will definitely go back there in the future. John, Mario, and Primo are awesome guys. Very friendly and helpful. Thanks guys for my 2013 MAlibu. I love it. It runs amazing.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great car at a great price

Reviewed by Gm certified buyer
February 20, 2014

I've had this car for a month and couldn't be happier with it. Great performance and great gas mileage. I couldn't ask for more!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great so far

Reviewed by tlimbert65
February 18, 2014

I've long been a mid-sized sedan guy, and have had a variety of makes and models. It's been a long time since Chevrolet made something that appealed to me. This time around, after comparing the 2013 Malibu to the Camry, Accord, Altima, Fusion, and Mazda 6, I felt like the Chevy came close enough that I could feel comfortable buying American again. I've got 16,000 miles on the Malibu now, and it's been pretty much perfect. Gas mileage took a noticeable hit when (extremely) cold weather set in this winter, but by the end of the summer, I was averaging almost 32 mpg. Engine power is good, electronic features work well, interior is comfy if not terribly roomy. Ride is very smooth and quiet, transmission is seamless. No squeaks or rattles. I'm 6'2" and about 240 pounds, and I find the driver's seat comfortable (even on trips of several hours), and don't have trouble getting in and out. The only things I don't like about the car are the poor rear visibility (huge blind spots, difficult to back out of an angle space or change lanes), and the very lackluster standard sound system. Unless the thing suddenly falls apart at some point, it will prove to be the best car I've owned.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Impressed by GM

Reviewed by GM Killer
February 18, 2014

Let me start off by saying that I own a 2012 Nissan Altima 2.5S. I went to pick my wife up in Phoenix and we left for Vegas on Valentine's Day. This trip went from Phoenix to Vegas to San Antonio, TX all in one weekend. I was very impressed with the interior lighting, the style of the exterior. Now mainly, this engine is a 4 banger 2.5 liter and it is a very strong engine. I could not keep this vehicle from doing the speed limit up and down hills. Mixed driving around 30 mpg, very smooth steering, I kept telling my wife she made a wise decision with this vehicle thus far. I just love the look and the performance GM delivered.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Awesome Car!

Reviewed by Ringer
February 11, 2014

Bought this car brand new after owning an SUV for 14 years. Very pleased with the ride, price and reliability of the Malibu LT. Looks sporty but still professional. The interior lighting is sweet!!!! Have had several compliments on my new vehicle and I love it. Keeping this one for a long time!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
3/5

poor

Reviewed by Renter
February 03, 2014

2013 Chevy Malibu LT 11,000 miles. For a reference point, since I mention some visibility and comfort problems, I'm 5' 11". The Look: This car looks good inside and out minus a little bit of fake leather. Every time I walked up to the car I was romanced by it's wheels, lines, and curves. The interior is nice. On looks alone, I would want to spend a significant amount of time in that space. One thing that has to be noted; at night there is a reflected light that spans the dash. It is "cool" like I've never seen "cool" in a car. Very nice. The Feel: Things start to fall apart here. The finishes are better seen and not touched. The car doesn't feel well put together. It leads you to believe that this interior would be very prone to suspicious not-quite-identifiable rattles when it hits 90,000 miles. There is a lot of engine noise at lower revs despite its smaller engine size. The seats were fairly comfortable but felt as though the padding was more worn down than it should have been for a car with only 11k miles. The non-adjustable headrest pushed your head too far forward, never allowing you proper posture. Visibility was bad. The mirrors were useful, but looking back to change lanes was almost a waste of time. The Drive: There isn't much perceived power. 1st gear is doggy. The engine was probably fine, but the transmission didn't translate that power well. Traction control was functional. (better that I expected) Other notable comments: The touch screen system in the car was VERY SLOW. It became a large source of frustration after using the car for a couple of hours. I hit my head getting out of the car on multiple occasions, once very painfully. The car seems, in general, functional, but it doesn't hold a candle to many of the other cars I've driven that are close to its size. (Subaru Legacy, Nissan Altima, Toyota Camry, Mitsubishi Gallant) This car was a bad enough experience for me that I was compelled to write a review on it, which I very rarely do. If you are considering purchasing this vehicle, please weigh it against the competition. The grass IS greener on the other side.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
1/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Too many problems

Reviewed by Nisha
January 17, 2014

I bought the 2013 Malibu brand new. Started losing engine power had to be put in the shop for repair. Three weeks later starting losing engine power again and shut down. Car has been in the shop two weeks now and they called and said they don't know what's wrong with it. Dealer called GM and they have no answer either.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Vehicle!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by Eman
January 12, 2014

I traded my lexus is in for tis vehicle. So far I am pleased. I am 6'1 and the lexus was just to small and no way as good on gas as my Malibu. The ride is great and comfortable yet stylish. I have the eco which gives me at least 35 miles hwy. The only thing that I don't like about this vehicle for it to be fully loaded it doesn't have rain sensor wipers, no inside trunk release, no 6 disc cd changer, no blind spot indicator and no coolant seats. All those features my lexus had minus the blind spot indicator. But my IS was a 2010. But for the most part the Malibu is pretty good although I did had to take it back to the dealership twice. The first time the fog light went out and the second time my leather had ripped no fault of my own. However the dealership fixed both no cost to me. I will suggest that anyone buying this car to buy the extended warranty just incase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2013 Chevrolet Malibu LT

Reviewed by Nurse from Florida
January 12, 2014

I have had a number of cars, but my Malibu is by far the most comfortable, stylish and just a great car. The car is quiet and is a pleasure to drive. I love the interior 'My Link" feature I linked my Iphone easily too. Thank you Chevrolet what a car!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.