cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2013 Chevrolet Impala Reviews See 2014

More Details & Photos
New 2013 Chevrolet Impala

Don't Overpay for Your 2013 Chevrolet Impala!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.1/5

Value:
4.2/5
Exterior:
3.6/5
Interior:
3.5/5
Comfort:
3.8/5
Performance:
4.2/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

11 of 13 (84%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Excellent value in a nearly new car

Reviewed by Geo
March 20, 2014

In my search for a nearly new sedan the 2013 Impala was the winner! During my search I checked out several 2013 GM sedansalong with a couple foreign cars. Buicks were nice and Caddys were both $pendy. The Impala was the best value at $16k. Solid car inside and out and the v-6 has plenty of power and gets almost 30 mpg hiway. The camry and hondas I looked at ran and drove like tin cans and their buzzy 4 cyl. engines were quite noisy. Not to mention they were almost $4000 MORE than the Impala. You can't miss buying a Impala for your next family sedan.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

2012 2013 impalas

Reviewed by auto tester
March 08, 2014

Super performance for money..All service parts cheap great on gas 300hp for half price. awsome........

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Left Brain Purchase

Reviewed by Family man
January 05, 2014

Bought the 2013 LT Fleet as a CPO, 6 months old and 17k for around $16k. Yes all the boring parts are true, it is dated, but you would be hard pressed to find more car for your used car dollar. This car has 300+ horsepower, a large trunk and gets good gas mileage (24.5 city and 31 highway in a 1000 mile trip) All the usual equipment (power seat, steering wheel controls, Bluetooth, xm radio etc) makes this a great car for a family that doesn't break the bank. If you can get over the car reviews and just see the car for what it is, basic full size transportation, you won't be disappointed.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
1/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

Rental Vehicle

Reviewed by Waffles
December 18, 2013

I had this vehicle for a 5 day rental and put close to 600 miles on it, both city and freeway driving. The V6 is smooth and powerful but thirsty. I was able to get 27MPG between 55-65 but that drastically changed when bumped up to 75 MPH on the freeway. Even though the engine was only turning 1700 RPM, it dipped below 24MPG (me and a passenger, no luggage). None the less when I needed to put the pedal down it got up and ran. The ride was decent, suspension seemed confident and tight for the most part but dips in the road surface ad higher speed would make it feel slushy. I am still on the fence regarding the interior. The fit and finish was great and controls were relatively intuitive. The drivers position was well thought out, and it was easy to access all of the controls except for the buttons for the information computer in the cluster, that requires reaching forward and around the steering wheel. As much as sitting and controlling the vehicle the positioning was excellent, the fabric seats seemed hard and comfortable (I am 5' 10" 180 lbs). The vision out the rear of the vehicle to back up or say make a lane change was miserable. As a vehicle, it will get an even 3. If you looked in the encyclopedia for the definition of a car, there would be a picture of the Impala. It is decent, not great and will get you where you need to go in a relative incognito sort of way. The styling is absolutely boring and I honestly think the design of this vehicle was based directly on the 2005 Ford Taurus.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Great car for the $

Reviewed by Bowtie Boy
September 22, 2013

Bought this as a CPO through the rental buy back program. Very good deal and thrilled with the purchase.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Fun!

Reviewed by debster
September 03, 2013

My 2nd Impala. Had a 2003-great vehicle. Wanted a v6--more and more are 4 cyl-wanted the power. Will get up and run. And it is fun to drive--downside--don't like Goodyear Eagle GT tires--but will wait for tread to wear out. Satisfied -- so far.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

A Great Car

Reviewed by Nanna Mouse
August 20, 2013

I just bought the Impala. I am very happy about the V6 engine, and the very nice drive and handling it has. The 6 speed on the floor allows for easy movement. The one small criticism is the vision through the windows and mirrors. There are a couple of blind spots where you have to turn to check for movement. The interior is simple yet practical . There are some interior features that I think are great, especially the back folding seats for carrying extra cargo. The trim is beautiful both interior and exterior. It is sleek, and eye candy to all who see it. It is American made which I like, and just an overall good buy. I couldn't be happier, and plan to keep it for many years to come.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Solid Used Car Value

Reviewed by 2012 LT Fleet Owner
August 16, 2013

I purchased a 2012 LT Fleet with 14,500 miles for $14,572. I traded in a 2012 Cruze LS with a 6-spd manual that I bought new. I needed extra rear leg room. The Cruze was quieter, rode and handled (to be expected) better. It felt more solid. The Impala lacks rear leg room for a "full sized" sedan. It's handling is sloppy, but competent. Occupants get jostled over bad roads more so than in smaller cars. The A-pillars generate significant wind noise at highway speeds. I expected the ride to be soft and the interior to be quiet at the expense of handling and acceleration. Instead, it's a little noisy on the highway, the ride is a bit rough and handling is as expected. However, it accelerates way beyond what you'd expect. The floor shifter is ridiculous; it's unmarked and the size of a train brake. Instead of a floor shifter, the Impala should have 60/40 front seats. It's a family car, not a rally car. It's noticeably smaller inside than the '00-'05 models. The good points are that the motor is very responsive when operated in mid-high rpm's and it returns 30+ mpg on the highway (thanks to the 6-spd auto). The dual A/C cools well; the trunk is very large; the rear seats fold down and have storage compartments. I put nearly 14k on it without any problems. The interior is fine. It's a good used car for the money.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Weekly rental

Reviewed by Rental car Enthusiast
August 15, 2013

I don't know where to begin. First off, the way the interior is designed there is a huge visibility gap between the passenger doors and the front window. The handling is reminiscent of a boat. The sheer weight of this car made the V6 engine feel like a golf kart. The exterior looks flashy, but the interior looks like a dated 90's vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

A very nice car

Reviewed by Frank K
August 13, 2013

I bought mine during the 2013 closeout sale, and got a nice $4000 rebate. Other reviewers complain that this is a dull rental car. While it is true that the 2014 Impala is a nicer car, I would have spent about $8,000 more had I bought a comparably equipped 2014. What do I like about this car? The power train! The 300 HP V6 paired with the 6 speed automatic is a pleasure to drive. We took it on a road trip, through the Colorado mountains and we averaged just over 30 mpg. I found the handling to be satisfying. Are there sportier handling cars with nicer interiors? The answer of course, is yes, but you will pay much more for them. But for my daily commute I find the Impala to be comfortable, quiet and with buckets of power wen you need it. The standard stereo on the LT trim model could use some more punch, but otherwise it was satisfactory. So in a nutshell I got a 300 HP large sedan for the price of a well equipped four cylinder compact car.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.