newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Chevrolet Equinox Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Chevrolet Equinox

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Chevrolet Equinox!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.7/5

Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.7/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

23 of 24 (95%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Vehicle

Reviewed by suggsy
June 14, 2014

My husband and I were debating between the GMC Terrain and the Equinox, I am glad we chose the Equinox! This was our very first brand new vehicle, so we were really picky. We got the LX, for the price difference between LS and LX, I strongly recommend the LX. The LXT was a bit out of budget, but I also did not feel like $3000 was worth leather and a sun roof. Only thing I do wish is that I would have added on the safety package. First, I needed to be taller on the road. I used to drive a Saturn Ion. This vehicle gives me all of the features I wanted, allows me to be taller to see over cars on the road but still handles like a car. My husband is 6'5" so need a lot of leg room. He can move the passenger seat all the way back and the people in the back can too. They actually have leg room back there! Getting up to speed is slow, but what do you expect of a 4 cylinder? Overall we made a great choice and I would recommend to check it out!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
4/5

1st American Car in 30 years

Reviewed by Mac
June 13, 2014

This is my 60th car, and it is the best riding of any that I have owned. Interior comfort is excellent. Only issue with the car thus far is the lack of power, but I knew that going in. 27 MPG in combination of city/highway mileage--very good. For me, the ON-STAR system has no value, I just don't use it. The rear vision is obstructed by the rear head rests, which are not adjustable, and are not designed to be removed. BEST THING---radio system sounds great, and is easy to use. Aside from the car itself, I am very concerned about all the recalls that Chevy has had, especially the one with the key system. Had I known this before I purchased the car, I would have bought something else.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
5/5

BETTER THAN THE CR-V

Reviewed by Dougie
June 05, 2014

Had the top of the line 2012 CR-V and the Equinox beats it hands down for comfort and the added extras. The GPS on the honda was described by reviewers as basic and compared to the Equinox it sure was. Having the digital speedometer which changes to MPH or KPH is very handy and not available on the CR-V ( is on the basic civic figure that out ) Mileage seems on par to the CR-V but my Eqinox is only front wheel drive compared to AWD on the honda. Overall I will take the Equinox any day and it's several thousand cheaper and better equipted.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Great

Reviewed by Loonlaker
May 23, 2014

Had a 2012 upgraded to a 2014 with more options and love it! Special financing and rebate sealed the deal.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Nice vehicle

Reviewed by Average car buyer
May 11, 2014

This is our second Equinox of this style. Our first one was totaled in an accident. We considered the Mazda CX-5 and Ford Escape, but decided to go back to the Equinox because it was a little larger and I chose the V6 to pull my small enclosed trailer. If I wasn't pulling the trailer, I would certainly go with the 2.4 4 cycl with no question. Great gas mileage, very reliable and American owned.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great suv

Reviewed by Zeetwenty8
April 29, 2014

Bought equinox in March. Have driven about 2500 miles. Was choosing between crv and equinox. Drove both vehicles about an hour apart and the equinox was hands down more car for the money, and more comfortable. Bought the lt-1 with the intella-radio and am very happy with it. You get weather bulletins,can find gas stations close by and what it costs per gallon, and also movie theaters close by. The interior is more classier than the crv. Gas mileage is around 28 mpg combined city and highway. The transmission shifts smoothly as some posts have complained about shifting problems. I was pessimistic about buying an equinox because of all the bad posts on some websites, but am very glad I bought it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great SUV!

Reviewed by First Time Car Buyer
April 24, 2014

I just bought the 2014 Chevy Equinox LT from Jennings Chevorlet and had a great experience. The salesman (Josh Dessent) was very knowledgable and helpful. The Equinox is such a great vehicle and I'm loving it!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Car

Reviewed by The old man
April 22, 2014

Just bought 2014 Equinox LT Z we ordered the vehicle so we could get the color and features we wanted. The salesman (Eric Wendt) was very helpful in this process and has contacted us to be sure all is going well. The dealership and sales personnel get a 5 Star rating from us.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

A pleasure to drive anywhere

Reviewed by passing 78 yrs
April 05, 2014

All is great except when sitting in the drivers seat, then operating the controls along the seat left side are close to the door for my hand. Also, the right side of the seat is close to the storage area when fastening the safety belt.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

preforms to my likeing

Reviewed by Josie loves her SUV
April 02, 2014

Perfect vehicle for me. Had so many compliments with it. Love the red colour.. Very spacious inside. The controls are nicely placed .All in all enjoying my SUV.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Chevrolet Equinox SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.