newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2018 Chevrolet Equinox Reviews See 2017 Model

New 2018 Chevrolet Equinox

Average Overall Rating:

4.8/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.7/5
Exterior:
4.9/5
Interior:
4.8/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.8/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

145 of 149 (97%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

I really like the car

Reviewed by Glenda the good witch
November 07, 2017

I already told you on the other page. I like the car, the way it handles. I would recommend it to others

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

I like the size, the way it handles and the color

Reviewed by Glenda the good witch
November 07, 2017

The car meets almost all my needs, the important ones anyway. , like the way it drives, the size , and some of the extras I'venever had before. I would recommend it to others.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great car

Reviewed by Lawrence
November 06, 2017

I have owned chevs all my life along with fords. This is one of the very best cars I have driven. I enjoy taking long rides in this car. I only wish it had a little more power. It is a great ride

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Amazing normal-size SUV with car like feel

Reviewed by WillC
November 05, 2017

Great size, roomy, comfortable driving AND full of features. I required a sunroof and AWD under 29K so that came with a lot of additions so I can't speak on the LS model. It has more room than the Escape and I think rides like a true SUV, not a big car. I'm hoping Chevy puts a hybrid engine in this to make it the best in its class rather than focusing on diesel engines but this is a great SUV and the sunroof is AWESOME! I'll still drive my Fusion hybrid to save on gas but this is my cold weather go to ride (heated seats and remote start). Once the MPG matches the hybrid cousins like Malibu, Volt and Bolt, the Equinox will take the #1 spot with ease. Combine the technology, size, available features and add in the best MPG, Chevy will overtake all competition.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Beautiful Vehicle and Comfortable Ride

Reviewed by Shayerah
November 05, 2017

The 2018 Chevrolet Equinox Premier looks as good as it drives. It has a roomy and comfortable interior and a sleek exterior thanks to the redesigned body style for 2018. It handles well, has great safety features, and is super fun to drive.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Love it!

Reviewed by Salbry
November 05, 2017

This car meets all of my needs. My last car was a Malibu and I loved it, but I hated having to borrow a car when I had to transport something big. This car has plenty of cargo space. I also love the updates to Chevy my link! The voice texting and maps features are fantastic!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Martyr

Reviewed by martyr
November 04, 2017

Just purchased. Enjoying the many features the Equinox offers. Very comfortable for the long drive home.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

High tech but user friendly & looks great.

Reviewed by bbw
November 04, 2017

It meets all of our travelling needs. Plenty of room for passengers and cargo. Back up screen is awesome to see what's behind you. Hands free calls and music is great!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Equinox Purchase

Reviewed by Roxann's Auto
November 04, 2017

This car is a pleasure to drive. It has all the bells and whistles that I need. My wife loves the sunroof and so do I and the grandchildren. the color black is awesome to look at.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2018 Equinox Diesel much better than expected

Reviewed by Michael
November 03, 2017

Bought the 2018 Equinox Diesel the same time we helped my son to purchase the 2018 gas Equinox. We also recently turned in a 2016 Equinox lease, and previously owned a 2005, so we have a lot of familiarity with the model. We were a bit hesitant about the new 1.5 Turbo my son purchased, and even more so about the 1.6 Turbo Diesel this review is about, but decided they couldn't be much worse for responsiveness than the 2.4L we had turned in on the 2016 Equinox. After driving the car for a few weeks, we are surprised by how much we like the Diesel model. Yes, when you start it, and it idles, you can definitely tell it is a diesel when you are standing outside. It's not nearly as loud as they used to be years ago, but you can tell. When sitting inside the car, and while driving, you really don't hear that diesel noise. When you take off from a dead stop, you can tell that you are driving a turbo engine. There is a bit of hesitation, and it is not going to blow you back in your seat. However, coming from the 2.4L, I would rate it no worse from 0-60, at least as far as we can feel it. My son feels like his 1.5 Turbo gas is actually a bit more responsive than the old 2.4, though I haven't driven it enough to really review it. Where you really feel the difference is once the car is moving. At city or highway speeds, if you ask for a response, you get it, without a lot of downshifting from the transmission, either. In fact, moving through traffic at highway speeds this Equinox can fool you into feeling like you are driving a 6 and not a 4 cylinder. The gas mileage for the diesel is noticeable as well. With the car in 2WD, this car lived up to the 28 city/39 highway that is promised. We have the AWD model, and once we put it into that mode, we did notice a drop, as we expected. We got the LT with the Convenience package without a lot of bells and whistles, as most of what we want is included. Features like Rear Camera, Remote Start and Heated Seats, along with the Bluetooth Connect, and Dual Climate are the features we value the most and are willing to pay extra for, and they are all included in this somewhat basic package. While the exterior does have a sleeker look than our 2016, we don't notice much a difference on the interior of the car. The IntelliLink screen is a bit smaller, but the seating and flooring area feel the same. It seems like the vertical space with the rear lift open might be smaller than it was on the 2016. I am not sure if it is a visual perception thing or if it is proven out by the specs, but it seems that way. One complaint we have is that the Diesel model with the same package does not come with the power liftgate, which my son's came with, and was on our 2016. Really not sure why that is, but minor complaint. The Equinox is not for those who love high performance, or want to impress their neighbors. However, for those of us that value a moderately priced SUV that is a great grocery-getter, performs well in bad weather, and has enough features to keep you comfortable and safe, it is a nice option. If that is what you are looking for, the Equinox Diesel might be for you.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2018 Chevrolet Equinox SUV Comparison Reviews