newcars.com®
Log In

New 2014 Chevrolet Cruze Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2014 Chevrolet Cruze

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Chevrolet Cruze!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.4/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.6/5
Interior:
4.4/5
Comfort:
4.4/5
Performance:
4.1/5
Reliability:
4.4/5

32 of 39 (82%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love This Car

Reviewed by New Chevy Owner
August 11, 2014

I had a wonderful experience purchasing my new Cruze. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Everyone made me feel welcome. I especially liked having Bluetooth already in the vehicle. I can't wait to explore all the great information and entertainment I will get from having satellite radio. I was surprised by the smooth ride. This vehicle also has a lot more air bags than my old one and that makes me feel safer. I can also plug in several of my devices at once for use or charging. Definitely a plus. All in all a great vehicle and I would highly recommend it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

time for a change

Reviewed by fun to drive
August 08, 2014

Chevy Cruze RS, very sporty looking. Rented previously. Electronic steering made for easy steering. great on gas. all windows toll operated. hidden exhaust pipe. nice extra features. dresses it up. great wheels. awesome looking. last chevy 55.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

don't buy if you have sensitive skin!

Reviewed by granny
August 05, 2014

Overall, it was a nice rental - a/c worked great, cd player and radio were great, trunk was a really good size for a smaller car, nice spaces in the door sides for drinks, etc. however, the upholstery was terrible. every time I turned around (from front passenger seat) to get something in the rear seat, my elbow rubbed against the harsh fabric of my seat and left an abrasion on my elbow. Yes, I am short (5'2") and that is the source of my other complaint. The front passenger airbag does not work if you sit on a pillow or cushion which I prefer to do so as to see well through the windshield. the front passenger airbag will work only if the passenger is seated directly on the seat, not on a cushion or pillow. I have no idea whether this is related to the pressure on the seat or to body heat, but it is undeniably a no-no for me for purchasing this vehicle. if you are fairly tall and don't need a cushion, it would be no problem. one other problem that I heard from the driver was the poor vision when looking back out the back side windows (to back up). one other complaint from the driver was that the steering wheel is not very adjustable and comes very close to hitting knees.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Every Chevy been the greatest

Reviewed by SueBee
August 03, 2014

From the Lumina, the Impala and now the Cruze, Chevy has delivered for me. No nonsense expense! I replaced a 14 year old Impala with more than 150,000 miles because thus far it had cost me little more than brakes and tires and did not expect that to continue forever(!). I am a Realtor and drive a car hard.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Chevy Cruze has some good, some not so good points

Reviewed by Muffy
July 29, 2014

This is a nice looking, sporty, four-door sedan. I'm tall, so I had to do a lot of adjusting of the seat, steering wheel, mirrors, etc. These are all manual, and the controls feel cheap, like they're going to break. The driver's seat adjusts down and back when you push down on the lever. To adjust it up and forward, you have to get out of the car. There's a lever under the front of the seat to adjust forward and back, and another lever - which is really too far back - very hard to get at, to adjust the tilt of the back of the seat. Once adjusted, the front seats are very comfortable. The steeling wheel tilts only a small amount up and down, but it does adjust forward and back, so I was able to pull it closer to me (long legs, short arms). I had to spend a significant amount of time adjusting the seats. I found that I had to adjust them so that my head is as far up as is possible. If I adjusted it too low, I could hardly see well enough to park. Speaking of being able to see, the view out of the rear view mirror is excellent, and the side mirrors would have been great except that for some reason, they're almost triangle shaped, and don't have enough mirror on the top outside part, so you don't get the best possible view. In addition, when backing up in this car, it's EXTREMELY hard to see. The driver's peripheral vision is blocked almost entirely. When turning my head to the left to see behind the car, I can see ANYTHING. I have to rely completely on the mirrors, and there are HUGE blind spots. I've driven quite a number of cars, and this one is noticeably worse for blind spots than any others. When driving this car, a person needs to be extra careful when backing up and when changing lanes. The inside of the car is nicely designed for the most part. As I mentioned, it's comfortable, although not all that roomy. The car has a lot of neat features, including hands-free calling via on-star (if activated), which can be activated from the steering wheel, so you don't have to reach around for it. I really would have liked it if the screen for the radio would have been angled slightly toward the driver, as it's sometimes difficult to see. Also, this car's radio has the tinest volume control knob that I've seen since the 1970s. It's rediculously small. The car has an automatic transmission, but does have a nice feature of manual. There's no clutch, but you can use the manual gear to gear up and down (to a point - the car actually doesn't allow you to gear up or down to the point that you'd wreck the engine). So that's a nice feature. The car handles well. The steering has good responsiveness. It's good on curves, has good acceleration and good braking. Overall, this seems like a decent car. I can't give it full marks, however, mainly because of the poor visibility it has when trying to look to the rear sides of the vehicle.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Best Car Ever!

Reviewed by Cruzer
July 21, 2014

This car is so me! I just got the 2013 LTZ with Nav and RS package; for a great price. It's the candy apple red with black interior and looks awesome inside and out! It runs very solid like and corners great. The Turbo makes it zippy. Couldn't be happier :)

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
2/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

No bang for buck

Reviewed by DisappointedGMcust2014
July 14, 2014

I purchased the '14 Cruze 1LT from a distant dealership. Had i of known the quality of this vehicle for 21k, i would have went with anything but GM. The mileage is OK - in todays day and age, they're all similar. The quality inside seems like "Made in china" should be hanging from my mirror. I've owned the car for one month and have had three plastic pieces inside the car replaced. 1 week after purchasing the car i find out there is a "stop-sell order" for all 2013 and 2014 Cruze's - AWESOME! When i told GM i wanted to upgrade to the 2LT they advised i come in for an appraisal, they then offered me 60% of what i paid - 30 days later! Careful guys, this car is depreciating at a rate of $280/Day. Overall, never would recommend GM, will never purchase GM again, too bad these things didn't happen four years ago and this company could have officially went away for good!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

THE BEST AND SAFEST CAR MADE IN ITS' CLASS!!!!

Reviewed by Geo
July 14, 2014

We are a small engineering company. We have purchased 17 Chevy Cruze models since 2011, the last two being Diesels. Bar NONE will you find a better built car than Chevrolet (GM) since 2006, This vehicle has out sold Toyota and Honda for the # 1 sales and safety. There is absolutely nothing that we would buy that comes close to the reliability and safety of the quiet and well engineered Cruze. We put 30,000 plus miles a year on these and we have NEVER had a problem with even one of them.....simply amazing vehicles!! PS...Ignore the above negative rants from others,,,simply not true! Geodesy Exploration, Inc.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
3/5

Wouldnt buy it again

Reviewed by Tony
June 26, 2014

I bought a cruze and used for a year and then sold it. The car is underpowered. Does not respond well if you need to speed up to pass another vehicle in higway trafic. The car feels too heavy for the engine. Dual transmission is noisy, speacially when you accelerate.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Saved my daughters life !

Reviewed by Mark
June 23, 2014

A couple of weeks ago, my daughter was driving our 2014 1LT Red Cruze, she was going through an intersection when a car in the LH turn lane decided to change direction and hit my daughter on her LH side, the Cruze's wheels dug into the curb, and the Cruze rolled over and ended up on it's roof...the side airbags deployed...and Onstar called her (while she was hanging upside down)...the only injury she had was a small buise on her cheek where the side airbag hit her sunglasses...she walked away without anything else !...the ambulance driver was amazed stating that she should have had multiple breaks (collar bone, legs/arms etc...)...the 5 star crash rating is a testiment to how strong this vehicle is...if you've got young drivers in your household...this is the only vehicle that they should be driving, period !

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2014 Chevrolet Cruze Sedan Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.