newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 Chevrolet Corvette Reviews See 2016 Model

New 2017 Chevrolet Corvette

Average Overall Rating:

4.9/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.8/5
Exterior:
5.0/5
Interior:
4.7/5
Comfort:
4.4/5
Performance:
5.0/5
Reliability:
4.8/5

26 of 27 (96%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

A GREAT grand touring machine

Reviewed by Delta Foxtrot
June 09, 2017

I have owned my 2017 Corvette Grand Sport convertible since September 2016 and now have 9,260 miles on it. The first 2,000 miles I followed all the recommended break-in procedures (it takes a lot of willpower to keep that machine below 4,000 RPM for 2,000 miles!); since then I have driven it on every winding road I could find between Texas and Florida - by way of northern Alabama, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia - and then from Texas to Colorado and back. I think I have a pretty good understanding of the car, and I can tell you that nothing I have ever driven even comes close. And I have owned and driven some fairly high-performance autos in the last 50 years. The Grand Sport comes with the "low" powered engine, with "only" 465 horsepower and a similar amount of torque. Of course, it is no match in raw power for a Z06 or some other pricey iron (Nismo!), but on a winding track (or road if you're into playing stupid, life-endangering games) there is very little that can stay with it short of a supercar of twice or three times the price. The suspension is pretty magic under those circumstances, and the overall impression is one of well-contained explosive power combined with a very calm dynamic over the road. "Bump-steering" is only a bad memory, and turn-in and tracking are just unbelievable - especially if you've driven some of the older 'Vettes or the new Z06 under track conditions. Even on wet roads the handling is precise and predictable, although the 10- and 12-inch-wide tires front and back will hydroplane at relatively low speeds through standing water. And I had to wait for summer to take the trip to Colorado, since no one manufactures snow tires or winter tires for that size wheel. Probably best to stay out of the snow and ice anyway. By the way, reviewer LB is wrong about the garage opener and heated seats; mine has both, plus ventilated seats to keep your derriere cool in summer. Maybe that's not available on the Stingray, I don't know. The downside? The convertible has only about 14 square feet of luggage space (the automatic folding top folds into the trunk and uses maybe half of what would otherwise be available - but then again it is automatic, and you can furl and unfurl it at speeds up to 30mph). The seats, while reasonably comfortable in the new configuration, are still not world-class in terms of both comfort and lateral support - but they are like night and day compared to the old (bad) Corvette seats; and if you really want support then Recaro seats are available as a pricey option. And of course if you need a second row of seats you'll have to get the "disguised family Corvette" by which I mean the Camaro of course, although you'd probably be better off having a stolid family car and adding this one for sport and fun. And as I mentioned, this is not a car well-suited to winter driving on ice or snow. Oh, and be prepared to spend some time getting used to ingress and egress techniques unless you've driven exotic iron before - it's low and crowded getting in and out. And the car would really benefit from full-time rear-view cameras. Other than those little grouses, I've found very little not to like about this machine. Well, unless you are bothered by people asking you questions and telling you what a beautiful car you are driving at stoplights quite often. I can live with that... I would recommend this car to anyone who wants world-class driving performance at a bargain price, and can live with two seats only. By the way, reliability has been flawless so far, but the extended warranty is so inexpensive it's silly not to add an extra year or three to the three-year chassis warranty. Unless of course you're planning to sample the new mid-engine Corvette when it hits the streets in 2019 or 2020. Respectfully, Delta Foxtrot

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Love the styling and performance

Reviewed by Edk54
June 06, 2017

This car rivals sports cars that cost 3 times as much. I have people stop me and ask if they can take a picture with it. The best looking and performing car I have ever owned.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Great Sports Car - Missing some basics

Reviewed by LB
June 06, 2017

This vehicle is fabulous. The seats are actually comfortable for a sports car. It is missing basic items that come with other cars such as a built in garage door opener, heated seats (even with an upgraded interior) etc.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Fast thn expected

Reviewed by Gabrutopda
June 06, 2017

Car is a head turner. It's beautiful with all the features. Love the color of exterior and well As interior

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Amazing Vehicle!

Reviewed by Car Guy
June 05, 2017

Purchased 2017 Corvette Z06 supercharged edition. Black, red interior. WOW do I love this car! Amazing looks, excellent performance, and terrific comfort. 0-60 in 2.95 seconds. Seriously! The exterior design is the perfect combination of coolness with a futuristic, raw, mad-max sort of edge to it. It looks great from every angle. The interior design with head-up display and adrenaline red framing the cockpit makes me feel like batman when I drive it. And it performs extremely well... Exhaust sounds like thunder when in sport mode; low rumbling, growl that screams with just a slight tap on the accelerator. At my first errand stop at a grocery store, a six-year old girl said, "Look Mommy, see that car? It's so cool... I want one." On the way home, a 30-something guy in a Dodge Challenger next to me at a stop light said, "Man, I want one of those!" He looked back after the light turned green, practically crawling out his window to keep looking at it... Thought he was going to fall out of his car. My kids got old enough to have their own cars, so I traded in my Porsche Panamera for a fastback Z06 coup with remove-able carbon-fiber roof. The convertible is nice too, but the fastback is a lot better looking and the top is light weight; one person can easily remove it in just a few seconds, and it clips into the trunk on a hinge that allows you to lift it to put a few groceries underneath. If you are in the market for a two-seater, recommend taking the Z06 for a test drive. You will be glad you did!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Fastest car for the money

Reviewed by Captain Jim
May 24, 2017

Excellent off line speed, good seat stability, just watch heavy corners this is rear wheel drive. The ride comfort is much better than a decade ago.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Stunning value high performance

Reviewed by Rob S
May 19, 2017

The C7 GS Corvette offers style and performance at a stunning price. The build quality is not up there with the Germans but for half the price you still get a world class sports car. Looks great, goes fast and leaves a smile on your face.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

The Beast

Reviewed by Dale
May 16, 2017

My son's description seemed the most accurate - He calls it "Controlled Chaos" - I had never really considered a Corvette in the past as I always felt the quality of the build was not on par with foreign Sports Cars, and I have owned several from Sunbeam Tiger - AC Cobra - Dino Ferrari - Fiat Dino - Toyota Supra Twin Turbo - Mercedes etc. With that said I was looking for something newer "Better/Faster and had considered a used Ferrari as a possibility. Considering the $200k+price range of any Ferrari I might want I decided to give Corvette a try and was I ever surprised! I took my Supra to the Dealership and asked to drive a new Z06. Reluctantly they allowed me to try one out and I was immediately captured. The build quality is excellent and the performance absolutely Stellar! I only considered the 8 speed automatic having previously driven a 2015 Z06 7 speed stick and realized while rowing was indeed fun, the performance and ease of going 50 -100+ and back to 50 for a quick rush was so much more easily accomplished with no more fuss than mashing the G pedal and then the brake to get back to sanity in time before traffic became an obstacle! I have owned the car I initially drove at the Dealer for 10 days and have already put 1400 miles on it locally - I can't seem to stay out of it - It is the most enjoyable car I have ever owned and I could not be more enthralled or pleased. Every person I have given a ride says it is the fastest car they have ever ridden in and like one of my car friends said "and the best thing about it is it is a Chevy! Kudo's to Chevrolet for building a Super Car that competes with anything out there at less than 1/2 the price!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

CORVETTE GRAND SPORT

Reviewed by PAVETTE
May 15, 2017

THIS IS MY SEVETH CORVETTE STARTING BACK IN 1973. THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST ONE EVER. WAS GLAD TO SEE THE NAVIGATION HAS BEEN UPGRADED. MUCH BETTER THEN MY 2012.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Best Corvette ever made

Reviewed by Dakotahoss
May 11, 2017

I have owned 5 Corvettes and my 2017 Z06 is the best of the best! The response of the Z06 is nothing short of awesome and mind boggling! The car knows how to handle the road as if your brain were linked to it. I enjoy every opportunity I get to drive my new 2017 Z06 convertible Corvette.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2017 Chevrolet Corvette Convertible Comparison Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Corvette Coupe/Hatchback Comparison Reviews