newcars.com®
Quick Car Finder

New 2017 BMW X5 Reviews See 2018 Model

New 2017 BMW X5

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Write a Review
Value:
4.0/5
Exterior:
4.8/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.7/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

18 of 20 (90%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Electronic Programming is Problematic

Reviewed by Must be a Diesel
October 26, 2017

To program the electronics is not user friendly. When you program various things such as seat position, radio stations, etc., the car does not remember them. I've had three "genius" customer service reps try and help me but even they can't get the programming to remain in the memory. It makes the car unreliable. Otherwise, the diesel engine performance is superb. Love the responsiveness.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

best vehicle I have ever owned

Reviewed by Bmw X5
October 21, 2017

The X5 is clearly the ultimate driving machine, I will never buy another type of car for myself and my family

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Good but lacking in a key area

Reviewed by Gear head
September 30, 2017

So that you know where I am coming from, I am a 70 year old mechanical engineer that is still very active in forensics. I grew up with the evolution of the "muscle cars of the sixties and seventies. Accordingly, I drive a 2016 Challanger hellcat for a company car and a 2016 Z06 roadster for my toy. American muscle is my thing but this is not about me or my taste. My wife over the years, has learned to embrace the notion that performance is an important ingredient in car shopping. I had a 2014 SRT Grand Cherokee before the hellcat and, at the same time, she drove a Audi SQ5. I personally like the X5 / 445 hp package but it is considerably more expensive than the basic SQ5. Essentially, you have a hole in your offerings. The 3.5L / 300 hp model is heavier than the SQ5 and this combined with the extra weight creates a significant difference in performance between the 2 cars. Alternatively, the extra performance of the 445 hp model only gives a slightly better performance than the SQ5 which hardly seems worth the extra 15K. We had an X5 in 2002, with the oversize wheels and tires and loved everything about it but the 225 hp it had and have watched with great interest to see if BMW would every realize that there is a significant size market that wants some amount of extra performance but were unwilling to spend a lot of extra money to get anything more than a so-so performance. BMW is very aware of the need for extra models to suit the needs of car drivers, possessing offering 3 more classes of cars (1-series, 2-series and the 4-series), with 4 choices in engines (320, 328, 335, and the M-series). My hat is off to BMW for being sharp enough to fill in the gaps that previously existed with the cars. I only wonder why they have not noticed that the SQ5 survives well in a market that BMW has overlooked. Make it and I'll by it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Patron Hatcher at Don Jacobs BMW is the BEST!

Reviewed by Rachel
September 25, 2017

Sometimes it's not only the amazing car that you drive everyday that keeps you reminded that you made a great purchase but it's the people! Patron Hatcher of Don Jacobs of Lexington, KY is one in a million. He's currently off work for health reasons for the next 6 months but my husband and I didn't know that. We had emailed him over the weekend asking for help with our vehicle and he told us that he knew our dealership was going to be slammed Monday. Instead of making me wait to hear back from them, he called us first and then brought me his personally vehicle to my work to use so I didn't miss my urgent meeting this afternoon. I am not sure how often you meet people that go out of their way but this man is one of God's angels we are blessed to encounter here on Earth... someone extra ordinary. If you get a chance to meet him you'll know what I am talking about and if you get to have him help you with a purchase of a car or a dream vehicle like we did, you will know what superior client service really means! We met Patron in 2006 when I first started looking (dreaming) of having an X5! We had many encounters with him, many test drives and reasons why we had to delay our purchase. Finally the day came and we when we got to tell him we were finally able to purchase.... oh what a day that was for us! We will never buy another car without Patrons assistance.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Excellent service we got from Chris (Sales person)

Reviewed by Chandrababu Movva
September 08, 2017

Vehicle is excellent. What we look from the website and bought it in 2,3 days time frame. Excellent websiteto check various Available cars in the market. Thank you.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Extremely great family car with performance!

Reviewed by MLD
July 27, 2017

It is very practically built, has all the amenities that other vehicles in this category has - but with a lot of performance others do not have.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Exceptional Vehicle

Reviewed by cj
July 24, 2017

The BMW X5 is a wonderfully engineered vehicle. The ride is very comfortable for an SUV and the car is very responsive. The navigation system is incredibly intuitive and the addition of Apple Carplay makes the entertainment options even more intuitive. The interior styling is beautiful, the seats are very comfortable and the ride is a pleasure.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

BMW X5 35i

Reviewed by Laura
July 17, 2017

Love BMW! It's my first, but recommended by my dad. Bit disappointed by how everything is "al la cart", and that BMW no longer comes with their 5 year/50,000 mile everything's covered warranty, but I still love it!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

best SUV I've owned

Reviewed by drchuk
July 12, 2017

Diesel provides great performance and fantastic mileage. Extremely comfortable without sacrificing handling. Very comfortable interior with sporty touches.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Excellent car

Reviewed by Pat
June 21, 2017

Very good. Fun driving. Family car. Excellent handling and performance. Definitely recommended. Looking forward to buy a new one.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

BMW X5 SUV Comparison Reviews