cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2013 Acura RDX Reviews See 2014

More Details & Photos
New 2013 Acura RDX

Don't Overpay for Your 2013 Acura RDX!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.2/5

Value:
4.3/5
Exterior:
4.5/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.6/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.3/5

29 of 39 (74%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
1/5
Value:
1/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
1/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
1/5

Beware after 50k miles

Reviewed by Fussy car person
March 07, 2014

I started out loving my RDX, but as many of the other posts here indicate- things change. I am happy with the mileage, but the long distance comfort diminished quickly. My windshield has been to SafeLite for more chips in the windshield (again this morning) than any other car I owned, and I too have a dashboard noise that they finally identified as a fan blower motor issue. In addition the car battery died after only 16 months, at 51k miles (just past the 50k warranty), and yes, at this time, I had to pay full price for a new battery (which now comes with a 3 year guaranteed replacement warranty) and the tow to the garage, because who would ever think it was the battery that died after 16 months. I started out loving this car, but now I am so very very disappointed. Why would a brand new luxury car come equipped with lesser products than you need to buy to replace the ones that break just after warranty?

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
4/5

2013 RDX at a galance

Reviewed by khurram farooqui
January 10, 2014

I purchased 2013 Acura RDX with FWD, navigation package. I was very thrilled because I also own 2004 TSX which I liked very much. I am not happy with RDX due to the following reasons. - Mileage is very bad (19 C / 24 H) - I paid almost 43K but I think this cars lacks lots of features such as blind spot, adaptive lights, adaptive cruise, rain sensing wipers etc. FOr the amount , other luxury vehicles prove this. Drive i smooth, but I had to take my car several time to the dealership for fixing interior dashboard noise, and tailgate. not there is another noise for which I need to take it to the dealership again. Be prepared to make some frequent visits to the dealership if you plan to buy this vehicle. I am l am also not happy with the navigation voice activated system. too confusing. Handling of this car is quite good.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Nice luxury SUV

Reviewed by Goletamom
December 17, 2013

I hadn't originally thought to look at the Acura RDX when I was looking for a new SUV. I was looking at the Edge and the Highlander (which was the vehicle I was replacing). The RDX far surpassed the interior of both of the other vehicles and it had really high reliability ratings (which the Edge did not). It was in the same price range, similar size and similar gas milage. I love my new Acura. It's very smooth, comfortable and a pleasure to drive. I would highly recommend it based on the several weeks I've owned it.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
2/5
Reliability:
2/5

Already traded it in

Reviewed by huskone
November 22, 2013

We bought a 2013 RDX AWD with Tech Package in May. We just traded it in a few weeks ago with only 5500 miles for a 2013 Toyota Highlander Limited 4WD. In the short time we owned the car, we already had to replace the back left shock. Additionally, we brought it in four times for vibration issues (when idling). The dealership performed a manifold pressure adjustment but this did not fix the problem. The dealership said the idle was normal but it felt like we were driving a car with over 120K miles. While the interior was very comfortable and stylish we could not get over the questionable performance issues. We traded it in and unfortunately lost a few thousand dollars but it was worth the peace of mind.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
3/5

Windshield issue, AC and Navigation disappointing

Reviewed by Unhappy with my 2013 Acura RDX
November 21, 2013

On 3 separate instances my windshield was hit by a rock leaving chips out of the windshield. In my lifetime I have never had this happen when a tiny rock hit my windshield. I've been driving 46 years. The a/c does not cool down on hot days because it cycles off too soon. Then there are no rear a/c vents which makes it even hotter in the back seat! We were misrepresented on the Navigation system. I was told you could listen to a text but of course it does not work with an IPhone. I think Waze a app on my phone is easier to use than the Acura navigation system. The passenger should be able to use it. It is impossible to use the voice commands to navigate. Last of all the storage area in the back is not as roomy as the Honda CR-V. I wish I had my Ford Explorer back.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
2/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
2/5

Disappointed

Reviewed by SUV lover
September 28, 2013

I have owned several Acuras, including an MDX, so I am no stranger to the brand. This is the worst Acura I have owned. Bought it new and problems started early on. At 20,000 miles I have had problems with brakes, steering, and now the suspension. Going to eat the depreciation and replace it with something else. Goodbye Acura!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
3/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
2/5

Cheap seat materials.

Reviewed by Quality car person
August 21, 2013

Lower left corner of driver's seat showing significant wear after 10,000 miles. It is not leather like the main seat surface but cheap soft vinyl. It is thin and the backing is of poor quality. It appears to be a cheap piece of material. I am not the only 2013 Acura RDX owner to have this problem. The dealer just shrugged when this was discussed saying it was a wear item. If the material was not so darn cheap it might hold up better. This part of the seat covering takes significant wear when a driver get in and out of the vehicle due to its design. Acura's reputation will take a hit on this issue if they do not deal with it like when they were using inferior tires in recent model years.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Hybrid Luxury

Reviewed by Suv fan
July 23, 2013

So many bells and whistles for the money! Great improvement on the voice activation over previous years. Navigation is light years better than prior model. Slightly better MPGs. Luxury and comfort in every aspect!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Love this car!!!!

Reviewed by jeffliz
July 02, 2013

I absolutely love this car...just wish it had more safety features like lane change warning since it has more blind spots than I would like. Tech voice technology could be better. Love the shape and styling, also very peppy!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

Great car. Few quirks.

Reviewed by blue devil
June 21, 2013

Great car so far. I have only had 2 weeks, but have had a couple minor issues already. Hope it does not bode poorly for the future. I had a "woodlike" steering wheel added and it was put on crooked (obviously dealer issue) but they quickly fixed it at no charge. Now am having a couple warning lights come on for no reason and suspect some kind of short. Assume this will be easy to take care of. Otherwise drives well, looks great, tech features work well and are fairly easy to learn. I looked at a lot of cars and would buy again.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.