newcars.com®

New 2016 Acura MDX Reviews

Add to Favorites  | 
More Details & Photos New 2016 Acura MDX

Don't Overpay for Your 2016 Acura MDX!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.5/5

Value:
4.6/5
Exterior:
4.3/5
Interior:
4.3/5
Comfort:
4.5/5
Performance:
4.4/5
Reliability:
4.7/5

13 of 15 (86%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Happy car owner

Reviewed by Bandi
May 07, 2016

Still learning about Acura MDX's controls and navigation systems. I expected better written documentation for seniors who are not as computer literate as our offspring. Learning by doing is painfully slow without adequate instruction. We love the car which is both comfortable and easy to drive but the instructions provided are below par for an octogenarian without formal computer skills.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

New 2016 MDX Advanced package.

Reviewed by C&H Man
April 26, 2016

After leasing and 03 & 07 MDX we have return to Acura and are now leasing an 2016 MDX Advanced. This is the most technologically advanced SUV we have driven. I would recommend to the world how good this MDX handles and performs on the roads. Looking forward to happy miles with the MDX. I would recommend this MDX since it practically drives itself with interactive cruise control and lane departure option. Test drive one and you will see! I would like to give a shout out to Tempe Acura. Sales force and finance managers were gracious and easy to work with.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Pretty satisfied

Reviewed by first Acura
March 19, 2016

My biggest complaint is the poor performance of the voice-activated commands, particularly as they relate to navigation commands. Very poor recognition when I try to use this feature. My 2nd complaint is Acura's failure to offer any covered maintenance such as oil and filter for at least the first two years, or 24,000 miles. I have purchased BMW, Lincoln, and even a Chevrolet Suburban that did provide this minimum level of covered service. The BMW is 4 years or 48,000 miles of full maintenance.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
3/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
3/5
Reliability:
3/5

Poorest Suspension Experienced

Reviewed by Acura Disapointment
February 23, 2016

Upon much research and recommendations from family friends, MDX owners, I purchased a 2016 MDX Sh-AWD. I was liking the experience until 4 days later on a trip the car kept going dead at interstate rest stops and hotel. After being jumped by the Acura service response number, we made it back and had the battery replaced. The rear suspension makes noise at sags or bumps on the roadway, like a gremlin hitting the under body with a rubber mallet. Have taken the car in many times, replaced rear struts, still noise. I was told until engineering finds an answer there is no answer. I am considering selling the car due to the unsolvable noise problem. I do like the car, the comfort and features, but I do not like the noise.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Elegant, Sporty and luxury

Reviewed by Sports Car Fanatic
February 09, 2016

Open Road Acura of East Brunswick were very professional. Sales consultant Anthony Pinto provided my husband and I with great service, answered all our questions and made sure we were satisfied with the MDX. The finance manager was also very helpful and made sure we were satisfied with the deal. The service was over the top.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Great Buying Experience

Reviewed by Luxuary SVN Buyer
January 21, 2016

The buying experience was great - Acura of Tempe sales consultant Chelsea and Finance Manager Virginia offered excellent customer service and a pleasurable buying experience. Very satisfied with the dealership and of course the MDX.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Acura MDX

Reviewed by New car
January 18, 2016

Excellent car...few niggles...The in-car dashboard interface is horrendous. Difficult to understand and use. Navigation maps are antiquated (should learn something from Google on simplicity and accuracY0.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
4/5

Bland styling but went with the safe choice

Reviewed by 3rd Acura & 2nd MDX
January 03, 2016

I had been shopping for 2-3 months for a mid to large AWD SUV that could seat 7 to 8 people. We loved our first MDX and owned it for 12 years and 180K miles, but we didn't jump on this 2016 MDX w/ tech and Entertainment because the styling seemed uninspiring both inside and out. Had to get entertainment/tech packages for 2nd row heated seats. Didn't want the DVD player or Lane assist stuff. The third row was cramped as well for two teenage kids. Surprisingly, all the full size SUVs didn't do much better in the third row either. Even the high end luxury brands. The GPS is clunky to operate. The voice activation doesn't really work. Even the sales person said Acura is working to improve it and showed me a faster, nonverbal way to work the bluetooth phone. I miss the days of simply pushing a real button to change heated seat settings or the radio station. The touch screen is distracting and visually cluttered. The UI on this has a long way to go. My $20K S. Korean made car has better tech and touch screen controls. Because of past experiences with Acura, I'm confident it'll run with few glitches. Simply change the oil, brake pads, tires and do scheduled maintenance. I worry the tech will fail before the mechanical stuff does. I view this car as a place holder until something better comes along. We like it. We just don't love it like our first MDX.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

4th Acura hard to beat for the price

Reviewed by Utah rides
November 23, 2015

Looked at this and the Lexus GX side by side in the end there was no comparison. The Acura MDX is above the grade in technology and inside interior. The push button 2nd row seats make it easy for any child to get in the 3rd row. I have had 2009 and 2011 MDX and the power difference and with sport suspension makes it seem so much faster in this new model. The handling of the MDX is so much better as well on the road. My wife is taking my MDX anytime she can.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Second MDX

Reviewed by Green Streaker
September 21, 2015

We love our 2006 MDX so we decided to buy a 2016 MDX after looking at several alternatives. The new 9 speed transmission is very smooth and is giving us 18 mpg around town with all wheel drive. The technology is fantastic with lane keeping assist and cruse control that sets a distance from the car ahead and maintains that spacing in traffic. The CDs read into a hard drive so once they are played you no longer need to insert the CD. Lots of great features including safety features.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

2016 Acura MDX SUV Comparison Reviews

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.