cars.com

A member of the
Cars.com family

Log In
McAfee Badge

New 2014 Acura MDX Reviews See 2013

More Details & Photos
New 2014 Acura MDX

Don't Overpay for Your 2014 Acura MDX!

Save Time and Money Online When You Shop with Us

Over the past month we helped 97,581 new car buyers find their perfect car.

Get your best price before going to the dealer!

Consumer Reviews Summary Write a Review

Average Overall Rating:

4.6/5

Value:
4.1/5
Exterior:
4.4/5
Interior:
4.5/5
Comfort:
4.8/5
Performance:
4.5/5
Reliability:
4.6/5

25 of 28 (89%) of consumers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Drove from Toronto to Florida and back

Reviewed by BMW no more
April 06, 2014

Traded my BMW X5 for the MDX. Too many reliability issues with the BMW. Drove to Florida with 6 people. Car was very comfortable and quiet. Lots of luggage room. Plenty of power to over take and going up hills. Breaks were OK could be a bit better especially going downhill. 3rd row is OK for small kids but tight for adults. LED lights lit up the roadway. Love the centre console huge storage space and under cargo storage. Had car for 3 months now and it is wonderful no issues. Worth every penny. Very stable and safe in snow and ice. Good on gas.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
4/5

First Acura i've owned

Reviewed by iceRN
April 04, 2014

Me and my wife who is expecting our 2nd child decided that we need to have a 7 seater SUV. We have a Murano 11 previously. We had 5 Cars on the list to look at. MDX, Highlander, Explorer, QX60 and Pathfinder. We test drove the MDX first. It has a very confident driving trait, nice soft touch materials and technology package. The salesperson guided us in a winding backroads with moderate potholes. This car owned it. The downside is that the space is relatively smaller than the qx60 and brakes are mushy feel although still safe. We got an offer and then we went to infiniti. Qx60 is all about luxury. The only gripe about it is that the driving felt like i am on a pathfinder although 10k more expensive. Same platform, same transmissions and engine. But the size is awesome. There is fine jittery ride over the bumps although muted i noticed it. We also went to Ford. lots of bells and whistles on the explorer but when you drive it. Forget it, it feels like driving a truck. Without the ecoboost engine. their v6 is lame. We left and didn't like the Sales Manager either. Now highlander, We went there and we saw the sticker price for a highlander hybrid.($51k) My wife agreed about how cheap the interior felt and we left. Wife agreed. its Over priced. So in the end we end up with MDX. It's a beauty and classic. Then now here comes an issue. I am pretty sensitive with vibrations and sound on a car. When i had the car for 2 days, I didn't hear anything, it was Dead silent. However, this monday before i dropped of the car to install the accessories, i noticed a weird fluttering noise. It is low pitch but is really noticeable. This sound coincide when you only push the gas pedal. I asked the tech and he noticed it. He then said "its the fuel pump, its all normal" that i was just entuned to it and it will fade away as i get used to it. Sadly i haven't still. I cannot enjoy my quiet ride without turning off the music co'z i can hear it. i sent an email to Acura relations and will post their response. For a car that is at 50k, I expect a very quiet cabin. The road noise is muted but that fluttering noise exist. It might not bother a lot of owners. Sure has bothered me. I have read of owners having problems with the Variable Management , Heared no problem like that on my car. Shifting is Smooth, Plenty of power when needed. Gas Mileage still not to par. Thinking due to Very low temp. Overall, It is byfar the Best SUV in the market at its Category

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
3/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

very smooth and quiet ride

Reviewed by cp
March 27, 2014

has all but spare tire on fwd, bucket seats 2nd row. otherwise 1st class auto great for travel. highly recommend for families that like to travel, or play sports

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
3/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
3/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
2/5

Several bugs and issues

Reviewed by Norbert
March 27, 2014

Purchased the MDX in August 2013. Since then I have had problems with the navigation system freezing, voice commands not accepted, phone not linking to the car (Blue Tooth issues). There was also a recall for a drive train bolt which was not properly torqued. The dealer replaced the navigation module (apparently there were two major software revisions in 6 months). Upon getting the car back, I no longer had functioning intermittent windshield wipers, and I am receiving a Charging System Warning notice. Noises are coming from the engine (and yes, I had the oil changed by Acura). I loved the car when I got it, but this is very disappointing.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Sure footed in heavy Michigan snow

Reviewed by Jay
March 11, 2014

I cannot say enough how much of a lifesavor our 14-MDX SH-AW base model has been for us this winter. My wife and I are both physicians and on numerous occasions we had to brave the harshest wintery slick weather to get to work and we could not have done it without our beautiful SUV. My wife unfortunately did get into a miner fender bender. She got rear ended because the SUV behind her could not stop in time. He had a dent, our vehicle didn't even have a scratch. I would highly recommend this suv.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

LOVE THIS CAR!

Reviewed by ROSE
March 06, 2014

This is my first car in 10 years,I am very happy with my choice.I am challenged to learn more about this car because it is a computer on wheels. I love the smooth ride.This car is pretty easy on the eyes as well. Choose this car over volvo x 90 because of its safety rating and good looks.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
4/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
4/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
4/5
Reliability:
5/5

Second Acura MDX I've owned

Reviewed by On The Road Again
March 01, 2014

Quiet and powerful, brakes are good, but feel a little soft when I compare it to my 2005 Acura MDX, which seemed more precise and surer to me. Essentially the MDX is a computer on four wheels with two manuals weighing pounds. A bit intimidating at first with all those bells,button's,whistles and four way knobs. This is week two of ownership, and it feels somewhat more familiar. It will take weeks more to know the cabin well. Not sure I will ever like the voice guidance. It often doesn't get it! Liked my 2005 GPS as I could have my wife adjust,change where we are going while car was in motion. The new GPS seems to not want to work unless I'm totally stopped. Big Brother has intervened too much here. I like the blind spot indicator that allows you to note a car in your dead zone. The lane indicator beeps at you if you cross a traffic line above 45 mph without the turn indicator on. Can be a tiny bit bothersome and a bit strict.Yet it is doing it's job and reporting on me to me. Again, slightly Big Brotherly. Overall, a swell car, drives like a fine luxury car, not an SUV. Is as quick as can be (I purchased the front wheel drive model as I live in Calif) and a pleasure to drive (I do long distance driving, and this car is perfect for that). Improvements? Acura Roadside Assistance is not nearly as quick as AAA. Proved that twice. Acura wait time: one hour. AAA wait time 20 minutes. Overall Recommendation? Buy it. My 2005 Acura MDX currently has 190,000 miles on it, with absolutely nothing wrong with it. Nothing! A fantastic auto,and my reason for buying a 2014 Acura MDX again!

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
2/5
Value:
2/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
4/5
Performance:
1/5
Reliability:
4/5

Nice to look at, most annoying ride I ever owned

Reviewed by Disappointed
February 01, 2014

Sure, the car is pretty, has all the bells and whistles you would want. However after driving this vehicle for several months, and having it at Acura multiple times, I only suggest buying this vehicle if you are buying on looks alone. While driving, the vehicle transitions from 3 cylinders to 6, the car vibrates hard on the front left side, and RPM's drop. If I drive at a steady 60 miles on the highway it will constantly do it over and over, feels like you are driving on a rumble strip. Most annoying feeling, and sound! Acura district Rep tells me its normal function for this vehicle. I test drove others at dealership and they were doing it as well. I am very disappointed that Acura thinks this is okay. I only wish I had read the forums online first where people were complaining.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: NO

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
5/5
Exterior:
5/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

First Luxury Car

Reviewed by First Luxury Car
January 04, 2014

I have had many Hondas over the years, but I never crossed over into the luxury market. Now that the kids are out of the house, I bought the luxury car I have thought about for 10 years. So far I love all the features, bells and whistles.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

Overall Rating:
5/5
Value:
4/5
Exterior:
4/5
Interior:
5/5
Comfort:
5/5
Performance:
5/5
Reliability:
5/5

Wonderful Vehicle extremely quiet and comfortable

Reviewed by Cagey
January 03, 2014

I just replaced my 2012 TL Tech with a 2014 MDX SH-AWD Tech. Drove it 1200 miles in the first 3 days. It handles as well if not better than the 2WD TL. It is remarkable quiet. I don't think I have ever been in a quieter vehicle. I averaged 71mph on our 1100 mile trip and averaged 28 mpg on mid grade fuel. The seats are very comfortable and the interior is very attractive. I could not be happier.

I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: YES

 

*MSRP and Invoice prices displayed do not include applicable gas taxes or destination charges.